Godspeed You! Black Emperor: March 16, 2011 Brooklyn Masonic Temple – Flac and MP3 Downloads + Streaming Song

March 20, 2011

[photo courtesy of Adam B]

Acidjack reports:
“After Tuesday’s Godspeed You! Black Emperor show at Brooklyn Masonic Temple, I could not imagine the band being able to top itself the following night. But GYBE are far from an ordinary band, and Wednesday’s show was the type of extraordinary tour de force that humbled even their awe-inspiring Tuesday show. This show built on all of the elements that made Tuesday special — the hypnotic, narrative visuals, the seamless two-plus hours of music that ebbed and flowed, and twinkled and roared, but somehow combined them even more successfully. The set never had a moment of pure calm; instead, it was a masterful sequence of classic and new material that only continued to raise the tension. Watching the band for the second time in a row, I was struck by how quickly I became immersed in the music and images, absorbed by their creative vision. This set was slightly shorter than Tuesday’s, but tighter, with what felt like a more focused narrative. As the best performances do, it left me wanting more — and a new album, in particular.

I recorded this set with the Schoeps microphones, and the results are even better than the previous evening. Enjoy!

Thanks to Ronen and the Wordless Music Series for their generosity and support!

Both of the St. Paul’s concerts were recorded and will be posted in the coming days.

Stream “Monheim”:

Direct Download of this show is now available in either FLAC or MP3 at Archive.org [HERE]

Godspeed You! Black Emperor
Brooklyn Masonic Temple
Brooklyn, NY USA

An acidjack master recording
Recorded by acidjack
Produced by nyctaper

Equipment: Schoeps CMC6/mk41>Sound Devices USBpre2>Edirol R-44 [Oade Mod] (24/48)
Position: Slightly ROC, mics at 12ft, roughly DIN

Mastering: 24bit/48kHz WAV> Soundforge (set fades, level adjustments, downsample)> CD Wave (tracking) > Flac Frontend (level 7, align sector boundaries) > FLAC

Tracks [Total Time 2:10:04]
01 Gathering Storm
02 Monheim
03 Albanian
04 World Police and Friendly Fire
05 Tazer Floyd
06 Gorecki

If you email nyctaper for access to this recording, we expect that you will PLEASE SUPPORT Godspeed You! Black Emperor, visit their website, and purchase their official releases from Constellation Records [HERE].

Tags: , , , , , ,

4 Responses to Godspeed You! Black Emperor: March 16, 2011 Brooklyn Masonic Temple – Flac and MP3 Downloads + Streaming Song

  1. March 21, 2011 at 10:05 pm

    Just to make the setlist a little more accurate based on released title tracks instead of the band’s handwritten monikers:

    1. Storm: Lift Yr. Skinny Fists Like Antennas To Heaven / Gathering Storm
    2. Sleep: Murray Ostril / Monheim
    3. Albanian??? (unreleased new track)
    4. Static: Chart #3 / World Police and Friendly Fire
    5. Rocket Fall On Rocket Falls
    6. Moya
    7. Blaise Bailey Finnegan III

  2. acidjack
    March 25, 2011 at 2:10 pm

    Thanks, Kelan!

  3. lobelia
    July 28, 2012 at 8:34 am

    good job acidjack! I love GYBE and do you have their latest live music in Pitchfork,Chicago?

  4. acidjack
    July 29, 2012 at 12:02 pm

    Well, this site is “nyctaper” and pitchfork was in Chicago, so I’m afraid not. Glad you liked this recording though!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *



nyctaper.com is a live music blog that offers a new paradigm of music distribution on the web. The recordings are offered for free on this site as are the music posts, reviews and links to artist sites. All recordings are posted with artist permission or artists with an existing pro-taping policy.

All recordings and original content posted on this site are @nyctaper.com as live recordings pursuant to 17 U.S.C. Section 106, et. seq. Redistribution of nyctaper recordings without consent of nyctaper.com is strictly prohibited.

nyctaper.com hereby waives all copyright claims to any and all recordings posted on this site to THE PERFORMERS ONLY. If any artist posted on this site requests that recordings be removed, those recordings will be removed forthwith.