The Mountain Goats: March 29, 2011 Bowery Ballroom – Flac and MP3 Downloads + Streaming Song

April 2, 2011

[photo by Maryanne Ventrice – courtesy of Prefix Magazine]

Tuesday night’s Bowery show was the second of three consecutive dates at the NYC venue, but it also happened to be the very day that the new the Mountain Goats album All Eternals Deck (Merge) was released. John Darneille spoke about his positive mental health on this particular release day — as well he should. All Eternals Deck is a superb album, and several of those songs featured at this show were already set highlights. We are streaming “Birth of Serpents” below, but we could well have featured the show opener “Liza Forever Minnelli”, “Damn These Vampires”, or a song which earned an encore slot on this night “Estate Sale Sign”. Despite the focus on the strong new material, John did not however forsake the vintage material and performed some outstanding older and more obscure songs, including “Home Again Garden Grove”, “Sinaloan Milk Snake Song”, and “Jeff Davis County Blues”, and even an unreleased song “Shower”. This night did not feature any special guests, but at nearly two hours, it was the longest show of the run.

I recorded this set in the same manner as the previous night and the sound quality is again superb. This are two bursts of static during “Seeing Daylight” that were caused when my recording machine was jostled during the cleanup of a full beer spilled on my stuff. Otherwise enjoy this excellent recording!

Stream “Birth of Serpents”:

Audio clip: Adobe Flash Player (version 9 or above) is required to play this audio clip. Download the latest version here. You also need to have JavaScript enabled in your browser.

This Recording is now available for Download in FLAC and MP3 at [HERE].

The Mountain Goats
Bowery Ballroom
New York, NY USA

Digital Master Recording
Soundboard + Audience Matrix

Soundboard + Neumann KM-150s > Edirol R-44 (Oade Concert Mod) > 2 x 24bit 48kHz wav files > Soundforge (level adjustments, mixdown, set fades) > CDWave 1.95 (tracking) > Flac Frontend (level 7, align sector boundaries) > flac

Recorded and Produced by nyctaper

[Total Time 1:47:25]
01 [introduction]
02 Liza Forever Minnelli
03 Psalm 40 2
04 [banter01]
05 Damn These Vampires
06 [banter02]
07 Home Again Garden Grove
08 [banter03]
09 For Charles Bronson
10 [banter04]
11 Southwood Plantation Road
12 Seeing Daylight
13 Song for Dana Plato
14 Sinaloan Milk Snake Song
15 You Were Cool
16 Shower
17 Age of Kings
18 [banter05]
19 Jeff Davis County Blues
20 [banter06]
21 Birth of Serpents
22 [banter07]
23 Broom People
24 [banter08]
25 Dinu Lipatti’s Bones
26 [banter09]
27 Never Quite Free
28 [banter10]
29 This Year
30 [encore break]
31 Outer Scorpion Squadron
32 Estate Sale Sign
33 Palmcorder Yajna
34 [second encore break]
35 Plain [Silkworm]
36 Best Ever Death Metal Band in Denton

If you email nyctaper for access to this recording, we expect that you will PLEASE SUPPORT The Mountain Goats, visit their website, purchase All Eternals Deck from the Merge Records website [HERE], and purchase other Mountain Goats official releases from their website.

Tags: , , , , , , ,

3 Responses to The Mountain Goats: March 29, 2011 Bowery Ballroom – Flac and MP3 Downloads + Streaming Song

  1. Smintjes
    April 5, 2011 at 5:39 pm

    Thanks again for your efforts. Great sound!

  2. JJ
    April 14, 2011 at 7:53 pm

    do you happen to have the 3/30 show?

  3. April 15, 2011 at 7:44 am

    March 30 is on the site here:

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Support nyctaper

DISCLAIMER and LEGAL NOTICE is a live music blog that offers a new paradigm of music distribution on the web. The recordings are offered for free on this site as are the music posts, reviews and links to artist sites. All recordings are posted with artist permission or artists with an existing pro-taping policy.

All recordings and original content posted on this site are as live recordings pursuant to 17 U.S.C. Section 106, et. seq. Redistribution of nyctaper recordings without consent of is strictly prohibited. hereby waives all copyright claims to any and all recordings posted on this site to THE PERFORMERS ONLY. If any artist posted on this site requests that recordings be removed, those recordings will be removed forthwith.