John Vanderslice: May 13, 2011 Rock Shop – Flac and MP3 Downloads + Streaming Song

May 21, 2011

John Vanderslice performs “I’ll Never Live Up To You” w/ Melodie Knight at The Rock Shop, Brooklyn from on Vimeo.

A John Vanderslice concert is always an authentic communal experience. John often spends time to talk directly and candidly to the audience and performs his very personal songs in a manner to which his fans can relate. That is to say that he’s a performer without an ounce of pretense. On Friday night at packed Rock Shop, John added another dimension to the fan-friendly atmosphere — inviting them up on stage to perform. The pre-tour mailing list email promised that any fan with a talent could volunteer to perform, and in each city John has had several takers. While the Brooklyn show had four of them, in reality each of the performers were not strictly “fans”, but included Matthew Caws of Nada Surf, and the vocalist Melodie Knight from Damien Jurado’s opening set. The added bonus for this night was a “vision” that Rock Shop manager/booker Skippy had told John at SXSW. After the main set, John took the entire audience up to the roof deck of the venue and performed a four-song encore while circled by a fully participating audience. The result was a very memorable experience for Vanderslice fans from a performer who continues to provide meaningful gifts to the faithful.

I recorded the main set in the venue with our standard set-up — the DPA microphones mixed with a stellar feed from the board. For the roof deck encores, I unplugged from the board, and carried the mounted microphones with the recorder strapped over my shoulder. The main room sound quality is superb, while the roof deck is exactly what we experienced. Enjoy!

Stream “Exodus Damage”:

This Recording is now available for Download in FLAC and MP3 at [HERE].

John Vanderslice
The Rock Shop
Brooklyn, NY USA

Digital Master Recording
Soundboard + Audience Matrix

Soundboard + DPA 4021s > Edirol R-44 (Oade Concert Mod) >
2x 24bit 48kHz wav files > Soundforge (level adjustments, mixdown,
set fades) > CDWave 1.95 (tracking) > Flac Frontend (level 7, align sector boundaries) > flac

Encores recorded on rooftop:
DPA 4021s (handheld on mount) > Edirol R-44

Recorded and Produced by nyctaper

[Total Time 1:29:35]
01 [introduction]
02 Sunken Union Boat
03 Promising Actress
04 Scorpio Rising
05 Up Above The Sea
06 [banter- Jacob crowd surf]
07 Convict Lake
08 [banter- Iowa City]
09 The Parade
10 [banter- is Matthew here]
11 White Plains
12 Overcoat
13 [banter – moog]
14 Pale Horse
15 Exodus Damage
16 [banter – John crowd surf]
17 Kookaburra
18 [banter – Melodie]
19 I’ll Never Live Up to You
20 Do You Remember?
21 Underneath The Leaves
Encores on the Roof:
22 Nikki Oh Nikki
23 [banter – Skippy is Incredible]
24 Keep The Dream Alive
25 Time To Go
26 White Dove

Zach Walker (Track 02)
Matthew Caws (Nada Surf) (Tracks 11, 12)
Melodie Knight (Damien Jurado vocalist) (Track 19)
Ian Bjornstad (Track 21)
The Entire Audience (Tracks 22-26)

If you download this recording from NYCTaper, we expect that you will PLEASE SUPPORT John Vanderslice, visit his website, and purchase his official releases from the links at his website [HERE].

Tags: , , , ,

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


DISCLAIMER and LEGAL NOTICE is a live music blog that offers a new paradigm of music distribution on the web. The recordings are offered for free on this site as are the music posts, reviews and links to artist sites. All recordings are posted with artist permission or artists with an existing pro-taping policy.

All recordings and original content posted on this site are as live recordings pursuant to 17 U.S.C. Section 106, et. seq. Redistribution of nyctaper recordings without consent of is strictly prohibited. hereby waives all copyright claims to any and all recordings posted on this site to THE PERFORMERS ONLY. If any artist posted on this site requests that recordings be removed, those recordings will be removed forthwith.