Queens of the Stone Age: March 25, 2011 Terminal 5 – FLAC / MP3 Downloads + Streaming Song

May 26, 2011

[Photos courtesy of a.f. cortes.  See more of his outstanding work HERE]

It’s basic fact that Josh Homme has been one of the principle contributors to the stoner rock handbook and it would’ve made for a very different read without his input.  Starting with his first band, Kyuss, in the early 90’s and continuing through present day with Queens of the Stone Age, he’s been adding chapters to it ever since.  On tour to coincide with the re-release of their long-out-of-print debut album, the crux of these shows was to play it in its entirety; a popular trend that seems to be the case with many bands nowadays.  The sticking point is that the Queen’s self-titled first disc is brilliant, a touchstone of hard rock that many professional reviewers and fans alike have added to “must-have” rosters.  With many of these songs rarely showing up in setlists, it was a treat to hear them performed in a live setting.  In addition to surrounding himself with talented musicians that have great chops, Homme takes to the frontman role well and has a knack for keeping the audience entertained.  The proof being the crowd’s interaction with him, the adulation that teeters on the brink of feverish worship and the many declarations of love from female fans that I witnessed during this sell-out performance.  With devotees like that, I predict this band will have more continued years of success.

Per our usual in this venue, we were set up in the dead-center spot on the first balcony.  Terminal 5 can be tricky when it comes to getting the sound just right, so while the instruments sounded very good and are nicely balanced, the vocals were pretty low in the mix throughout most of the concert.  Nonetheless, the recording is solid and a great snapshot of the show.  Enjoy!

Stream “If Only”:

Direct download of the complete show in MP3 [HERE]
Direct download of the complete show in FLAC [HERE]

If either of the links are no longer working, email nyctaper with a request for the download location of the files.

Queens of the Stone Age
Friday, March 25, 2011
Terminal 5
New York, NY, USA
(opening band: The Dough Rollers)

Source: AUD > DPA 4021’s > Edirol R-44 (WAV @ 24-bit/48kHz)
Lineage: R-44 > USB > PC > Adobe Audition (mixdown, adjust levels, downsample, dither, tracking) > WAV (16-bit/44.1kHz) > Trader’s Little Helper (check/fix SBE’s, FLAC conversion) > FLAC (level 8 )
Recorded and produced by: Johnny Fried Chicken Boy

[Total time: 1:40:05]
01. Regular John
02. Avon
03. If Only
04. Walkin’ on the Sidewalks
05. You Would Know
06. How to Handle a Rope
07. Mexicola
08. [banter]
09. Hispanic Impressions
10. The Bronze
11. Give the Mule What He Wants
12. I Was a Teenage Hand Model
13. You Can’t Quit Me Baby
14. [1st encore break]
15. Turnin’ on the Screw
16. Long Slow Goodbye
17. Little Sister
18. [2nd encore break / banter]
19. Burn the Witch
20. [banter / band intros]
21. Make It Wit Chu
22. No One Knows

If you download this recording, we expect that you will PLEASE SUPPORT Queens of the Stone Age, visit their website, visit their MySpace and Facebook pages, and purchase their official releases and merchandise [HERE].

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

5 Responses to Queens of the Stone Age: March 25, 2011 Terminal 5 – FLAC / MP3 Downloads + Streaming Song

  1. Alexi
    June 11, 2011 at 9:43 am

    Sounds really cool, many thanks from Switzerland for this show!

  2. Justin
    June 18, 2011 at 1:39 am

    What an awesome recording. Thanks to NYCTaper, Josh Homme & the rest of the modern Stone Age family

  3. August 2, 2011 at 11:16 am

    Thanks from Spain for this awsome show!!!

  4. Mark Balcerak
    September 2, 2014 at 12:27 pm

    This is amazing! I was at this show, thanks for this!

  5. Jolundus
    August 28, 2019 at 7:30 pm

    Thanks so much! Have been looking for decent recordings from this tour for ages, guess I haven’t looked hard enough, since it took me so long to find your upload! lol. Much appreciated!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *



nyctaper.com is a live music blog that offers a new paradigm of music distribution on the web. The recordings are offered for free on this site as are the music posts, reviews and links to artist sites. All recordings are posted with artist permission or artists with an existing pro-taping policy.

All recordings and original content posted on this site are @nyctaper.com as live recordings pursuant to 17 U.S.C. Section 106, et. seq. Redistribution of nyctaper recordings without consent of nyctaper.com is strictly prohibited.

nyctaper.com hereby waives all copyright claims to any and all recordings posted on this site to THE PERFORMERS ONLY. If any artist posted on this site requests that recordings be removed, those recordings will be removed forthwith.