The War On Drugs: August 19, 2011 Cameo Gallery – Flac and MP3 Downloads + Streaming Song

August 22, 2011

[photo courtesy of Cory Smith and The Line Of Best Fit Blog]

The War On Drugs released Slave Ambient this past week. Its an album that’s been in the works for a couple of years, since the 2008 release of their excellent Secretly Canadian Records debut Wagonwheel Blues. But in a way, its an album that’s been waiting much longer for its release. The band’s leader Adam Granduciel incorporated some older songs into the album and spent many months tweaking the mixes, reworking arrangements, and perfecting what will undoubtedly become one of 2011’s best albums. When we recorded The War On Drugs in January, the new songs were beginning to take shape, but when the album versions were released, the positive developments were striking. On Friday at Cameo Gallery, The War On Drugs performed a superb ninety-minute set that consisted primarily of Slave Ambient material — eight of the album’s twelve songs were played. Of the new songs, the second-slotted “Baby Missiles” was particularly tight and focused and we’re streaming it below. Other highlights included the jammed transition from “It’s Your Destiny” into “I Was There”, and the eighteen-minute encore of “A Needle In Your Eye #16” with an extended guitar and sampled-driven ambient jam. The War On Drugs will be touring throughout the Fall. While they are on a current East and Midwest swing, they will tour Europe in September, and return to the US in October.

I recorded this set with the Neumann microphones mounted in the center of the room in front of the soundboard booth and raised to 12 feet. The room mics were mixed with a mono board feed to accentuate the vocals, and the sound quality is superb. Enjoy!

Stream “Baby Missiles”:

Audio clip: Adobe Flash Player (version 9 or above) is required to play this audio clip. Download the latest version here. You also need to have JavaScript enabled in your browser.

This Recording is now available to Download in FLAC and MP3 at [HERE].

The War On Drugs
Cameo Gallery
Brooklyn, NY USA

Digital Master Recording
Soundboard + Audience Matrix

Soundboard + Neumann KM-150s > Edirol R-44 (Oade Concert Mod) > 2x 16bit 44.1kHz wav files > Soundforge (level adjustments, mixdown, set fades) > CDWave 1.95 (tracking) > Flac Frontend (level 7, align sector boundaries) > flac

Recorded and Produced by nyctaper

[Total Time 1:26:47]
01 Best Night
02 Baby Missiles
03 [banter]
04 Comin Through
05 Your Love Is Calling My Name
06 Come To The City
07 [banter2]
08 Brothers
09 It’s Your Destiny
10 I Was There
11 Arms Like Boulders
12 [banter3]
13 Black Water Falls
14 [banter4]
15 Buenos Aires Beach
16 [encore break]
17 A Needle In Your Eye No 16

If you email nyctaper for access to this recording, we expect that you will PLEASE SUPPORT The War On Drugs, visit their website, and purchase their new album Slave Ambient from Secretly Canadian Records [HERE].

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

3 Responses to The War On Drugs: August 19, 2011 Cameo Gallery – Flac and MP3 Downloads + Streaming Song

  1. Smintjes
    August 22, 2011 at 6:09 pm

    Wow, thanks for this! What a setlist…

  2. eternal_fields
    December 6, 2011 at 12:16 pm

    A total jaw-dropper, this one.

  3. January 8, 2012 at 2:10 pm

    Thanks a lot. This kills.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Support nyctaper

DISCLAIMER and LEGAL NOTICE is a live music blog that offers a new paradigm of music distribution on the web. The recordings are offered for free on this site as are the music posts, reviews and links to artist sites. All recordings are posted with artist permission or artists with an existing pro-taping policy.

All recordings and original content posted on this site are as live recordings pursuant to 17 U.S.C. Section 106, et. seq. Redistribution of nyctaper recordings without consent of is strictly prohibited. hereby waives all copyright claims to any and all recordings posted on this site to THE PERFORMERS ONLY. If any artist posted on this site requests that recordings be removed, those recordings will be removed forthwith.