Woods: August 13, 2011 Bowery Ballroom – FLAC and MP3 Downloads + Streaming Full Set

August 24, 2011

Woods Bowery Ventrice
[Photo by Maryanne Ventrice]

We caught Woods this summer in the unlikely Northside Festival venue of St. Cecilia’s Roman Catholic Church (that recording here), but it was an equally special treat to see them play the best-sounding venue in Manhattan, Bowery Ballroom. Although the set hewed fairly closely to what we saw back in June, no two Woods shows are alike, and indeed, the jam-heavy favorites “Bend Beyond” and “I Was Gone” took different directions than they did back at St. Cecilia’s. We also got a huge treat in the form of the band’s cover of the Graham Nash tune “Military Madness” as their final song. As at St. Cecilia’s, the band added an organ player to give them a bigger, more psychedelic sound, and the Bowery’s sound system was mixed to perfection.

Befitting the high quality sound in the room, we came out with a lot of high quality gear to record this show, including a soundboard feed and two sets of mics. The result is undoubtedly our best recording of Woods to date. Enjoy!

Download the complete show: [FLAC]

Follow acidjack on twitter

Note: All of the material on this site is offered with artist permission, free to fans, at our expense. The only thing we ask is that you download the material directly from this site, rather than re-posting the direct links or the files on other sites without our permission. Please respect our request.

Bowery Ballroom
New York, NY USA

6-Channel Multitrack Digital Master Recording
Recorded by nyctaper and acidjack
Produced by acidjack

Soundboard + Neumann KM150 + DPA 4021>Sound Devices USBpre2 >> Tascam DR680>6x24bit/48kHz WAV>Audition (mixdown, EQ)>Audacity (tracking, set fades, amplify and balance)>FLAC Level 8

01 [intro]
02 Pushing Onlys
03 Suffering Season
04 Blood Dries Darker
05 Bend Beyond
06 Rain On
07 Be All Be Easy
08 Say Goodbye
09 Find Them Empty
10 To Clean
11 I Was Gone
12 [encore break]
13 Military Madness [Graham Nash]

If you download this recording from nyctaper, we expect that you will PLEASE SUPPORT Woods, visit their website, and purchase their official releases, including Sun and Shade, from Woodist Records [HERE].

Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

10 Responses to Woods: August 13, 2011 Bowery Ballroom – FLAC and MP3 Downloads + Streaming Full Set

  1. Dave C
    August 24, 2011 at 10:23 am

    Love Woods many thanks – Fingers crossed you taped White Fence

  2. Conlon
    August 24, 2011 at 10:25 am

    Thanks again.

  3. Rob Strong
    August 24, 2011 at 1:53 pm

    Thank you – looking forward to this.

  4. August 24, 2011 at 3:02 pm

    White Fence was recorded, and it sounds amazing. Besides that, the set absolutely smoked. I expect it will be up within a couple of days.
    Whomever it was that recommended White Fence to us was completely on the money, as the band is excellent.

  5. August 24, 2011 at 3:07 pm

    The sound on the Woods show is outstanding. Thx.
    White Fence are the best band active in So Cal right now in my book, although it seems to be a different line-up every show! Glad you liked them. For anyone who wants more, there are 4 shows on my taping blog.

  6. August 24, 2011 at 3:48 pm

    Sounds terrific — kudos to you both!

  7. acidjack
    August 24, 2011 at 3:55 pm

    I agree re: White Fence. They were awesome. I’m working on that recording also – fear not, it will be up soon!

  8. Smintjes
    August 24, 2011 at 6:23 pm

    Thanks, sounds great, as always.

  9. August 24, 2011 at 9:58 pm

    Wow, this isn’t just the best sounding Woods recording we’ve ever posted. It just might be the best sounding recording ever to appear on the site. Everything is mixed perfectly, the sound is amazingly deep, and the details are spectacular. Acidjack did most of the work on this, so all kudos to him.

  10. Dave C
    August 25, 2011 at 7:17 am

    Yep this recording does sound like your there – Thanks so much NYC taper and Acidjack. And so pleased you got a recording of White Fence.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Support nyctaper


nyctaper.com is a live music blog that offers a new paradigm of music distribution on the web. The recordings are offered for free on this site as are the music posts, reviews and links to artist sites. All recordings are posted with artist permission or artists with an existing pro-taping policy.

All recordings and original content posted on this site are @nyctaper.com as live recordings pursuant to 17 U.S.C. Section 106, et. seq. Redistribution of nyctaper recordings without consent of nyctaper.com is strictly prohibited.

nyctaper.com hereby waives all copyright claims to any and all recordings posted on this site to THE PERFORMERS ONLY. If any artist posted on this site requests that recordings be removed, those recordings will be removed forthwith.