The Heavy Pets: August 26, 2011 Bowery Ballroom – Flac and MP3 Downloads + Streaming Song

September 15, 2011

[photo courtesy of Nick Irving]

We spoke last about the concept that “jam band” can be seen in some circles as a pejorative term. What separates The Heavy Pets from other bands lazily tagged with this unfortunate label is that each member of this band possesses obvious talent and the unit as a whole is impressive from the first note. When they were selected from among 350 contestants to play the Langerado Music Festival in 2006, The Heavy Pets took off on a trek that has brought them nothing but accolades (everyone from The Huffington Post to High Times) for the last half decade. In late August, we had a chance to capture this excellent band at the Bowery Ballroom at a CD release show for the latest album Swim Out Past The Sun — their third full-length record. The superb two-hours-plus set consisted of a fairly representative mix of the band’s material, and just three songs from the new album. We’re streaming “Bridge” below, which is the first single from the new release, due in early October. The album tour continues throughout the Fall on the East coast.

Hi and Lo and I recorded this set from our standard balcony rail position at Bowery. Our four microphone mix — DPAs for warmth and Schoeps for bottom end — was supplemented by an excellent board feed from The Heavy Pets sound engineer, the legendary Charlie Miller. The mix is approximately one-third from each source and the sound quality is superb. Enjoy!

Stream “Bridge”:

Audio clip: Adobe Flash Player (version 9 or above) is required to play this audio clip. Download the latest version here. You also need to have JavaScript enabled in your browser.

This Recording is now available for Download in FLAC and MP3 at [HERE].

The Heavy Pets
Bowery Ballroom
New York, NY USA

Digital Master Recording
Six-Channel Soundboard + Audience Matrix

Soundboard + DPA 4021 > Edirol R-44 (Oade Concert Mod) + Schoeps MK41s > CMR>EAA PSP2 > Tascam DR-680 > 3 x 24bit 48kHz wav files > Soundforge (level adjustments, mixdown, set fades) > CDWave 1.95 (tracking) > Flac Frontend (level 7, align sector boundaries) > flac

Recorded and Produced by
nyctaper and hi and lo

[Total Time 2:01:34]
01 John Galt
02 Dew Point
03 Jam
04 3AM
05 Bridge
06 [banter]
07 Pass it Down
08 Chew
09 No More Time
10 Keep Me Running
11 Lantern
12 Sigismondi
13 Sigismondi Part II
14 Better
15 Jackie Bones
16 [encore break]
17 So Thank You Music
18 STYM Part II

If you email nyctaper for access to this recording, we expect that you will PLEASE SUPPORT The Heavy Pets, visit their website, and purchase their official releases from the Store at their Website [HERE].

Tags: , , , , , , ,

One Response to The Heavy Pets: August 26, 2011 Bowery Ballroom – Flac and MP3 Downloads + Streaming Song

  1. Joe
    September 16, 2011 at 8:38 am

    I’m not all that familiar with The Heavy Pets. But if Charlie Miller’s on the bus, I’ll gladly hop on for a listen. Streaming ‘Bridge’ now, and the sound is as crisp as this beautiful fall day. Many thanks for all the efforts.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Support nyctaper

DISCLAIMER and LEGAL NOTICE is a live music blog that offers a new paradigm of music distribution on the web. The recordings are offered for free on this site as are the music posts, reviews and links to artist sites. All recordings are posted with artist permission or artists with an existing pro-taping policy.

All recordings and original content posted on this site are as live recordings pursuant to 17 U.S.C. Section 106, et. seq. Redistribution of nyctaper recordings without consent of is strictly prohibited. hereby waives all copyright claims to any and all recordings posted on this site to THE PERFORMERS ONLY. If any artist posted on this site requests that recordings be removed, those recordings will be removed forthwith.