Ben Folds Five: June 2, 2012 Mountain Jam – FLAC and MP3 Downloads + Streaming Songs

June 11, 2012

[Photos courtesy of Dino Perrucci Photography]

As someone who spent their college years in North Carolina at the turn of last century, Ben Folds Five has always been special to me. A native North Carolinian introduced me to Ben Folds’ music, and the themes in the music – romantic frustration, fear of consequences, and straight-up rage at lovers who jilt you – found natural purchase in my young self. I saw the band a bunch of times between 1997 and 2000 in my then-home state, outdoors and on the quad, at the Cat’s Cradle and the Ritz. Folds and his band never disappointed, and his confessional lyrics – delivered with catchy, approachable piano melodies and vocal harmonies – were easy to sing along to (or not, since I was usually taping). It was a fitting soundtrack to a certain time of my life, made more special because the band were local boys done good. I’m sure their songs blared in my car stereo at one point or another on every state on the Eastern seaboard.

While Folds has continued with his solo work, BFF itself had not played a show together since 2008 until they took the stage on the Saturday of this year’s Mountain Jam in Hunter, NY. The memories came flooding back quickly as Folds began to pound out the opening of “Jackson Cannery” and by “Battle of Who Could Care Less” (always my favorite BFF song) I was back in full-on nostalgia mode. The band sounded as good as ever (even if the house mix did them no favors), and they gave fans a mix of their bigger hits like “Brick”, “Battle of Who Could Care Less”, and “Army” with older favorites and deeper cuts “Where’s Summer B.?”, “Uncle Walter” and another of my favorites, “Emaline”. More than a decade after their most significant albums dropped, no band is really doing what BFF is doing (please don’t bring up Billy Joel), and it was a thrill to see them doing their thing again. Even better, Folds indicated that the band will be putting out a new release some time soon. The band will be back in NYC for a Central Park show on September 14 as well.

I recorded this set with AKG 414 large diaphragm mics in “wide cardiod” mode. The first 15 or so seconds are marred by me making some adjustments to my preamp levels. After that, the only significant flaw of this recording is the overblown house mix, in which the distortion-pedal-driven bass guitar was at times too high in the mix. With those caveats, enjoy!

Stream “Battle of Who Could Care Less”
[audio: Battle of Who Could Care Less.mp3]

Stream “Emaline”
[audio: Emmaline.mp3]

Direct download of MP3 files [HERE]| Direct Download of the FLAC files [HERE]

Follow acidjack on twitter

Note: All of the material on this site is offered with artist permission, free to fans, at our expense. The only thing we ask is that you download the material directly from this site, rather than re-posting the direct links or the files on other sites without our permission. Please respect our request.

Ben Folds Five
Mountain Jam
Hunter, NY USA

Exclusive download hosted at
Recorded and produced by acidjack

AKG C 414 B-XLS (wide cardiod, OTS, 12ft, A-B)>Aerco MP-2>Edirol R-44 [Oade Concert Mod]>24bit/48kHz WAV>Audacity (set fades, EQ, tracking, amplify and balance)>FLAC ( level 8 )

Tracks [Total Time 1:23:43]
01 Jackson Cannery [fades in]
02 Theme from Dr. Pyser
03 Fair
04 [banter]
05 Selfless, Cold and Composed
06 Uncle Walter
07 [banter]
08 Where’s Summer B?
09 Mess
10 Battle of Who Could Care Less
11 Brick
12 [banter]
13 Emaline
14 Army
15 Kate
16 Alice Childress
17 [banter]
18 Song for the Dumped
19 Narcolepsy
20 [improv]
21 Underground
22 One Angry Dwarf and 200 Solemn Faces

If you enjoyed this recording, PLEASE SUPPORT Ben Folds Five, visit their website, and purchase their official releases, including their recent Best Imitation of Myself: A Retrospective, at their online store [HERE]

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Support nyctaper

DISCLAIMER and LEGAL NOTICE is a live music blog that offers a new paradigm of music distribution on the web. The recordings are offered for free on this site as are the music posts, reviews and links to artist sites. All recordings are posted with artist permission or artists with an existing pro-taping policy.

All recordings and original content posted on this site are as live recordings pursuant to 17 U.S.C. Section 106, et. seq. Redistribution of nyctaper recordings without consent of is strictly prohibited. hereby waives all copyright claims to any and all recordings posted on this site to THE PERFORMERS ONLY. If any artist posted on this site requests that recordings be removed, those recordings will be removed forthwith.