Blitzen Trapper: July 14, 2012 Stuyvesant Town Oval – Flac and MP3 Downloads + Streaming Song

July 16, 2012

There are certain types of music and certain bands that fit perfectly when you’re sitting on the grass on a beautiful sunny day. On Saturday at Stuyvesant Town, Blitzen Trapper performed “Live From The Oval”, and although the booking of these concerts has been weird over the years (Jay Reatard, High Places), on this weekend they got it right. After an energetic and entertaining set from Ben Kweller (recording coming soon), Blitzen Trapper took the stage and for the next seventy minutes, the Oval was a relaxed perfect mix of sun, green grass, happy neighbors, and folk/roots rock. While the set did contain a couple of treats — first album deep cut “Texaco” and their new Record Store Day 7″ cover of “Hey Joe” — the attraction of this show was the sheer enjoyment of the right music at the right place and time. It was a smell the roses moment, and it was over far too soon.

I recorded this set with the Sennheiser 8040s mounted on a 15 foot stand about 30 feet back from the stage and mixed with a fine board feed provided by BT’s talented FOH Martin. The mix accentuates the audience microphones since the recording truly captures the feel on the grass that day. I’m extremely pleased with the quality of this recording. Enjoy!

We are still offering a superb recording of Blitzen Trapper at Maxwell’s in December [here].

Stream “Wild Mountain Nation”:

Audio clip: Adobe Flash Player (version 9 or above) is required to play this audio clip. Download the latest version here. You also need to have JavaScript enabled in your browser.

This Recording is now available to Download in FLAC and MP3 at [HERE].

Blitzen Trapper
Stuyvesant Town Oval
New York, NY USA

Digital Master Recording
Soundboard + Audience Matrix

Soundboard + Sennheiser 8040 Cardioids > Edirol R-44 (Oade Concert Mod) > 2 x 24bit 48kHz wav files > Soundforge (level adjustments, mixdown, set fades) > CDWave 1.95 (tracking) > TLH > flac (320 MP3 and tagging via Foobar)

Recorded and Produced
by nyctaper 2012-07-15

[Total Time 1:09:22]
01 [introduction]
02 Astronaut
03 Hey Joe
04 Party Jam
05 Sleepytime in the Western World
06 Texaco
07 Love the Way
08 Takin it Easy
09 God and Suicide
10 Goldwing
11 Lady on the Water
12 Furr
13 Silver Moon
14 Black River Killer
15 Fletcher
16 Evening Star
17 Wild Mountain Nation
18 Gold for Bread
19 Jericho
20 Big Black Bird

If you download this recording from NYCTaper, we expect that you will PLEASE SUPPORT Blitzen Trapper, visit their website, and purchase American Goldwing from the Store at their site [HERE].

Tags: , , , , , ,

One Response to Blitzen Trapper: July 14, 2012 Stuyvesant Town Oval – Flac and MP3 Downloads + Streaming Song

  1. Jamie McPherson
    September 16, 2012 at 2:41 pm

    Great – thanks.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Support nyctaper

DISCLAIMER and LEGAL NOTICE is a live music blog that offers a new paradigm of music distribution on the web. The recordings are offered for free on this site as are the music posts, reviews and links to artist sites. All recordings are posted with artist permission or artists with an existing pro-taping policy.

All recordings and original content posted on this site are as live recordings pursuant to 17 U.S.C. Section 106, et. seq. Redistribution of nyctaper recordings without consent of is strictly prohibited. hereby waives all copyright claims to any and all recordings posted on this site to THE PERFORMERS ONLY. If any artist posted on this site requests that recordings be removed, those recordings will be removed forthwith.