Imperial Teen: August 17, 2012 Knitting Factory – Flac/MP3/Streaming

August 24, 2012

Imperial Teen have achieved something quite rare in pop music — the release of what is arguably their best album deep into the band’s existence. Its been fifteen years since the quartet formed from members of various other San Francisco bands. Their popularity reached its high-water mark with the 1998 single “Yoo Hoo” (streaming below), a song that received significant airplay and was featured in the black comedy classic Jawbreaker. Five years removed from their last album, and seemingly out of nowhere comes Feel the Sound (Merge), a brilliant pop album rich in melody and sweet boy-girl harmonies. “Runaway” (also streaming below) is the lead track on the album, and at Friday night’s show at Knitting Factory it was elevated to set-closing status. The song is chock-full of earworm melodies and is an early candidate for song of the year. At the Knit show, Imperial Teen worked through a nice run of the highlights of their catalog and mixed in half of Feel The Sound in an hour long set to a demographically mixed but faithful crowd. The band was called back for three encores and they seemed geniunely touched by the fervent support. The Knitting Factory show was Imperial Teen’s only Northeast performance on this tour, but I would expect their return over the next few months.

I recorded this set with the Sennheiser cards at the front left corner of the soundboard booth and mixed with an excellent board feed provided by the Knit’s head sound tech Rob. The sound quality is superb. Enjoy!

Stream “Yoo Hoo”:

Stream “Runaway”:

Direct download of complete show in MP3 files (HERE)

Download the Complete show in FLAC [HERE]

Note: All of the material on this site is offered with artist permission, free to fans, at our expense. The only thing we ask is that you download the material directly from this site, rather than re-posting the direct links or the files on other sites without our permission. Please respect our request.

Imperial Teen
Knitting Factory
Brooklyn, NY USA

Digital Master Recording
Soundboard + Audience Matrix

Soundboard + Sennheiser MKH-8040s > Edirol R-44 (Oade Concert Mod) > 2 x 24bit 48kHz wav files > Soundforge (levels, EQ, mixdown, set fades) > CDWave 1.95 (tracking) > TLH > flac (320 MP3 and tagging via Foobar)

Recorded and Produced
by nyctaper 2012-08-20

[Total Time 1:01:15]
01 Ivanka
02 Sugar
03 You’re One
04 No Matter What You Say
05 All The Same
06 Million Dollar Man
07 Lipstick
08 Don’t Know How You Do It
09 Yoo Hoo
10 [banter- scientologists]
11 Butch
12 Runaway
13 [encore break]
14 Imperial Teen
15 Shim Sham
16 Water Boy

If you download this recording from NYCTaper, we expect that you will PLEASE SUPPORT Imperial Teen, visit their website, and purchase Feel The Sound from Merge Records [HERE].

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Support nyctaper

DISCLAIMER and LEGAL NOTICE is a live music blog that offers a new paradigm of music distribution on the web. The recordings are offered for free on this site as are the music posts, reviews and links to artist sites. All recordings are posted with artist permission or artists with an existing pro-taping policy.

All recordings and original content posted on this site are as live recordings pursuant to 17 U.S.C. Section 106, et. seq. Redistribution of nyctaper recordings without consent of is strictly prohibited. hereby waives all copyright claims to any and all recordings posted on this site to THE PERFORMERS ONLY. If any artist posted on this site requests that recordings be removed, those recordings will be removed forthwith.