Parquet Courts: November 16, 2012 285 Kent – Flac/MP3/Streaming

November 25, 2012

[photos by PSquared Photography]

Several months ago, a friend told me to keep an eye out for Parquet Courts. He had seen them at Death By Audio and was so impressed with their excellent garage-styled pop and their new album Light Up Gold, that he went out of his way to secure permission for me to record the band when I saw them live. Last week at 285 Kent, I got the chance and Parquet Courts lived up to expectations. This is a tight quartet with a strong sense of melody, rhythm and a wicked sense of humor. The songs are with one exception two-minute nuggets and in their thirty-minute show at 285, they managed to fit ten of them in the set. For what its worth, the single “Borrowed Time” received this week “best new music” at Pitchfork a couple of months too late, but evidence that the band is gaining the kind of notoriety that will make these 285 Kent nights a thing of the past. We are streaming that song below. The other obvious highlight was the set closer, a six-minute song called “Stoned and Starving” that calls to mind the vocal stylings of Jonathan Richman while referencing current Brooklyn locations in a lengthy groove. It was the perfect ending for this superb set. Parquet Courts will return to Brooklyn for a show opening for Fucked Up at Warsaw, before they head out on a Midwest tour.

I recorded this set with the Sennheiser cards mounted 10 feet from the stage and mixed with a board feed. The sound quality is limited only by the acoustics of the venue, but is otherwise excellent. Enjoy!

Stream “Borrowed Time”:

Download the Complete show in [MP3] / [FLAC]

Parquet Courts
285 Kent
Brooklyn, NY USA

Digital Master Recording
Soundboard + Audience Matrix

Soundboard + Sennheiser MKH-8040s > Edirol R-44 (Oade Concert Mod) > 24bit 48kHz wav file > Soundforge (level adjustments, set fades, downsample) > CDWave 1.95 > (tracking) > TLH > flac (320 MP3 and Tagging via Foobar)

Recorded and Produced
by nyctaper

[Total Time 30:33]
01 Tears O Plenty
02 Master Of My Craft
03 Borrowed Time
04 [banter]
05 Donuts Only
06 Yonder is Closer to the Heart
07 Mezzanine
08 Light Up Gold II
09 Yr No Stoner
10 N Dakota
11 Stoned and Starving

If you download this recording from NYCTaper, we expect that you will PLEASE SUPPORT Parquet Courts, visit their website and purchase Light Up Gold from the Dull Tools Records website [HERE].

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

2 Responses to Parquet Courts: November 16, 2012 285 Kent – Flac/MP3/Streaming

  1. Ian
    April 22, 2013 at 9:40 am

    I was at this show, it was awesome! Do you have the who set I could have a link to? cheers.

  2. acidjack
    April 22, 2013 at 8:40 pm

    You can download the whole set by clicking the links right there on the site….

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


DISCLAIMER and LEGAL NOTICE is a live music blog that offers a new paradigm of music distribution on the web. The recordings are offered for free on this site as are the music posts, reviews and links to artist sites. All recordings are posted with artist permission or artists with an existing pro-taping policy.

All recordings and original content posted on this site are as live recordings pursuant to 17 U.S.C. Section 106, et. seq. Redistribution of nyctaper recordings without consent of is strictly prohibited. hereby waives all copyright claims to any and all recordings posted on this site to THE PERFORMERS ONLY. If any artist posted on this site requests that recordings be removed, those recordings will be removed forthwith.