Animal Collective: December 4, 2012 Terminal 5 – Flac/MP3/Streaming

December 26, 2012

[photo courtesy of Two Sails]

Ever the new music innovators, for their tour in 2012 Animal Collective has gone retro. Over the last decade the band has slowly evolved into a purely electronic live act. And when founder Deakin took a “leave”, the band was a trio for the last several years. But Deakin is back and so is a more traditional band layout on stage. At Terminal 5 earlier this month, Panda Bear spent the entire show playing a full drum set, Deakin was primarily on guitar and Avey Tare played keyboards. Surely, there were electronics — Geologist mostly, but each of the other three had their gizmos laid out in front of them. This year the band is touring on the strength of the new album Centipede Hz (Domino), a release that flew under the buzz radar but which is as solid as anything the band has ever produced. At Terminal 5 Animal Collective played two consecutive nights, a make-up of sorts for the Williamsburg Waterfront show postponed in August. AC seemed quite comfortable in the “new” config on the first night of the Terminal 5 shows, and played nearly two hours. The setlist began with almost all of Centipede before the classics to closed the show. Animal Collective will tour Australia after the New Year, and likely return to NYC for Spring or Summer shows.

I recorded this show with the 4-mic configuration from inside of the soundboard booth on the floor. The large venue swallowed up some of the sound on this night, so that while the recording is rich in bottom end, its also a bit “boomy”. With that caveat, enjoy!

Stream “Monkey Riches”:

Stream “My Girls”:

This Recording is now available for Download in FLAC and MP3 and to Stream at [HERE].

Note: All of the material on this site is offered with artist permission, free to fans, at our expense. The only thing we ask is that you download the material directly from this site, rather than re-posting the direct links or the files on other sites without our permission. Please respect our request.

Animal Collective
Terminal 5
New York, NY USA

Digital Master
Front of Board Four-Track Audience Recording

Sennheiser MKH-8040 Cardioids + Neumann KM-150s > Edirol R-44 (Oade Concert Mod) > 2x 24bit 48kHz wav file > Soundforge (level adjustments, mixdown, set fades) > CDWave 1.95 (tracking) > TLH > flac (320 MP3 and tagging via Foobar)

Recorded and Produced by nyctaper

[Total Time 1:47:45]
01 Rosie Oh
02 Todays Supernatural
03 Wide Eyed
04 Applesauce
05 Honeycomb
06 Lion In A Coma
07 Moonjock
08 Pulleys
09 New Town Burnout
10 Monkey Riches
11 Brother Sport
12 Peacebone
13 [encore break]
14 Cobwebs
15 My Girls
16 Amanita

If you download this recording from NYCTaper, we expect that you will PLEASE SUPPORT Animal Collective, visit their website, and purchase Centipede Hz from the Domino Records Store [HERE].

Tags: , , , , , , ,

3 Responses to Animal Collective: December 4, 2012 Terminal 5 – Flac/MP3/Streaming

  1. hatano
    December 27, 2012 at 3:43 am


  2. December 29, 2012 at 11:04 am

    thank you!

  3. 00
    March 13, 2013 at 9:41 pm

    Pulleys is amazing! Thanks. Wish you had the next night too.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


DISCLAIMER and LEGAL NOTICE is a live music blog that offers a new paradigm of music distribution on the web. The recordings are offered for free on this site as are the music posts, reviews and links to artist sites. All recordings are posted with artist permission or artists with an existing pro-taping policy.

All recordings and original content posted on this site are as live recordings pursuant to 17 U.S.C. Section 106, et. seq. Redistribution of nyctaper recordings without consent of is strictly prohibited. hereby waives all copyright claims to any and all recordings posted on this site to THE PERFORMERS ONLY. If any artist posted on this site requests that recordings be removed, those recordings will be removed forthwith.