Yo La Tengo: December 8, 2012 Maxwell’s (Hanukkah Night 1) – Flac/MP3/Streaming

December 9, 2012

[photo by acidjack]

The Yo La Tengo Hanukkah shows at Maxwell’s have always been an eight-day embarrassment of riches — we’ll readily admit to being spoiled over the years with the openers, the guests, and the many special moments that we’ve been fortunate to witness and to capture. Last year, despite a serious health scare Ira played all eight shows, sometimes confined to a chair on stage. This year the obvious concern is the massive storm damage to Hoboken itself — the charity for Night 1 was the Rebuild Hoboken Relief Fund. Sometimes we forget that the centerpiece of it all, the band themselves, are really the greatest gift of all. On this first night, their set was a subdued affair but that’s not to say its wasn’t special. The opener of a fifteen-minute tribute to the city “Night Falls on Hoboken” was both poignant and intense. Yo La Tengo is releasing a new album in January, Fade on January 15, and we also saw a couple of the new songs, one a live premiere. Of course this wouldn’t be Hanukkah without at least one guest appearance and on this night it was the opener Raybeats guitarist Jody Harris who played on both the Richard Hell cover and an intense “Pass The Hatchet” that we’re streaming below. This performance of Hatchet rivals any of previous years and offered a glimpse of what can expect over the next week. Happy Hanukkah indeed!

We recorded this show in the usual manner, with microphones mounted in the front corner of the soundboard and mixed with an outstanding feed provided by longtime YLT FOH Mark and Maxwell’s house sound tech Carson. This is the first year that we’re using the new Sennheiser Cards in this room and I’m quite pleased with its handling of this small room. The results are superb. Enjoy!

We are asking that if you download this recording, that you visit the Rebuild Hoboken Relief Fund website and contribute to this worthy cause. Many parts of the metro area were hit hard by the Storm, but Hoboken was one of the hardest hit. While a contribution is not a strict requirement for download, please just do it. Hoboken needs it.

Stream “Pass The Hatchet, I Think I’m Goodkind”:

Download the Complete show [MP3] / [FLAC]

Note: All of the material on this site is offered with artist permission, free to fans, at our expense. The only thing we ask is that you download the material directly from this site, rather than re-posting the direct links or the files on other sites without our permission. Please respect our request.

Yo La Tengo
Hanukkah Night 1
Hoboken, NJ USA

Digital Master Recording
Soundboard + Audience Matrix

Soundboard + Sennheiser MKH 8040s > Edirol R-44 (Oade Concert Mod) > 2 x 24bit 48kHz wav files > Soundforge (level adjustments, set fades, downsample) > CDWave 1.95 (tracking) > TLH > flac (320 MP3 and Tagging via Foobar)

Recorded and Produced
by nyctaper

[Total Time 1:23:59]
01 Night Falls on Hoboken
02 Eight Day Weekend
03 The Evil That Men Do
04 [banter – tech]
05 Stockholm Syndrome
06 [banter – soft roll out]
07 Paddle Forward
08 Before We Run
09 Beanbag Chair
10 [banter – thanks]
11 Big Day Coming (for Jesse)
12 Satellite
13 Tom Courtenay
14 Artificial Heart
15 The Kid With the Replaceable Head [Richard Hell]
16 Pass the Hatchet I Think I’m Goodkind
17 [encore break]
18 Drug Test
19 Take A Giant Step
(Thanks Jesse for the setlist)

If you download this recording from NYCTaper, we expect that you will PLEASE SUPPORT Yo La Tengo, visit their website, and pre-order the new album Fade from Matador Records [HERE].

Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

12 Responses to Yo La Tengo: December 8, 2012 Maxwell’s (Hanukkah Night 1) – Flac/MP3/Streaming

  1. ciao luna
    December 10, 2012 at 11:10 am

    gosh, not sure what the definition of perfect is within the context of ylt hanukkah show history but I was there for this one. Your capture of stockholm & tom coutenay is as good as it gets. Have a great week and never stop doing what you do..

  2. December 10, 2012 at 11:36 am

    Thanks for the feedback, that means a lot. I guess I can say that we keep getting better at capturing this room. We’ve had plenty of practice!

  3. Tim McManus
    December 10, 2012 at 11:58 am

    do you happen to know the set times??

  4. December 10, 2012 at 2:00 pm

    Every night is going to be slightly different, but on the first night, Raybeats went on at 9:20 and played for a little over 20 minutes. Emo Phillips went on at about 10:10 and was on for about 25 minutes. YLT went on a little after 11 and played until 12:30.

  5. December 10, 2012 at 2:11 pm

    Wow, thanks!

  6. mavis minkin
    December 10, 2012 at 4:32 pm

    thank you so much for this. the recording sounds amazing. seems like you get better and better at mixing these matrix recordings over the years. it’s killing me i can’t be at the shows, but your recordings are a great consolation. can’t wait for night two!

  7. SmockMyFishUp
    December 10, 2012 at 5:09 pm

    Thanks Dan. Sounds amazing. Just wanted to give you a quick shout out before we leave for tonight’s show. We’ve been attending most or all of the Hanukkah shows since their inaugural year in ’01(every show since ’05) and your recordings are an amazing audio photo album that gives my wife and I warm memories of what I consider the greatest rock band touring today playing some of the most special music in a most special time. Your recordings always make the plane ride back to S. Florida much more pleasant. Have a happy and healthy holiday season.

  8. neil d
    December 10, 2012 at 6:41 pm

    Almost as cool as being at Night 2 (which was, incidentally, totally nuts in the best possible way) was getting home at 1:30 am and finding the Night 1 recording waiting for me at NYCtaper. At the rate you guys are going, in another year or two you’re going to be posting shows before they’ve even happened…

  9. December 10, 2012 at 9:39 pm

    This is a great. Thank you so much!

  10. jonkaye8
    December 11, 2012 at 10:01 pm

    hey, getting the following message when trying to download the mp3 file: “We are sorry but the file has either expired or the sender has exhausted the download limit”. strangely don’t get it for the flac or the mp3 for night two. looking forward to hearing night 1’s recording. thanks again for the ticket trade.

  11. December 12, 2012 at 2:04 am

    MP3 link is back now. Our readers maxed out the download limit!

  12. oldjollymon
    December 12, 2012 at 9:53 pm

    thanks for y’all’s dedication in recording & sharing the goods for another year. i love from “artificial heart” onward from this nite, & especially “giant step”.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Support nyctaper


nyctaper.com is a live music blog that offers a new paradigm of music distribution on the web. The recordings are offered for free on this site as are the music posts, reviews and links to artist sites. All recordings are posted with artist permission or artists with an existing pro-taping policy.

All recordings and original content posted on this site are @nyctaper.com as live recordings pursuant to 17 U.S.C. Section 106, et. seq. Redistribution of nyctaper recordings without consent of nyctaper.com is strictly prohibited.

nyctaper.com hereby waives all copyright claims to any and all recordings posted on this site to THE PERFORMERS ONLY. If any artist posted on this site requests that recordings be removed, those recordings will be removed forthwith.