The Soft Moon: January 8, 2013 Mercury Lounge – FLAC/MP3/Streaming

January 9, 2013

[Photos from the Glasslands show in September by acidjack]

If this Mercury Lounge show represents the new normal for The Soft Moon, this will be the last time I will be able to see them in a venue this size. After catching their sold out Glasslands show over in Brooklyn back in September, I knew they were on the way up.  Three months later in Manhattan, the San Francisco band showed that momentum is still going. This show kicks off a mini-tour for the band that will take them up to Boston, out to Chicago and Columbus, and down South before they wrap things up in Washington, DC later this month. The band’s live act seems at times like a note-perfect rendition of their two records, The Soft MoonZeros and the Total Decay EP, which makes sense for a band whose sound relies upon the dark, at-times cold vibe created by their electronics. The band comes across confident and polished, perhaps reveling in the semi-anonymity created by playing in total darkness, with only their window blind-like video projections lighting the room. If you happen to be in any of the cities listed here, you owe it to yourself to check them out in a small club while you can.

I recorded this set with a soundboard feed by head FOH Kevin Mazzarelli and MBHO KA500N hypercardiod microphones. The sound is excellent. Enjoy!

Direct download of the complete show: [MP3] | [FLAC]

If the FLAC link is no longer working, email nyctaper for the FLAC files

Follow acidjack on twitter

Note: All of the material on this site is offered with artist permission, free to fans, at our expense. The only thing we ask is that you download the material directly from this site, rather than re-posting the direct links or the files on other sites without our permission. Please respect our request.


The Soft Moon
Mercury Lounge
New York, NY USA

Exclusive download hosted at
Recorded and produced by acidjack

Soundboard + MBHO KA500N>MBP603>Aerco MP-2>>Roland R-26>2x24bit/48kHz WAV>Adobe Audition CS 5.5 (align, adjust levels, mix down)>Izotope Ozone 5 (EQ, exciter (tape effect)>Audacity 3.0 (set fades, tracking, amplify, balance, downsample)>FLAC ( level 8 )

Tracks [Total Time: 50:46]
01 Die Life
02 Circles
03 Into the Depths
04 Dead Love
05 Zeros
06 [banter/false start]
07 Alive
08 Parallels
09 Insides
10 [unknown]
11 [“encore” break]
12 We Are We
13 Want

If you enjoyed this recording, PLEASE SUPPORT The Soft Moon, like them on Facebook, and purchase their releases, including Zeros, from Captured Tracks [HERE]

Tags: , , , , , ,

One Response to The Soft Moon: January 8, 2013 Mercury Lounge – FLAC/MP3/Streaming

  1. biopixels
    August 19, 2013 at 2:08 am

    Track 10 for this show is called “Repetition”, which is to be found on The Soft Moon’s 2011 “Total Decay” EP.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


DISCLAIMER and LEGAL NOTICE is a live music blog that offers a new paradigm of music distribution on the web. The recordings are offered for free on this site as are the music posts, reviews and links to artist sites. All recordings are posted with artist permission or artists with an existing pro-taping policy.

All recordings and original content posted on this site are as live recordings pursuant to 17 U.S.C. Section 106, et. seq. Redistribution of nyctaper recordings without consent of is strictly prohibited. hereby waives all copyright claims to any and all recordings posted on this site to THE PERFORMERS ONLY. If any artist posted on this site requests that recordings be removed, those recordings will be removed forthwith.