Built To Spill: November 7, 2013 Irving Plaza – Flac/MP3/Streaming

November 10, 2013

[photo courtesy of Consequence of Sound]

There was a time earlier in this decade when Built To Spill made regular and frequent visits to NYC — from 2008-10, we recorded them ten times. But BTS has not appeared in New York in three full years, and they were clearly missed. The crowd at Irving Plaza on Thursday night was animated and thoroughly packed into the venue. This might be the most crowded I’ve ever seen Irving, and I’ve been seeing shows there for 29 years. Built To Spill began the set in earnest with a ferocious ten-minute version of “Goin Against Your Mind”, and the energy never really let up. The band played a nice selection of material old and newer, and even included a brand new song “Living Zoo”, and the crowd was there with them throughout the lengthy set. Usually at a show this crowded, people tire of the sardine-like conditions and go to the back, but that never happened on this night. The place never thinned out, and when the encore segment began the audience was awarded for their effort. BTS has been played a series of interesting covers throughout the tour, including the Velvets “Sister Ray”. And although we curiously didn’t get the Lou Reed tribute in NYC, we did get a spot-on cover the Smiths classic “How Soon is Now”, which we’re streaming below. When the band left the stage, Doug Martsch said “see you next year, we hope”, so I expect it won’t be another three years before Built To Spill visit NYC. Meanwhile, BTS will be on tour for much of the next couple of months, dates [here].

I recorded this set with the Sennheiser Cards mounted at 12 feet from the middle of the floor. The sound quality reflects the sound in the venue that night, including a very noisy crowd. With that caveat, enjoy!

Stream “How Soon Is Now” (Smiths cover):

Download the Complete Show [MP3] / [FLAC]

Note: All of the material on this site is offered with artist permission, free to fans, at our expense. The only thing we ask is that you download the material directly from this site, rather than re-posting the direct links or the files on other sites without our permission. Please respect our request.

Built To Spill
Irving Plaza
New York NY

Digital Master Audience Recording

Sennheiser MKH-8040s > Edirol R-44 (Oade Concert Mod) > 24bit 48kHz wav file > Soundforge (level adjustments, mixdown, set fades) > CDWave 1.95 (tracking) > TLH > flac (320 MP3 and tagging via Foobar)

Recorded and Produced
by nyctaper

[Total Time 1:47:37]
01 Goin’ Against Your Mind
02 [tech – tighten the drums]
03 In The Morning
04 Center of the Universe
05 Get a Life
06 Planting Seeds
07 Reasons
08 Strange
09 Living Zoo
10 I Would Hurt a Fly
11 Else
12 [banter]
13 Abba Zaba [Beefheart]
14 Velvet Waltz
15 Fly Around My Pretty Little Miss
16 Carry the Zero
17 [encore break]
18 Don’t Fear The Reaper [Blue Oyster Cult]
19 How Soon Is Now [Smiths]
20 [thanks]
21 Car

If you email nyctaper for access to this recording, we expect that you will PLEASE SUPPORT Built To Spill, visit their website, and purchase their official releases from the Official Store at their website [HERE].

Tags: , , , , , ,

2 Responses to Built To Spill: November 7, 2013 Irving Plaza – Flac/MP3/Streaming

  1. Brian
    November 11, 2013 at 3:54 pm

    So happy that this recording exists. Nice chatting with you before the show.

  2. J J J
    December 3, 2013 at 2:58 am

    thank you so much for this show. excellent quality quite amazing really. sounds great very loud.

    keep rockin

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Support nyctaper


nyctaper.com is a live music blog that offers a new paradigm of music distribution on the web. The recordings are offered for free on this site as are the music posts, reviews and links to artist sites. All recordings are posted with artist permission or artists with an existing pro-taping policy.

All recordings and original content posted on this site are @nyctaper.com as live recordings pursuant to 17 U.S.C. Section 106, et. seq. Redistribution of nyctaper recordings without consent of nyctaper.com is strictly prohibited.

nyctaper.com hereby waives all copyright claims to any and all recordings posted on this site to THE PERFORMERS ONLY. If any artist posted on this site requests that recordings be removed, those recordings will be removed forthwith.