The Fleshtones: February 27, 2014 The Grand Victory – Flac/MP3/Streaming

March 9, 2014

Fleshtones Jaime Oriz
(photo by Jaime Oriz)

The last time I saw the Fleshtones was in the late 90s at the dear departed Brownies on Avenue A. At that point, I had seen the band more than a dozen times including a handful of times at Brownies itself. On this particular night though, the Fleshtones ended their memorable show in a unique fashion. As the last song came to a close the band unplugged their instruments, continued to play and walked through the crowd to the front of the venue and out the door to Avenue A. In front of Brownies waiting for the band was a flatbed truck onto which the band climbed and while they continued to play the truck moved south down the avenue and out of sight.

The Fleshtones live have always been a fun and imaginative band that not only celebrates the music but breaks down the fourth wall and involves the crowd in their show. All these years later, the band is still playing, recording and spreading their own version of garage rock around the world. A search for recent Fleshtones videos on youtube finds a bunch of stuff from Spain, Italy and Australia — the band remains big overseas if not remaining underground in the US. The Fleshtones are currently on tour in support of their new album Wheel Of Talent (Yep Roc) and we caught the opening night and CD release show at The Grand Victory. I entered the venue with a bit of trepidation that perhaps the Fleshtones were not quite as animated or energetic as I remember from the old days. But within seconds of the beginning of their set as Peter Zaremba walked the length of the bar, it became obvious that while the band is a little greyer and maybe a step slower, the Fleshtones still deliver the goods live. The set contained a healthy dose of Wheel material, but also welcome were some old nuggets including “Theme from The Vindicators (1980), and “The Way I Feel” from their first album Blast Off! (1978). The latter brought a dedication to the album’s producer Marty Thau who passed away a few weeks ago. But this was a night for celebration of the new album as Zaremba led intermittent human spinning wheels of talent to point to the next singer in the set. The result was a lengthy set (27 songs!) that was deserving of the Fleshtones of any era. The band may not have been escorted from the venue in a flatbed truck, but the infectious energy and enthusiasm is still very much present for the live Fleshtones.

I recorded this set by mounting the Sennheiser cards on the video projection shelf about 15 feet from the stage and mixed with a fine board feed. The room was instrument-heavy and the board is vocal heavy, but mixed together the results are superb. Enjoy!

Stream “I Was A Teenage Zombie”:

Download the Complete Show [MP3] / [FLAC]

Note: All of the material on this site is offered with artist permission, free to fans, at our expense. The only thing we ask is that you download the material directly from this site, rather than re-posting the direct links or the files on other sites without our permission. Please respect our request.

The Grand Victory
Brooklyn, NY USA

Digital Master Recording
Soundboard + Audience Matrix

Soundboard + Sennheiser MKH-8040s > Edirol R-44 (Oade Concert Mod) > 24bit 48kHz wav file > Soundforge (level adjustments, set fades, downsample) > CDWave 1.95 > (tracking) > TLH > flac (320 MP3 and Tagging via Foobar)

Recorded and Produced
by nyctaper

[Total Time 1:17:40]
01 [intro]
02 Hitsburg USA
03 What You’re Talking About
04 Feels Good To Feel
05 Let’s Go
06 Haunted Hipster
07 Dance With the Ghoulman
08 High Into the Sky
09 Theme from the Vindicators
10 Laugh It Off
11 You Give Me Nothing To Go On
12 Pretty Pretty Pretty
13 Destination Greenpoint USA
14 Llevo Un Tigre En Mi Guitar
15 Way Down South
16 Alright [Coastliners]
17 Day Tripper [Beatles]
18 Remember The Ramones
19 I Was a Teenage Zombie
20 You’re Tearing Me Apart
21 Its My Pride [The Guess Who]
22 My Kinda Lovin
23 I’m Alive
24 You Ain’t Never
25 The Way I Feel
26 [encore break]
27 Veo La Luz
28 It Is As It Was
29 Back Beat No. 1

If you download this recording from NYCTaper, we expect that you will PLEASE SUPPORT The Fleshtones, follow them on Facebook, and purchase Wheel Of Talent from Yep Roc Records [HERE].

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

8 Responses to The Fleshtones: February 27, 2014 The Grand Victory – Flac/MP3/Streaming

  1. Frederick Wrigley
    March 10, 2014 at 10:38 am

    OMG, prime live Fleshtones for free! Wheel Of Talent is on its way to my abode!

  2. Alexi
    March 11, 2014 at 2:05 pm

    Wow, nice surprise!!
    How comes I’ve never seen The Fleshtones on stage? Shame on me, and a reason for them to visit Europe once again! Give me another chance!!!

  3. March 11, 2014 at 7:34 pm

    Thank you so much for taping this!!! And Thank You, Fleshtones!!!! Thank you for reminding us all why we are alive!

  4. Madmat
    March 13, 2014 at 1:46 pm

    Thanks for taping and sharing!

  5. Mark Ehmcke
    April 12, 2014 at 1:17 pm

    Thanks, this is a great recording. Very representative of their current shows. Saw them last night here in Toronto, non-stop energy. How do they do it?

  6. Mark Ehmcke
    April 18, 2014 at 2:11 pm

    Please flag track 20 (Tearing Me Apart)as a cover by the band Teenage Head, famous 70’s/80’s Canadian punk band from Hamilton, ON. Hence the shout-out intro, and Canadian Ken Fox singing.

  7. Emmanuel Mathieux
    September 12, 2016 at 10:59 am

    Thanks for this Download ! Got all their albums, just picked up The Band drinks for free ; Live at the Hurrah Club and Sweat from Joe Bonomo by Amazon France a weel ago ! Great stuff and a great way to improve my english !

  8. Generoso Louro
    March 31, 2018 at 3:37 am

    I didn’t make this show so you have my most immense gratitude. All of their shows merit preservation. They single handily continue to evoke the best spirit of true rock and roll in my humble opinion. I caught them at Bowery Electric last night (2018-03-29)and i can testify that their light still burns brightly. Let me know if you’d like a copy. Kudos – vagrant99

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Support nyctaper

DISCLAIMER and LEGAL NOTICE is a live music blog that offers a new paradigm of music distribution on the web. The recordings are offered for free on this site as are the music posts, reviews and links to artist sites. All recordings are posted with artist permission or artists with an existing pro-taping policy.

All recordings and original content posted on this site are as live recordings pursuant to 17 U.S.C. Section 106, et. seq. Redistribution of nyctaper recordings without consent of is strictly prohibited. hereby waives all copyright claims to any and all recordings posted on this site to THE PERFORMERS ONLY. If any artist posted on this site requests that recordings be removed, those recordings will be removed forthwith.