Gov’t Mule: June 7, 2014 Mountain Jam (Hunter, NY)

June 13, 2014

[photo from this post at]

Guitarist Warren Haynes is a busy man, playing in multiple iterations of Grateful Dead-related bands (including the recent Phil Lesh and Friends that we documented), The Allman Brothers, and of course, Gov’t Mule. On top of all that, Warren continues to play an integral role in the Mountain Jam festival that he founded, where Mule can be counted on for a spectacle of a Saturday set. This year’s version was three and half hours of guitar pyrotechnics and a host of especially inspired covers. Along with an encore of three consecutive Doors songs, we got to see Mule’s version of the song that made Radiohead famous, “Creep”. Even if Haynes’ vocals and persona don’t convey the sense of self-loathing and alienation that Thom Yorke does so effortlessly, Mule’s version was nonetheless a notable one. The set also echoed recent Mule Mountain Jam successes, with a fiery rendition of “Brighter Days”, which kicked off Mountain Jam VIII (that set here), and last year’s set opener, “Broke Down On the Brazos” (that set here). As is also a Mule tradition, the band was joined by a slew of special guests, including Derek Trucks and Susan Tedeschi, who played their own set just before this one, along with Jackie Greene and Soulive’s Eric Krasno. No Mountain Jam is complete without the Mule, and this one was yet another winner.

I recorded this set with MBHO microphones and an extra-warm Aerco custom preamp. The sound quality is excellent. Enjoy!

Download the complete show: [MP3] | [MP3] (permanent link – use if first one is not working) | [FLAC]

Stream “Creep” [Radiohead]

Stream “Brighter Days”

Note: All of the material on this site is offered with artist permission, free to fans, at our expense. The only thing we ask is that you download the material directly from this site, rather than re-posting the direct download links or the files on other sites without our permission. Feel free to re-post the Soundcloud links. Please respect our request.

Gov’t Mule
Mountain Jam X (West Stage)
Hunter, NY USA

Hosted at
Recorded and produced by acidjack

MBHO KA200N/MBP603>Aerco MP-2>Sony PCM-M10>24bit/44.1kHz WAV>Izotope Ozone 5 (EQ, effects, M/S compression)>Adobe Audition CS 5.5 (adjust levels, multiband compression, fades)>Audacity 2.0.3 (track, amplify, balance, dither)>FLAC ( level 8 )

Tracks [Total Time: 3:29:11]
Set One
01 World Boss>
02 Steppin’ Lightly
03 Inside Outside Woman Blues #3
04 Trane
05 Eternity’s Breath
06 St. Stephen (instrumental) [Mahavishnu Orchestra]
07 Beautifully Broken>
08 Breakdown> [Tom Petty]
09 Beautifully Broken
10 Whisper In Your Soul
11 Banks of the Deep End
12 Stratus [Billy Cobham] *
13 Game Face
14 Stoop So Low
15 Since I’ve Been Loving You [Led Zeppelin]

Set Two
01 Mule
02 Tell Me Something Good # [Rufus & Chaka Khan]
03 Funny Little Tragedy
04 Which Way Do We Run
05 Brighter Days
06 Soulshine
07 Creep [Radiohead]
08 Sugaree [Jerry Garcia] %
09 Sometimes Salvation [Black Crowes] %
10 Broke Down on the Brazos>
11 Tributary Jam
12 [encore break]
13 People Are Strange [The Doors]
14 Five To One [The Doors]
15 Break On Through (To the Other Side) [The Doors]

* with Derek Trucks
# with Eric Krasno, Susan Tedeschi, and Kofi Burbridge
% with Jackie Greene

If you enjoyed this recording, PLEASE SUPPORT Gov’t Mule, visit their website, and purchase their official releases from the Mule Store [HERE].


Tags: , , ,

3 Responses to Gov’t Mule: June 7, 2014 Mountain Jam (Hunter, NY)

  1. Bob Baker
    June 25, 2014 at 1:41 am

    Just found your site. Really excited about being able to check out the live music from this year’s Hunter Mtn. shows. Thanks for all you do, and a special thank you to the bands for allowing their music to be posted here.

  2. Bob Baker
    June 27, 2014 at 9:15 pm

    Have listened to most of the first set – some really, really tasty stuff! So happy to be enjoying live mule while working from home. Hoping you guys will come down to Florida again, been too long.

  3. zowie
    October 31, 2015 at 12:51 pm

    thank you

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Support nyctaper

DISCLAIMER and LEGAL NOTICE is a live music blog that offers a new paradigm of music distribution on the web. The recordings are offered for free on this site as are the music posts, reviews and links to artist sites. All recordings are posted with artist permission or artists with an existing pro-taping policy.

All recordings and original content posted on this site are as live recordings pursuant to 17 U.S.C. Section 106, et. seq. Redistribution of nyctaper recordings without consent of is strictly prohibited. hereby waives all copyright claims to any and all recordings posted on this site to THE PERFORMERS ONLY. If any artist posted on this site requests that recordings be removed, those recordings will be removed forthwith.