Govt Mule: June 8, 2013 Mountain Jam – Flac/MP3/Streaming

June 15, 2013

Govt Mule Perrucci
[photo courtesy of Dino Perrucci Photography]

As one of the organizers of Mountain Jam, Warren Haynes sure knows how to throw a party. This year was the ninth annual festival on Hunter Mountain and it was also the first time that the nyctaper crew attended the entire event, after a one-day flirtation last year. While Warren performed on various stages with a whole bunch of bands, much of which we recorded, the Saturday night performance of his main band Govt Mule is always the centerpiece of the Jam. This year the band performed two sets over a four hour period. The first set was primarily original Mule material, although one of the set one highlights was the jam in the middle of a twelve-minute “Effigy” that made a quick run through Johnny Cash’s “Folson Prison Blues”. But it was the second set where the band really shined, particularly in some stunning covers. We are streaming the Etta James classic “I’d Rather Go Blind”, which featured a stage-full of guests, including the Soulive horns, Bill Evans on sax, and guest vocals from Alecia Chakour. This song was the number one highlight of the entire festival for me personally during three days of music where there were countless highlights. Govt Mule will be on the Festival circuit for the entire summer starting in Europe before returning to the US in July.

The taping situation at Mountain Jam is certainly friendly. While the stages are at the bottom of the hill directly in front of the ski resort buildings, the tapers are in an advantageous position farther up the hill eye-level with the huge stacks. We utilized the Neumann TLM-102 cardioids for the entire festival because they are warm and full bodied in an outdoor setting. The Mule set was mixed particularly well, and the combination of the location, the mics and the house mix has yielded a simply superb recording — perhaps my best outdoor recording ever. Enjoy!

Stream “I’d Rather Go Blind” (Etta James cover):

Download the Complete show [MP3] / [FLAC]

Note: All of the material on this site is offered with artist permission, free to fans, at our expense. The only thing we ask is that you download the material directly from this site, rather than re-posting the direct links or the files on other sites without our permission. Please respect our request.

Govt Mule
Mountain Jam
Hunter Mountain NY

Digital Master Audience Recording

Neumann TLM-102s > Edirol R-44 (Oade Concert Mod) > 24bit 48kHz wav file > Soundforge (level adjustments, EQ, set fades) > CDWave 1.95 (tracking) > TLH > flac (320 MP3 and tagging via Foobar)

Recorded and Produced
by nyctaper 2013-06-13

[Total Time 3:15:02]
Set One
01 Broke Down On The Brazos
02 Slackjaw Jezebel
03 Rocking Horse
04 Temporary Saint
05 Painted Silver Light
06 Opium
07 Time To Confess
08 Effigy
09 Hope She’ll Be Happier
10 Funny Little Tragedy
Set Two
11 There’s No Way Out Of Here
12 I’d Rather Go Blind
13 [band introductions]
14 Scared To Live
15 Streamline Woman
16 How Many More Years
17 Drums
18 Captured
19 1983 (A Merman I Should Turn To Be)
20 No Quarter
21 1983 Reprise
22 [encore break]
23 Get Behind The Mule

If you download this recording from NYCTaper, we expect that you will PLEASE SUPPORT Govt Mule, visit their website, and purchase their official releases from the Mule Store [HERE].

Tags: , , , , ,

2 Responses to Govt Mule: June 8, 2013 Mountain Jam – Flac/MP3/Streaming

  1. zowie
    June 15, 2014 at 12:24 pm

    thank you!

  2. Phil
    July 9, 2015 at 8:02 am

    I love Mule! I have seen them play several times. Love the music, they always play a great show.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


DISCLAIMER and LEGAL NOTICE is a live music blog that offers a new paradigm of music distribution on the web. The recordings are offered for free on this site as are the music posts, reviews and links to artist sites. All recordings are posted with artist permission or artists with an existing pro-taping policy.

All recordings and original content posted on this site are as live recordings pursuant to 17 U.S.C. Section 106, et. seq. Redistribution of nyctaper recordings without consent of is strictly prohibited. hereby waives all copyright claims to any and all recordings posted on this site to THE PERFORMERS ONLY. If any artist posted on this site requests that recordings be removed, those recordings will be removed forthwith.