Glenn Tilbrook: September 25, 2014 City Winery – Flac/MP3/Streaming

September 30, 2014

GlennTilbrook City Winery
[screen cap from this video]

As one-half of one of the best songwriting duos of the latter half of the twentieth century, Glenn Tilbrook could easily coast on his merits into a comfortable retirement. But Tilbrook last year released one of his strongest records in decades Happy Ending that could rival the finest output of the Squeeze oeuvre and he is currently on tour in the US through the entire month of October. We were fortunate to catch one of the two shows he played at City Winery last week. Glenn was in great form from the start, engaging the crowd with his very Brit sense of humor and meticulous guitar work. We were most delighted to hear that Glenn’s sweet tenor is as strong and clear as it was the first time we Squeeze back in 1981 (Pier 84), the Mercury Lounge in 1996 and through the time when they appeared at the Nokia Theatre in 2007. On this night, he played two sets and nearly two hours of music featuring the strong new songs (“Everybody Sometimes”), material from his Fluffers period and of course a very healthy dose of Squeeze classics. City Winery is blessed with an excellent sound system and good views (along with some amazing wine) and this night really could not have been more enjoyable. In November, he will tour with his writing partner Chris Difford in the UK, and it was announced at this show that the duo will come to the US in May of 2015. We very much expect to be there then.

I recorded this set with the Schoeps cards mounted directly behind the soundboard and blended with an extremely tastily mixed soundboard feed provided by house FOH Jack O’Hara. The sound quality is quite superb. Enjoy!

Stream “Labeled With Love”:

Download the Complete Show [MP3] / [FLAC]

Note: All of the material on this site is offered with artist permission, free to fans, at our expense. The only thing we ask is that you download the material directly from this site, rather than re-posting the direct links or the files on other sites without our permission. Please respect our request.

Glenn Tilbrook
City Winery
New York NY

Digital Master Recording
Soundboard + Audience Matrix

Soundboard [Engineer: Jack O’Hara] + Schoeps CCM4u Cardioids > Edirol R-44 (Oade Concert Mod) > 2 x 24bit 48kHz wav files > Soundforge (level adjustments, mixdown, EQ, set fades) > CDWave 1.95 (tracking) > TLH > flac (320 MP3 and tagging via Foobar)

Recorded and Produced by nyctaper

set 1
[Total Time 49:52]
01 Do We Roll
02 Ray
03 [banter – scruffy]
04 Take Me I’m Yours
05 Ice Cream
06 Elephant Ride
07 Untouchable
08 Annie Get Your Gun
09 [banter – Dennis intro]
10 Dennis
11 Black Sheep
12 Some Fantastic Place
13 Letting Go
14 Labeled With Love
15 Chat Line Larry

Set 2
[Total Time 54:08]
16 Is that Love
17 If I Didn’t Love You
18 Everybody Sometimes
19 Persephone
20 Black Coffee In Bed
21 By The Light Of The Cash Machine
22 Still
23 Pleasant Valley Sunday [Monkees]
24 Slap and Tickle
25 Pulling Mussels From the Shell
26 Another Nail in My Heart
27 [encore break]
28 Tempted
29 Cold Shoulder
30 Goodbye Girl

If you download this recording, we expect that you will PLEASE SUPPORT Glenn Tilbrook, visit his website, and purchase Happy Ending from the links at his website [HERE].

Tags: , , , , , , ,

4 Responses to Glenn Tilbrook: September 25, 2014 City Winery – Flac/MP3/Streaming

  1. Keith
    September 30, 2014 at 7:59 am

    Most excellent. Thanks for taping and sharing.

  2. Adrian
    October 7, 2014 at 5:02 pm

    Thanks for your efforts in getting this amazing show up so quickly. Still waiting for him/them/the rest of the band to come north of the border (last time was in 2010).

    If he/they/the band play here, I might try to do a similar capture as well.

  3. E. Duffy
    November 1, 2014 at 3:13 pm

    Thanks so very much for making this available. And of course huge thanks to Glenn Tilbrook for creating such beautiful music. We were lucky to see him perform solo in San Francisco a few weeks after you saw him in NY. We already have the wonderful new album, Happy Ending. I highly recommend it!

  4. Los Jardines
    October 19, 2015 at 9:29 pm

    Ojalá algún día lo tengamos por lima perú.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Support nyctaper

DISCLAIMER and LEGAL NOTICE is a live music blog that offers a new paradigm of music distribution on the web. The recordings are offered for free on this site as are the music posts, reviews and links to artist sites. All recordings are posted with artist permission or artists with an existing pro-taping policy.

All recordings and original content posted on this site are as live recordings pursuant to 17 U.S.C. Section 106, et. seq. Redistribution of nyctaper recordings without consent of is strictly prohibited. hereby waives all copyright claims to any and all recordings posted on this site to THE PERFORMERS ONLY. If any artist posted on this site requests that recordings be removed, those recordings will be removed forthwith.