Mikaela Davis: February 1, 2023 Tubby’s (Kingston, NY)

February 10, 2023
Mikaela Davis 2023-02-01 Tubby’s

The final night of Mikaela Davis’s residency took place during one of Tubby’s semi regular Dead nights. These events started simply; just a dude with a couple decks playing some Dead tapes. They have since evolved into not to be missed parties complete with all the things you would expect at this type of event. There were tapes. There was a “lot” scene. There was spinning. There was Drums > Space. 

The first set of originals was comprised of mostly older songs not often played including “Do You Wanna Be Mine” from 2018’s “Delivery”. The set also features a brand-new tune, “Left Hand Path,” about a D&D Vampirate. Let’s get weird. 

The Dead set opened strong with a super upbeat version of the Garcia classic “Cats Under the Stars” and jumped straight into “Shakedown Street” which had the spinners spinning. On more than one occasion I felt a dreadlock swing against my arm in wild, envelope filter induced ecstasy. The meat of this set was the transition out of “Crazy Fingers” into “Drums” that contained the most exciting and free playing of the evening. 

Mikaela and the band have decided to bring this tour on the road for a, mostly, East Coast run beginning in March, and I highly suggest you hit a show. This was some of the best Dead adjacent music I’ve heard post Jerry. This is much more than another Dead cover band. They have brought authenticity, innovation, and fresh air to a vital part of the American songbook. 

I recorded this from my usual spot by the soundboard with MBHO’s and board feed from Tubby’s FOH engineer Sam. Enjoy! 

Download and stream from the Live Music Archive!

Mikaela Davis
Kingston, NY

Source: MBHO440 + SDB > MixPre 3 > SD (24/48) > Adobe Audition/Izotope 9 > Audacity Flac (lvl8) > Mp3Tag

Thanks to Tubby’s FOH engineer Sam for the patch.

This was night 3 of her 3 show residency at Tubby’s. Each night was a set of originals and a set of Dead music. Tonights Dead set featured songs from 1973-1989

Set 1:

  1. Little Bird
  2. Get Gone
  3. Do You Wanna Be Mine
  4. Left Hand Path
  5. Don’t Stop Now
  6. All I Do Is Disappear
  7. Southern Star


  1. Cats Under The Stars
  2. Shakedown Street
  3. Althea
  4. Crazy Fingers>
  5. Drums>
  6. Space>
  7. Scarlet Begonias>
  8. Fire On The Mountain
  9. Touch Of Grey

Please Support this excellent artist:

Please support the venues bringing you interesting music:

Tags: , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *



nyctaper.com is a live music blog that offers a new paradigm of music distribution on the web. The recordings are offered for free on this site as are the music posts, reviews and links to artist sites. All recordings are posted with artist permission or artists with an existing pro-taping policy.

All recordings and original content posted on this site are @nyctaper.com as live recordings pursuant to 17 U.S.C. Section 106, et. seq. Redistribution of nyctaper recordings without consent of nyctaper.com is strictly prohibited.

nyctaper.com hereby waives all copyright claims to any and all recordings posted on this site to THE PERFORMERS ONLY. If any artist posted on this site requests that recordings be removed, those recordings will be removed forthwith.