Posts Tagged ‘ Bill Million ’

Yo La Tengo: December 10, 2012 Maxwell’s (Hanukkah Night 3) – Flac/MP3/Streaming

December 13, 2012

YLT Night 3
[screenshot from this video]

While Hanukkah at Maxwell’s is a long-time Yo La Tengo tradition, another of the band’s regular gigs is the WFMU Marathon where YLT plays requests which are invariably eclectic covers. While Night 3 of this year’s Hanukkah was a tremendous show for a variety of reasons, it was one cover that stole the show. This night will forever be known as the “Sister Ray” show. I asked YLT’s long-time superb FOH Mark if he’d ever seen them play the song — they have done a ton of VU covers over the years — and he only remembered one other performance of “Sister Ray”. Perhaps fueled by the guest performances of various members of the Feelies, the band’s set was a scortcher from the get-go. On any other night, the band’s new cover of Neil Young’s “Time Fades Away” would have been the story, it was the night’s last song where the magic reached its peak. This wasn’t a simple walk through one of the Velvet Underground’s most compelling songs, it was a full-on seventeen-minute immersion into the song. Glenn Mercer and Bill Million joined and the noisy axe trio with Ira was a breathtaking display of authentic garage style guitar.

I recorded this show in the same manner at the other nights and the sound is superb. Enjoy!

Stream “Sister Ray”:

Download the Complete show [MP3] / [FLAC]

Note: All of the material on this site is offered with artist permission, free to fans, at our expense. The only thing we ask is that you download the material directly from this site, rather than re-posting the direct links or the files on other sites without our permission. Please respect our request.

Yo La Tengo
Hanukkah Night 3
Hoboken, NJ USA

Digital Master Recording
Soundboard + Audience Matrix

Soundboard + Sennheiser MKH 8040s > Edirol R-44 (Oade Concert Mod) > 2 x 24bit 48kHz wav files > Soundforge (level adjustments, set fades, downsample) > CDWave 1.95 (tracking) > TLH > flac (320 MP3 and Tagging via Foobar)

Recorded and Produced
by nyctaper

[Total Time 1:39:54]
01 Paul Is Dead
02 Time Fades Away [Neil Young]
03 Barnaby Hardly Working
04 Tears Are In Your Eyes
05 Something To Do
06 [banter – thanks to Feelies]
07 The Point of It
08 [banter – tuning]
09 Tom Courtenay
10 Tired Hippo
11 The Room Got Heavy
12 False Alarm
13 The Story of Jazz
14 Double Dare
15 Little Honda
16 [encore break]
17 You Ain’t Goin’ Nowhere [Dylan]
18 [banter – thanks]
19 Sister Ray [VU]

(Thanks Jesse for the setlist)

If you download this recording from NYCTaper, we expect that you will PLEASE SUPPORT Yo La Tengo, visit their website, and pre-order the new album Fade from Matador Records [HERE].

Support nyctaper

DISCLAIMER and LEGAL NOTICE is a live music blog that offers a new paradigm of music distribution on the web. The recordings are offered for free on this site as are the music posts, reviews and links to artist sites. All recordings are posted with artist permission or artists with an existing pro-taping policy.

All recordings and original content posted on this site are as live recordings pursuant to 17 U.S.C. Section 106, et. seq. Redistribution of nyctaper recordings without consent of is strictly prohibited. hereby waives all copyright claims to any and all recordings posted on this site to THE PERFORMERS ONLY. If any artist posted on this site requests that recordings be removed, those recordings will be removed forthwith.