Posts Tagged ‘ hiandlo ’

Wilco: July 25, 2012 Terminal 5 – Flac and MP3 Downloads + Streaming Songs

July 27, 2012

[photos by JC McIlwaine]

A few hours after this post appears on the site, the entire NYCTaper crew will drive four hours up to Cooperstown to see Wilco again at the Ommegang Brewery. The reason why we will travel so far is essentially encapsulated in this recording. On Wednesday, we all saw Wilco at Terminal 5, and the band once again reminded us about why we’ll make sacrifices as fans to see them live. The meme of all the Wilco reviews on nyctaper (and there are a lot) is that this band is extremely good to its fans. The long sets, interesting song selections, lengthy encores and full dedication to the performance positions Wilco as the preeminent live band around today, and for the better part of the last two decades. On Wednesday, we were treated to a “deep cut” setlist where songs were performed that we haven’t seen very often or at all since the 1990s. “What’s The World Got in Store” is probably the rarest of the tracks — a song from the first record of the two-lp 1996 album Being There. We are streaming it below, along with “Passenger Side”, another early era nugget that has seen infrequent plays in recent years. The final treat was a heartfelt final encore (the 9th encore song) of “The Lonely 1”, another Being There song and one that I’m not sure that I’ve ever actually seen live. Its these kinds of treats that keep us coming back. I’m sure Cooperstown will yield the same kind of satisfaction.

I recorded this set along side the rest of the crew. For this recording, I’m using the Neumann and Sennheiser 4-mic rig and relying heavily on the hypercard Neumanns. I’ve also patched acidjack’s Schoeps recording for the first track since I experienced some technical issues during the first song. Overall it an excellent capture. Enjoy!

Stream “What’s The World Got In Store:”

Audio clip: Adobe Flash Player (version 9 or above) is required to play this audio clip. Download the latest version here. You also need to have JavaScript enabled in your browser.

Stream “Passenger Side”:

Audio clip: Adobe Flash Player (version 9 or above) is required to play this audio clip. Download the latest version here. You also need to have JavaScript enabled in your browser.

Direct download of complete show in MP3 files (HERE)

Download the Complete show in FLAC [HERE]

Note: All of the material on this site is offered with artist permission, free to fans, at our expense. The only thing we ask is that you download the material directly from this site, rather than re-posting the direct links or the files on other sites without our permission. Please respect our request.

Terminal 5
New York, NY USA

Digital Master
Front of Board Four-Track Audience Recording

Sennheiser MKH-8040 Cardioids + Neumann KM-150s > Edirol R-44 (Oade Concert Mod) > 2x 24bit 48kHz wav files > Soundforge (level adjustments, mixdown, set fades) > CDWave 1.95 (tracking) > TLH > flac (320 MP3 and tagging via Foobar)

Recorded and Produced
by nyctaper, acidjack, hiandlo and johnnyfriedchickenboy

[Total Time 2:14:29]
01 One Sunday Morning
02 Art Of Almost
03 I Might
04 At Least That’s What You Said
05 She’s A Jar
06 Kamera
07 Can’t Stand It
08 Too Far Apart
09 What’s The World Got In Store
10 Impossible Germany
11 Born Alone
12 Capitol City
13 Laminated Cat
14 Summer Teeth
15 Whole Love
16 Theologians
17 I’m The Man Who Loves You
18 Dawned On Me
19 A Shot in the Arm
20 [encore break]
21 Passenger Side
22 Casino Queen
23 Candyfloss
24 Hesitating Beauty
25 A Magazine Called Sunset
26 Kicking Television
27 [second encore break]
28 The Late Greats
29 Dreamer In My Dreams
30 The Lonely 1

If you email nyctaper for access to this recording, we expect that you will PLEASE SUPPORT Wilco, visit their website, and purchase their official releases directly from their website [HERE].

Support nyctaper

DISCLAIMER and LEGAL NOTICE is a live music blog that offers a new paradigm of music distribution on the web. The recordings are offered for free on this site as are the music posts, reviews and links to artist sites. All recordings are posted with artist permission or artists with an existing pro-taping policy.

All recordings and original content posted on this site are as live recordings pursuant to 17 U.S.C. Section 106, et. seq. Redistribution of nyctaper recordings without consent of is strictly prohibited. hereby waives all copyright claims to any and all recordings posted on this site to THE PERFORMERS ONLY. If any artist posted on this site requests that recordings be removed, those recordings will be removed forthwith.