Posts Tagged ‘ In The Red Records ’

Tyvek: April 11, 2015 Silent Barn – FLAC/MP3/Streaming

April 24, 2015


Though entirely reductive, it’s tempting to read into Tyvek’s music the state of post-crash Detroit—to hear in the songs’ disintegrating fidelity that city’s crumbling infrastructure. But if Tyvek aims to critique Detroit, they also look to celebrate it. There’s a lot of hope and optimism in their music and that’s what was most apparent when Tyvek stopped by Silent Barn on their short April tour. The band played to the diehards upfront who sang along to every lyric and reacted to every song as if Tyvek main-man Kevin Boyer was speaking some spiritual truth, every lyric an indispensable wisdom. Whether it’s navigating the city’s geography (new song “Gridlock”), playing shows and crashing in basements (“Midwest Basements”), or feeling awkward at parties (“Scaling”), in each song there’s a resonant experience for a mid-twentysomething or mid-thirtysomething.

The front half of this set is devoted to songs off Tyvek’s upcoming record, while the back half delivers on the hits. New songs include “Gridlock,” “A Form Outside,” “The Origin of What,” “Tip to Tail,” and “Count It Off,” some of which will appear on the next Tyvek album. The rest of the set is devoted to all—okay, many—of the songs on any Tyvek fan’s wishlist: “Underwater,” “Midwest Basements,” “Scaling,” and crowd-favorites “Air Conditioner” and “Give It Up” from their earliest recordings.

Perhaps Tyvek’s best-known song, ”Frustration Rock” caps the set off and concludes with an extended outro of “Henry My Son,” a traditional English folk song which was later popularized by Pete Seeger on his Childrens Concert at Town Hall album. It’s a puzzling—yet somehow entirely appropriate—performance of the song. A childrens’ parodic corruption of a traditional (according to Seeger’s telling), it narrates a child’s accounting to his mother of his day spent in the woods eating eels. Ultimately I’m not sure if this choice of covers reveals anything about Tyvek’s music—but I’m also not convinced that it isn’t somehow to the key to it all.

I recorded this set with the AKG’s in front of the soundboard at about 11’ high along with a soundboard feed. The fidelity falls slightly this side of raw, but it matches Tyvek’s aesthetic nicely. Enjoy!

Download the complete show: [MP3] | [FLAC]

Stream the complete show:

Note: All of the material on this site is offered with artist permission, free to fans, at our expense. The only thing we ask is that you download the material directly from this site, rather than re-posting the direct links or the files on other sites without our permission. Please respect our request.

Silent Barn
Brooklyn, NY

Exclusive download hosted at
Recorded and produced by Eric PH

Soundboard (engineer: Yaman Palak) + AKG C480B/CK61 (FOB, LOC, PAS) > Roland R-26 > 2xWAV (24/48) > Adobe Audition CC (align, balance, mixdown) > Izotope Ozone 5 (EQ, compression, tape exciter) > Audacity 2.0.5 (amplify, fades, downsample, dither, tracking, tagging) > FLAC (16/44.1, level 8)

Tracks [45:17]
01. Gridlock
02. A Form Outside
03. The Origin of What
04. Underwater
05. Tip to Tail
06. Midwest Basements
07. Count It Off
08. Scaling
09. Air Conditioner
10. Give It Up
11. What Were They Thinking
12. Stop Start
13. Returns
14. Frustration Rock > Henry My Son [traditional]

Support Tyvek: FacebookBuy On Triple Beams and Nothing Fits from In the Red

Thee Oh Sees: September 24, 2012 Death By Audio – Flac/MP3/Streaming

October 16, 2012

[photo by Jeremy D. Larson – courtesy of Consequence of Sound]

As I wrote in the review of Ty Segall’s set, this show was one of the most fun nights of the year. DBA has always been a venue with a kinetic energy, but on a night when two bands who these days play much larger venues came in for a special secret show, the atmosphere was electric. Thee Oh Sees are a great live band — leader John Dwyer is indefatigable, and on this night the band played an extended set. From the very outset opening with “The Dream”, the band never really came up for air as they delivered garage-rock rave ups one after another. Seemingly at the end of their show, the crowd wouldn’t let them leave the stage and Thee Oh Sees played two more songs, including an extended jam on “Destroyed Fortress” that veered back into the melody of “Dead Energy” before closing at more than ten minutes. We don’t expect to see Thee Oh Sees at a venue the size of DBA again, but this show certainly left a lasting memory.

I recorded this show in the same manner as the Ty Segall set and the sound is excellent. Enjoy!

Stream “The Dream”:

Download the Complete Show in [MP3] / [FLAC]

Note: All of the material on this site is offered with artist permission, free to fans, at our expense. The only thing we ask is that you download the material directly from this site, rather than re-posting the direct links or the files on other sites without our permission. Please respect our request.

Thee Oh Sees
Death By Audio
Brooklyn, NY USA

Digital Master Recording
Soundboard + Audience Matrix

Soundboard + Berliner CM-33 > Edirol R-44 (Oade Concert Mod) > 2 x 24bit 48kHz wav files > Soundforge (level adjustments, mixdown, set fades) > CDWave 1.95 (tracking) > TLH > flac (320 MP3 and tagging via Foobar)

Recorded and Produced
by nyctaper 2012-10-11

[Total Time 1:13:56]
01 [introduction]
02 The Dream
03 Lupine Dominus
04 Carrion Crawler
05 I Was Denied
06 Robber Barons
07 Block of Ice
08 Contraption/Soul Desert
09 Enemy Destruct
10 Dead Energy
11 [new song]
12 [encore break]
13 Tidal Wave
14 Destroyed Fortress Reappears/Dead Energy Reprise

If you download this recording from NYCTaper, we expect that you will PLEASE SUPPORT Thee Oh Sees, visit their website, and purchase the latest album Putrifiers II from In The Red Records [HERE].

Support nyctaper

DISCLAIMER and LEGAL NOTICE is a live music blog that offers a new paradigm of music distribution on the web. The recordings are offered for free on this site as are the music posts, reviews and links to artist sites. All recordings are posted with artist permission or artists with an existing pro-taping policy.

All recordings and original content posted on this site are as live recordings pursuant to 17 U.S.C. Section 106, et. seq. Redistribution of nyctaper recordings without consent of is strictly prohibited. hereby waives all copyright claims to any and all recordings posted on this site to THE PERFORMERS ONLY. If any artist posted on this site requests that recordings be removed, those recordings will be removed forthwith.