Posts Tagged ‘ Jim Elkington ’

Joan Shelley: September 23, 2022 The Colony (Woodstock, NY)

September 28, 2022

Back in April 2020 when we didn’t know when or if we were going to see live music again, Joan Shelley released Live at the Bomhard, the hometown tour finale recorded live in 2019 with the Best Hands Band and a special appearance by Bonnie ‘Prince’ Billy. It was both a comfort to all of us stuck at home and a reminder of what we were missing out on.

I have to admit I was only mildly familiar with Joan Shelley before that Bandcamp Friday release, but felt compelled that day to support as many musicians as I could to make sure music would still be there when we returned to normalcy. The added draw of hearing new, live music meant Live at the Bomhard would be in constant rotation ever since. These songs all became familiar in their live and studio arrangements as I added her records to my collection.

This past June, Shelley released her latest album, The Spur, a collection of songs that sound like they are grappling with comfort and safety—songs like “Home,” “Forever Blues,” and “Fawn.” And here I’ve finally gotten to see Joan Shelley live in person. Live music did return after all, though it must be added not without its difficulties.

Whether you’ve heard these songs on Live at the Bomhard, or the studio versions on The Spur, Shelley’s set at The Colony in Woodstock added new textures and arrangements with her current touring band of Nathan Salsburg, Jim Elkington, and Nick Macri, all who played on The Spur and other Joan Shelley albums. Between songs Shelley and her band are affable and engaging with their story telling and the added context for these songs. On a cold night in Woodstock at the beginning of Fall, it sure felt warm inside.

Download FLAC and MP3

nyctaper · Joan Shelley – Live at The Colony 2022
Joan Shelley
The Colony
Woodstock, NY

Recorded and produced by Eric PH for

Soundboard + MBHO KA500/603A (DIN) > Naiant PFA >> Sound Devices MixPre-6 > WAV (24/48) > Adobe Audition CC + Izotope Ozone 5 > Audacity 3.0.2 > FLAC

Tracks [1:10:45]
01. Stay All Night
02. Forever Blues
03. [Fawn intro]
04. Fawn
05. If the Storms Never Come
06. [Fall in the mountains]
07. Home
08. [Favorite room in the world]
09. The Fading
10. [Storms]
11. Like the Thunder
12. Wild Indifference
13. [The Spur intro]
14. The Spur
15. Completely
16. Stay on My Shore
17. [The last show of all time]
18. Why Not Live Here
19. Coming Down For You
20. [The merch table]
21. When the Light is Dying
22. Not Over by Half

The band:
Joan Shelley
Nathan Salsburg
James Elkington
Nick Macri


DISCLAIMER and LEGAL NOTICE is a live music blog that offers a new paradigm of music distribution on the web. The recordings are offered for free on this site as are the music posts, reviews and links to artist sites. All recordings are posted with artist permission or artists with an existing pro-taping policy.

All recordings and original content posted on this site are as live recordings pursuant to 17 U.S.C. Section 106, et. seq. Redistribution of nyctaper recordings without consent of is strictly prohibited. hereby waives all copyright claims to any and all recordings posted on this site to THE PERFORMERS ONLY. If any artist posted on this site requests that recordings be removed, those recordings will be removed forthwith.