Posts Tagged ‘ Kathy Foster ’

Thermals: April 28, 2016 Market Hotel

May 4, 2016

The Thermals @ Market Hotel
[photos by Will Oliver from We All Want Someone blog]

“This is the best Brooklyn show we’ve ever had, for sure”. Hutch Harris made his love of this night clear before the band’s last song, the third of three encores “Pillar Of Salt”. In a way it wasn’t hard to predict that The Thermals at the Market Hotel would be a show for the ages — the two institutions have recently returned from a hiatus and are now better than ever. There are also historical parallels between the two — ToddP used to book earlier versions of the band in Portland in the last decade.

This was a show for the now, as The Thermals’ first new album in three years, We Disappear was released in the end of March and the band is on tour to support its release. But there was also an acknowledgment of history as the band is also celebrating the 10th anniversary of perhaps their most successful album, 2006’s The Body, the Blood, the Machine. As a result, the setlist was a curious alternating selection of songs from each album in sequence with a few other classics sprinkled in between. The show maintained a consistent energy level and the very sold-out crowd was with the band throughout — physically and support-wise. This was one of the most animated Market crowds thus far and the band acknowledged the crowd in tribute.

The Thermals tour continues across the US over the next 3 weeks, dates here.

I recorded this set with the installed Audio Technics cards mixed with an excellent board feed mixed by the band’s superb touring FOH. The results are raw but right. Enjoy!

Download the Complete Show [MP3] / [FLAC]

Stream the Complete Show:

Market Hotel
Brooklyn NY

Digital Master Recording
Soundboard + Upfront Audience

Soundboard + Audio Technica 4051 > Sound Devices 744t > 2 x 24bit 48kHz wav files > Soundforge (level adjustments, mixdown, set fades) > CDWave 1.95 (tracking) > TLH > flac (320 MP3 and tagging via Foobar)

Recorded and Produced
by nyctaper

[Total Time 1:17:17]
01 Into the Code
02 My Heart Went Cold
03 Here’s Your Future
04 I Might Need You to Kill
05 An Ear for Baby
06 [banter – blood splattered vinyl]
07 Hey You
08 If We Don’t Die Today
09 The Sunset
10 Born to Kill
11 [crowd]
12 The Great Dying
13 In Every Way
14 Test Pattern
15 St Rosa and the Swallows
16 Back to the Sea
17 Now We Can See
18 The Walls
19 Thinking of You
20 Always Never Be
21 Power Doesn’t Run on Nothing
22 I Hold the Sound
23 [encore break]
24 No Culture Icons
25 Returning to the Fold
26 A Pillar of Salt

Support The Thermals: Website | Purchase We Disappear | Tour Dates

The Thermals @ Market Hotel 3

Thermals: March 9, 2013 Maxwell’s – Flac/MP3/Streaming

March 10, 2013

Thermals Maxwells
[still from this video]

The Thermals signed to Saddle Creek Records in January and in April will release Desperate Ground, their first album in three years. This year also marks the 10th anniversary of the release of their outstanding debut album More Parts per Million. On their current tour, the Thermals are featuring hefty doses of each of the career bookend albums in the setlist. Last night at Maxwell’s, the band delivered an extremely energetic show to a raucous crowd. From the very first drum beat, the front half of the crowd were relentlessly dancing, moshing and reveling in the band’s high-speed performance. The Thermals played twenty-three songs in a little over an hour, almost without coming up for air. The band also showed their appreciation for the rabid fans in other ways. I saw bassist Kathy Foster in the hallway leading the venue taking much time before the show talking to the fans, signing albums, and generally just hanging. Throughout the set, Hutch Harris interacted with the crowd, played off-stage inside the audience, and did a few stage dives. And at the very end of the set, each band member hi-fived the entire front of the crowd and stuck around after the set to socialize. The Thermals are a band who seem to be having an absolute ball playing their music and the positivity is infectious. The band even took time to give a shoutout to the legendary John Agnello, who recorded their new album in New Jersey. The Thermals will play an afternoon set on Monday at the Ace Hotel in Manhattan before heading down to SXSW and then finishing up their tour on the West Coast, dates here.

I recorded this set with the new Neumann TLM 102 large diaphragm cardioids mounted inside the soundboard cage and mixed with a fine feed from veteran Maxwell’s FOH Carson Kopp. The sound quality is superb. Enjoy!

Stream “Returning to the Fold”:

Download the Complete show [MP3] / [FLAC]

Note: All of the material on this site is offered with artist permission, free to fans, at our expense. The only thing we ask is that you download the material directly from this site, rather than re-posting the direct links or the files on other sites without our permission. Please respect our request.

Hoboken NJ

Digital Master Recording
Soundboard + Audience Matrix

Soundboard + Neumann TLM-102s > Edirol R-44 (Oade Concert Mod) > 2 x 24bit 48kHz wav files > Soundforge (level adjustments, mixdown, set fades) > CDWave 1.95 (tracking) > TLH > flac (320 MP3 and tagging via Foobar)

Recorded and Produced
by nyctaper 2013-03-10

[Total Time 1:02:11]
01 Faces Stay With Me
02 Its Trivia
03 Brace and Break
04 Born to Kill
05 You Will Be Free
06 Returning To The Fold
07 My Little Machine
08 Goddamn the Light
09 [banter]
10 The Howl of the Winds
11 Time To Lose
12 Born Dead
13 The Sword By My Side
14 A Pillar Of Salt
15 Our Love Survives
16 Back to Gray
17 You Will Find Me
18 A Passing Feeling
19 The Sunset
20 Overgrown Overblown
21 Where I Stand
22 Here’s Your Future
23 [encore break]
24 Capture With A Magnet
25 No Culture Icons

If you download this recording from NYCTaper, we expect that you will PLEASE SUPPORT The Thermals, visit their website, purchase their official releases from the Store at their website [HERE] and Pre-Order Desperate Ground from Saddle Creek Records [HERE].

Support nyctaper

DISCLAIMER and LEGAL NOTICE is a live music blog that offers a new paradigm of music distribution on the web. The recordings are offered for free on this site as are the music posts, reviews and links to artist sites. All recordings are posted with artist permission or artists with an existing pro-taping policy.

All recordings and original content posted on this site are as live recordings pursuant to 17 U.S.C. Section 106, et. seq. Redistribution of nyctaper recordings without consent of is strictly prohibited. hereby waives all copyright claims to any and all recordings posted on this site to THE PERFORMERS ONLY. If any artist posted on this site requests that recordings be removed, those recordings will be removed forthwith.