Posts Tagged ‘ mexican summer ’

Tonstartssbandht: January 25, 2017 Sunnyvale

February 23, 2017

[photo by nyctaper]

Its been a few years since Tonstartssbandht last appeared on NYCTaper. In March, Tonstartss will release a new album Sorcerer, their first on Mexican Summer. The band that consists of brothers Andy and Edwin White have played under this name for about a decade and have released somewhere in the range of 20 albums via various labels and Bandcamp, but not a proper “studio” album since 2011’s Now I Am Become. The band is also currently on their first extended tour in a while, as the brothers have spent time on other projects — mostly notably Andy White’s position as lead guitar in Mac DeMarco’s touring band.

In January, the TBT tour came to Brooklyn and sold out Sunnyvale on a Wednesday night. The brothers played an extended set that included all of the three long tracks from Sorcerer and a ton of older TBT tracks and covers all interspersed in their unique segue-style stream-of-consciousness show. The Whites are the sons of a long-time professional musician and have played together for their entire lives so there’s a definite telepathy going on every time they take the stage that allows their sets to freely weave from one musical idea to the next. This inventiveness and unpredictability is one of the most compelling aspects of Tonstartssbandht and is why we keep coming back for more. Tonstartss are currently in Europe but return to the US for shows in May, all dates [HERE].

I recorded this set with the Schoeps mounted in front of the stage and mixed with an excellent board feed. The sound quality is superb. Enjoy!

Download the Complete Show [MP3] / [FLAC]

Stream the Complete Show:

Brooklyn NY

Digital Master Recording
Soundboard + On-Stage Audience Matrix

Soundboard + Schoeps CCM4u’s > Sound Devices 744t > 2 x 24bit 48kHz wav files > Soundforge (post production) > CDWave 1.95 (tracking) > TLH > flac (320 MP3 and tagging via Foobar)

Recorded and Produced
by nyctaper

[Total Time 1:05:36]
01 Opening
02 Breathe
03 Susie
04 Dad Beating Up Dudes Downtown (Orlando, 1992)
05 Opening (Reprise)
06 Black Sea
07 [banter and woos]
08 Sorcerer
09 [banter – rotten milk]
10 Somersette
11 Skyline [Pharaoh Overlord]
12 Olde Feelings
13 Rodas 1916
14 Hymn Our Garden
15 The Pusher [Steppenwolf]
16 Nasa Boogie
17 I’m a Ram [Al Green]
18 Late Fall Roll [Eola]
19 Hymn Our Garden (Reprise)
20 Midnite Cobras
21 Welsh Souper
22 [banter – legal reasons]
23 Poor Moon [Canned Heat]
24 [banter – thanks]
25 Everybody (Needs Somebody To Love) [Solomon Burke]
26 Last Train Home [Pat Metheny]
27 Alright

SUPPORT Tonstartssbandht: Bandcamp | Facebook | Pre-Order Sorcerer from Mexican Summer [HERE]

Dungen: June 17, 2016 The Bowery Ballroom

June 19, 2016

tinnitus photography: Dungen &emdash; Dungen in concert
[photo by Tim Bugbee/Tinnitus Photography]

Everyone’s favorite Swedish psych band, Dungen, made it to town recently for a couple shows opening for Tame Impala in Prospect Park, plus a headlining set at the Bowery Ballroom. It had been a while since I’d seen the band live—that was ATP Festival (R.I.P.) 2010—and their Bowery gig found them at the top of their game. Besides drawing from your favorite Dungen records, including Ta Det Lugnt, 4, Skit I Allt, and last year’s Allas Sak (many of which have recently been reissued by Mexican Summer by the way), the band broke out a new song “Häxan,” which has been the talk of their recent tours. The band promised that they’ve approved the test pressing of their followup to Allas Sak and I know at least a few fans are frothing at the mouth for a studio version of this one. The band wraps up their U.S. tour tonight in Philadelphia, but hopefully with a new album on the way we won’t have to wait very long for their next tour.

I recorded this set from our usual location at The Bowery Ballroom with a board feed from FOH Kenny. The sound, as usual, is excellent. Enjoy!

Download: [MP3/FLAC]


The Bowery Ballroom
New York, NY

Exclusive download hosted at
Recorded and produced by Eric PH

Soundboard (engineer: Kenny) + AKG C480B/CK61 (PAS) > Roland R-26 > 2xWAV (24/48) > Adobe Audition CC (align, compression, mixdown, normalize, fades) + Izotope Ozone 5 (EQ) > Audacity 2.0.5 (downsample, dither, tracking, tagging) > FLAC (16/44.1, level 8)

Tracks [1:18:13]
01. Intro
02. Fredag
03. Marken Låg Stilla
04. En Gång Om Året
05. Åkt Dit
06. En Dag På Sjön
07. Frank’s Kaktus
08. Blandband
09. Det Tar Did
10. Bandhagen
11. C Visar Vägen
12. Så Blev Det Bestämt
13. Panda
14. Häxan
15. Ta Det Lugnt
16. [encore break]
17. Sova
18. Dü Är För Fin För Mig

Buy Dungen records via Mexican Summer
• • Check out their website

• • • Connect with the band on Facebook

Support nyctaper

DISCLAIMER and LEGAL NOTICE is a live music blog that offers a new paradigm of music distribution on the web. The recordings are offered for free on this site as are the music posts, reviews and links to artist sites. All recordings are posted with artist permission or artists with an existing pro-taping policy.

All recordings and original content posted on this site are as live recordings pursuant to 17 U.S.C. Section 106, et. seq. Redistribution of nyctaper recordings without consent of is strictly prohibited. hereby waives all copyright claims to any and all recordings posted on this site to THE PERFORMERS ONLY. If any artist posted on this site requests that recordings be removed, those recordings will be removed forthwith.