Posts Tagged ‘ The Blind Shake ’

The Blind Shake: October 27, 2013 285 Kent – Flac/MP3/Streaming

December 4, 2013

Blind Shake
[still from this video]

When Thee Oh Sees toured last month, John Dwyer brought Minnesota’s The Blind Shake on the road with them. Last month, we saw Blind Shake twice in NYC, but much preferred the more intimate 285 Kent set. The band plays an angular brand of garage punk, not dissimilar from Thee Oh Sees, but with a decidedly less 60s feel and perhaps a bit of a post-punk edge. Their set at 285 was fast and furious — the band literally took no significant breaks in between songs, so that they played 13 songs in barely 30 minutes. The Blind Shake have two full albums, an EP and several singles and their most recent record Key To A False Door is on Dwyer’s Castle Face Records. The setlist drew from their releases and also seems to include some unreleased tracks. The band just completed a lengthy US tour, so there are currently no dates but we’ll be sure the catch The Blink Shake when they return to NYC.

I recorded this set in the same manner as the Thee Oh Sees set and the sound is excellent. Enjoy!

Stream “Out Of Work”:

Download the Complete Show [MP3] / [FLAC]

Note: All of the material on this site is offered with artist permission, free to fans, at our expense. The only thing we ask is that you download the material directly from this site, rather than re-posting the direct links or the files on other sites without our permission. Please respect our request.

Blind Shake
285 Kent
Brooklyn, NY USA

Digital Master Recording
Soundboard + Audience Matrix

Soundboard + Sennheiser MKH-8040s > Edirol R-44 (Oade Concert Mod) > 24bit 48kHz wav file > Soundforge (level adjustments, set fades, downsample) > CDWave 1.95 > (tracking) > TLH > flac (320 MP3 and Tagging via Foobar)

Recorded and Produced
by nyctaper

[Total Time 31:02]
01 Garbage on Glue
02 I’m Not An Animal
03 Out of Work
04 Yellow
05 Go Go 78
06 Can’t Stand Life
07 Calligraphy
08 Fly Right
09 Young Carnival Waste
10 Porto Alegre
11 Man Leaves House
12 Seriousness
13 O’Rider

If you download this recording from NYCTaper, we expect that you will PLEASE SUPPORT The Blind Shake, visit their website, and purchase Key To A False Door from Castle Face Records [HERE].

Support nyctaper

DISCLAIMER and LEGAL NOTICE is a live music blog that offers a new paradigm of music distribution on the web. The recordings are offered for free on this site as are the music posts, reviews and links to artist sites. All recordings are posted with artist permission or artists with an existing pro-taping policy.

All recordings and original content posted on this site are as live recordings pursuant to 17 U.S.C. Section 106, et. seq. Redistribution of nyctaper recordings without consent of is strictly prohibited. hereby waives all copyright claims to any and all recordings posted on this site to THE PERFORMERS ONLY. If any artist posted on this site requests that recordings be removed, those recordings will be removed forthwith.