Posts Tagged ‘ trey anastasio ’

Trey Anastasio Band: April 22, 2017 Wanee Music Festival (Live Oak, FL)

April 24, 2017

Though veteran Bob Weir closed out this year’s Wanee Festival main stage in fine fashion, it was Trey Anastasio Band who captured the most emotional highlight. Clearly moved by the death of Butch Trucks, with whom he had played on this very Wanee stage in years past, Anastasio and his band took the fired-up crowd through everything from hard boogie numbers like “Cayman Review” to a funky cover of Gorillaz’ “Clint Eastwood” to several of Anastasio’s more downbeat offerings. Whatever the feel of the exact moment, Anastasio and his band owned it, with Trey beaming at the front of the stage for much of the set, just as he was brought to tears recalling his time with Trucks and the Allman Brothers. Perhaps most notable about this set to me personally was the energy and inventiveness of it compared to the lackluster Phish set I saw earlier this year; if the full band interplay wasn’t quite what it is with the main band, the enthusiasm behind it was a night-and-day difference. Perhaps it’s not a surprise; most artists, like most people, care about context and place, and this place brought back memories for Trey that no doubt can’t be replicated in a stadium-type setting. Thanks to this set — which ended on a billowing cover of Zeppelin’s “Dazed and Confused,” Trey and his band made some Wanee Festival memories for many of us, too.

I recorded this set with Schoeps MK4V microphones FOB with my man Fried Chicken Boy. The sound quality is outstanding. Enjoy!

Download the complete show: [MP3/FLAC/ALAC]

Stream the complete show:

Trey Anastasio Band
Wanee Festival
Spirit of Suwanne Music Park
Live Oak, FL USA

Hosted at
Recorded and produced by acidjack

Schoeps MK4V (FOB, DFC)>KC5>PFA>Zoom 48>24/44.1kHz WAV>Adobe Audition CC>Isotope Ozone 5>Audacity 2.0.3 (amplify, track, downsample)>FLAC ( level 8 )

Tracks [Total Time 1:45:00]
01 Cayman Review
02 Curlew’s Call
03 Magilla
04 Sand
05 Soul Rebel
06 Money, Love and Change
07 [banter1 – Wanee and Butch Trucks]
08 Ohh Child [Five Stairsteps]
09 Mozambique>Simple Twist Up Dave
10 Tide Turns
11 Valentine
12 Everything’s Right
13 Tuesday
14 Clint Eastwood [Gorillaz]
15 Dazed and Confused [Led Zeppelin]

SUPPORT Trey Anastasio Band: Website | Records

Trey Anastasio Band: February 22, 2011 Terminal 5 – FLAC / MP3 Downloads + Streaming Songs

March 23, 2011

[photos by Johnny]

Despite how “jambands” seem to invoke the ire of quite a few people, it can’t be ignored that they attract a zealous following.  Bolstered by excellent musicianship and great songwriting, Phish has arguably been at the top of this genre for a long time and are able to sell out nearly every arena-sized (and larger) venue they play in.  That’s why it’s nice when the individual members indulge in their side projects, allowing them to kick back and play the smaller places like they did before becoming a multi-million dollar juggernaut.  I hadn’t been to a Phish concert for the better part of two decades when a few friends literally dragged me to see frontman Trey Anastasio last year.  It turned out to be a stellar gig and good enough to make me dip my toes back into the pond, so to speak.  With his return to Terminal 5 this year, there was no way I was going to miss it and it turned out to be money well spent.  Delving into the extensive catalog of material from his main band and solo jaunts, Trey and company split the performance into acoustic and electric sets, playing a lot of favorites and a few inspired, and some surprising, covers.  Judging by the great time the performers and the crowd were having, reinforced by the multiple sing-alongs during the course of the evening, I can understand why so many folks are continually drawn to them.

We recorded this show from the first balcony, nearly dead-center.  A few other people had the same idea and we had a blast turning the area into a taper’s section.  As with Phish, Trey Anastasio’s sound engineers are top-notch.  The house sound that night was superb and our recording reflects that.  Enjoy!

Stream “Meatstick”:

Audio clip: Adobe Flash Player (version 9 or above) is required to play this audio clip. Download the latest version here. You also need to have JavaScript enabled in your browser.

Stream “Burn That Bridge”:

Audio clip: Adobe Flash Player (version 9 or above) is required to play this audio clip. Download the latest version here. You also need to have JavaScript enabled in your browser.

Direct download of the complete show in MP3 [HERE]
Direct download of the complete show in FLAC [HERE]

If either of the links are no longer working, email nyctaper with a request for the download location of the files.

Trey Anastasio Band
Tuesday, February 22, 2011
Terminal 5
New York, NY, USA

Source: AUD > AKG C 414 B-XLS’s + DPA 4021’s > Edirol R-44 (WAV @ 24-bit/48kHz)
Lineage: R-44 > USB > PC > Adobe Audition (mixdown, adjust levels, downsample, dither, tracking) > WAV (16-bit/44.1kHz) > Trader’s Little Helper (check/fix SBE’s, FLAC conversion) > FLAC ( level 8 )
Recorded and produced by: Johnny Fried Chicken Boy

1st SET: Acoustic
[Total time: 1:07:40]
01. Down with Disease
02. Wolfman’s Brother
03. Theme from the Bottom
04. Camel Walk
05. Kill Devil Falls
06. Meatstick
07. Halley’s Comet
08. Bouncing Around the Room
09. Cavern
10. Prince Caspian
11. [banter]
12. Limb by Limb
13. Stealing Time from the Faulty Plan
14. [banter]
15. Wading in the Velvet Sea
16. [banter]
17. Heavy Things
18. [banter]
19. Peggy
20. [banter]
21. Hey Ya!  [OutKast]

2nd SET: Electric
[Total time: 1:43:45]
22. 2nd set intro
23. In the Night  [Professor Longhair]
24. Valentine
25. Ocelot
26. It Makes No Difference  [The Band]
27. Gotta Jibboo
28. Burlap Sack and Pumps
29. Clint Eastwood  [Gorillaz]
30. Cayman Review
31. Sand
32. Sweet and Dandy  [Toots & the Maytals]
33. Burn That Bridge
34. [banter]
35. My Problem Right There
36. Tuesday
37. First Tube
38. Empire State of Mind  [Jay-Z]
39. [encore break]
40. Sultans of Swing  [Dire Straits]

If you download this recording, we expect that you will PLEASE SUPPORT Trey Anastasio and Phish, visit their website, visit their MySpace and Facebook pages, and purchase their official releases and merchandise [HERE].

Support nyctaper

DISCLAIMER and LEGAL NOTICE is a live music blog that offers a new paradigm of music distribution on the web. The recordings are offered for free on this site as are the music posts, reviews and links to artist sites. All recordings are posted with artist permission or artists with an existing pro-taping policy.

All recordings and original content posted on this site are as live recordings pursuant to 17 U.S.C. Section 106, et. seq. Redistribution of nyctaper recordings without consent of is strictly prohibited. hereby waives all copyright claims to any and all recordings posted on this site to THE PERFORMERS ONLY. If any artist posted on this site requests that recordings be removed, those recordings will be removed forthwith.