Posts Tagged ‘ Vincent Cacchione ’

Caged Animals: December 11, 2013 Union Pool – FLAC/MP3/Streaming

January 5, 2014

[Video stills courtesy of Bleary Eyed Brooklyn]

We have followed Vincent Cacchione, the frontman and principal songwriter behind Caged Animals, for a few years now, beginning with his more straight-ahead rock n’ roll project, Soft Black. While Caged Animals is a different beast than that band we first saw back in the summer of 2010, what hasn’t changed are Cacchione’s songwriting instincts. The man can write hooks as well as anybody in Brooklyn, and his flair for that, coupled with his knack for inventive arrangements, makes any of his music something we want to see.

This show at Union Pool celebrated the release of the band’s second full-length LP, In the Land of Giants, a concept album that strikes an uplifting note compared to Cacchione’s Soft Black material. As he puts it on the leadoff track, “Too Much Dark”, there’s too much dark, and not enough light, but on this record, Cacchione helps lead us to it. The band played the album straight through in front of a tight-knit group of family, friends and longtime friends, and it showed in their relaxed, confident presence. My personal highlight was “Cindy + Me”, an uptempo number built around a sample from composer, pianist and technologist Raymond Scott. The song offered an emotional high point for a year rapidly drawing to a close and, it being a Cacchione joint, it was catchy as hell. The band will be in Europe and the UK this month and next — tour dates here. If you make it, you’ll be sure to leave with a smile on your face.

I recorded this set with a soundboard feed from Union Pool engineer Robert, plus Schoeps MK4V microphones providing ambiance. The sound quality is excellent. Enjoy!

Watch for video of this set on Bleary Eyed Brooklyn soon.

Stream “Cindy + Me”

Download the complete show [MP3] | [FLAC]

Note: All of the material on this site is offered with artist permission, free to fans, at our expense. The only thing we ask is that you download the material directly from this site, rather than re-posting the direct links or the files on other sites without our permission. Please respect our request.


Caged Animals
Union Pool
Brooklyn, NY USA

Exclusive download hosted at
Recorded and produced by acidjack

Soundboard (engineer: Robert) + Schoeps MK4V (PAS)>KCY>Z-PFA>Roland R-26>2x24bit/48kHz WAV>Adobe Audition CS 5.5 (mix down, edits to SBD)>Izotope Ozone 5 (EQ, effects)>Audacity 2.0.5 (fades, tracking, amplify, balance, downsample)>FLAC ( level 8 )

01 [intro]
02 Too Much Dark
03 [false start]
04 Stop Hurting Each Other
05 Cindy + Me
06 The Sound of Thunder
07 U + Yr Rocketship
08 The Mute + The Mindreader
09 Tiny Sounds
10 We’re Playing With Fire
11 A Psychic Lasso
12 In the Land of Giants
13 (You’re A Giant Now)
14 What You’re Looking For

If you enjoyed this recording, please support Caged Animals, visit their website, and buy In the Land of Giants directly from the band at their bandcamp page.

Caged Animals: October 17, 2013 NYCTaper CMJ Cake Shop – Flac/MP3/Streaming

October 28, 2013

[photos by Amanda Hatfield]

The Sixth Annual NYCTaper CMJ Day Party at Cake Shop was headlined by a band fronted by one of our favorite people in the music world. Vincent Cacchione has been a friend of the site for years, going all the way back to his days as guitarist in Shilpa Ray’s band, through the emergence of Soft Black, and ultimately his current project Caged Animals. 2013 has been a big year for the band, as Caged Animals released a universally praised new album In The Land of Giants in September. Their set at our Day Party was a celebratory affair, with the band asking and receiving crowd participation throughout. Vincent’s engaging personality is infectious but the other members of the quartet, including his sister bassist Talia, keyboardist/vocalist Magali Francoise and drummer Patrick Curry were all involved in the party atmosphere. The band performed songs from all of their releases including “Teflon Heart” that we’re streaming below. Sadly, as our show ran up into the night show, Caged Animals were only able to play their allotted 30 minutes — next time we’ll hope for more.

I recorded this set in the same manner at the J Fernandez set and the sound quality is superb. Enjoy!

Stream “Teflon Heart”:

Download the Complete Show [MP3] / [FLAC]

Note: All of the material on this site is offered with artist permission, free to fans, at our expense. The only thing we ask is that you download the material directly from this site, rather than re-posting the direct links or the files on other sites without our permission. Please respect our request.


Caged Animals
NYCTaper CMJ Day Party
Cake Shop
New York, NY

Digital Master Recording
Soundboard + On Stage Audience Matrix

Soundboard + Sennheiser MKH-8040s > Edirol R-44 (Oade Concert Mod) > 2 x 24bit 48kHz wav files > Soundforge (level adjustments, mixdown, set fades) > CDWave 1.95 (tracking) > TLH > flac (320 MP3 and tagging via Foobar)

Recorded and Produced
by nyctaper

[Total Time 28:50]
01 [intro]
02 Too Much Dark
03 A Psychic Lasso
04 The Sound of Thunder
05 Girls on Medication
06 This Summer I’ll Make It Up To You
07 Blood Money
08 The Mute and The Mindreader
09 We’re Playing With Fire
10 [banter]
11 Teflon Heart

If you download this recording from NYCTaper, we expect that you will PLEASE SUPPORT Caged Animals, visit their website, and purchase In The Land Of Giants from their Bandcamp page [HERE] or from the links at the Lucky Number Music website [HERE].

Support nyctaper

DISCLAIMER and LEGAL NOTICE is a live music blog that offers a new paradigm of music distribution on the web. The recordings are offered for free on this site as are the music posts, reviews and links to artist sites. All recordings are posted with artist permission or artists with an existing pro-taping policy.

All recordings and original content posted on this site are as live recordings pursuant to 17 U.S.C. Section 106, et. seq. Redistribution of nyctaper recordings without consent of is strictly prohibited. hereby waives all copyright claims to any and all recordings posted on this site to THE PERFORMERS ONLY. If any artist posted on this site requests that recordings be removed, those recordings will be removed forthwith.