The National February 22, 2008 BAM Opera House – Flac Download

February 23, 2008

[photo credit]

The National played an Opera House last night, and brought along their own orchestra. At one point during the show there were 15 musicians on stage, and yet The National retained the intimate “chamber pop” at which they have excelled. The sound quality and acoustics in this classic venue were superb and complimented the performance. The setting also offered a stark contrast during moments when the rock and roll side of this band came through — in particular the surreal moment when Matt left the stage and screamed the profane chorus of “Mr. November” while standing in the lap of some elderly BAM patrons.

When we recorded The National in a rainy outdoor Pier 17 in August, the band’s excellent performance was marred by a terrible sound system with static and crackling throughout. Last night the classic opera house acoustics and fine system favored the band and our recording reflects the quality of the sound. We were positioned in the second row of the mezzanine with a direct line to both PA stacks, and we are extremely pleased with the results. Enjoy!

This recording is now available to Download in FLAC and MP3 at [HERE].

The National
Gilman Opera House
BAM Brooklyn Next Festival
Brooklyn, NY USA

Digital Master Recording
Recorded from Mezzanine Row B
Left Center Seating Area

DPA 4021’s > Marantz PMD-660 (Oade BCM) > 16bit 44.1 wav > Soundforge (set fades, level adjustment, slight eq) > CDWave 1.95 (tracking) > Flac Frontend (level 7, align sector boundaries) > flac

Recorded and Produced by
nyctaper 2008-02-23

[total time 1:33:52]
01 Start A War
02 Brainy
03 Baby We’ll Be Fine
04 Slow Show
05 Secret Meeting
06 Mistaken For Strangers
07 Squalor Victoria
08 Abel
09 Wasp’s Nest
10 [band introductions]
11 Racing Like A Pro
12 Ada **
13 Apartment Story
14 [new song – no title given]
15 Karen
16 Fake Empire
17 [encore break]
18 City Middle
19 Mr. November
20 About Today
21 [second encore break]
22 Gospel

**Sufjan Stevens on piano

If you email nyctaper for access to this recording, we expect that you will PLEASE SUPPORT The National, visit their website, and purchase their official releases from them directly.

Tags: , , , , ,

13 Responses to The National February 22, 2008 BAM Opera House – Flac Download

  1. February 23, 2008 at 4:42 pm

    I should mention that Sufjan Stevens was a guest on the piano for Ada.

  2. February 23, 2008 at 8:36 pm

    looks like quite a show!

  3. Ryan
    February 25, 2008 at 1:13 am

    does ANYONE know what the music walked onto the stage to was? so gorgeous….

    email me: [email protected]

  4. February 25, 2008 at 1:15 am

    This is funny. Ironically, the music playing when they came out on stage on Friday was in fact Bon Iver, “Flume”, an artist and song that I would record live the very next night, as you can see above!

  5. Ryan
    February 25, 2008 at 1:36 am

    wow! thank you so much

  6. scott
    February 25, 2008 at 10:10 am

    Thanks so much for this. This was the best National show I have ever seen, and the recording is really fantastic!

  7. AC
    February 26, 2008 at 2:25 am

    Thank you for this great recording.
    Gospel is absolutely beautiful.

  8. Nuno Sebastiao
    February 27, 2008 at 7:18 pm

    Hi! I’m a Portuguese fan and i would like to have and listen that recording before the concert in Lisbon (12 May – i already have tickets!!!)
    Thank You

  9. cd
    March 3, 2008 at 10:20 am

    thanks for this – sounds great!

  10. Dave
    March 8, 2008 at 2:49 pm

    Great show that sounds excellent as always. Thanks!

  11. March 24, 2008 at 7:22 pm

    thanks for the recording – it sounds fantastic. these guys are great!

  12. Will
    June 23, 2008 at 6:54 am

    Hi nyctaper…are there mp3s available for this show? Thanks in advance!

  13. January 26, 2009 at 3:01 pm

    [new song – no title given] = So Far Around the Bend

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


DISCLAIMER and LEGAL NOTICE is a live music blog that offers a new paradigm of music distribution on the web. The recordings are offered for free on this site as are the music posts, reviews and links to artist sites. All recordings are posted with artist permission or artists with an existing pro-taping policy.

All recordings and original content posted on this site are as live recordings pursuant to 17 U.S.C. Section 106, et. seq. Redistribution of nyctaper recordings without consent of is strictly prohibited. hereby waives all copyright claims to any and all recordings posted on this site to THE PERFORMERS ONLY. If any artist posted on this site requests that recordings be removed, those recordings will be removed forthwith.