Deerhunter September 9, 2008 Le Poisson Rouge – Flac and MP3 Downloads

September 10, 2008

[photo credit]

Last night’s Deerhunter show at Le Poisson Rouge was a fairly strange event. The crowd was an odd mix of the band’s fans, curious club-goers, and a large contingent of people from the music business invited by LPR to see the club on an active night. Many of the industry types spent the show at the side and back bars, and many left early. If the scene seemed odd to us, the setting did not disturb Deerhunter, as Bradford Cox chatted amiably between numbers and performed an absolutely blistering set. The soon-to-be-released material from Microcastle was particularly strong, and the double highlights of “Nothing Ever Happened” and “Strange Lights” were two of most intense songs we have seen performed this year.

We recorded from the floor in front of the soundboard area of this venue. The chatty nature of the crowd was a bit of a problem, as was the severe volume of the set. The Neumann mics were able to handle the levels without any distortion but the club acoustics were a bit muddy, so that this is not one of our best captures. With that caveat, enjoy!

Direct download of MP3 files (HERE)

Download the Complete show in FLAC [HERE].

Le Poisson Rouge
New York NY USA

Digital Master Recording
Recorded from In Front of Soundboard Booth
Dead Center on Floor

Neumann KM-150s (AK-50 Hypercardiod Capsules) > Apogee Minime > digital coaxial > M-Audio Microtrack > 24bit 48kHz wav files > Soundforge 8.0 (set fades, slight level boost, resample 16/44) > CD Wave 1.95 > Flac Frontend (level 7, align sector boundaries) > flac

Recorded and Produced

[total time 1:09:46]
01 [Brad banter]
02 Calvary Scars
03 Never Stops
04 [Brad banter]
05 Spring Hall Convert
06 Dr. Glass
07 Hazel St.
08 Saved By Old Times
09 Operation
10 Fluorescent Grey
11 [Brad banter]
12 Nothing Ever Happened [false start]
13 Nothing Ever Happened
14 [encore break/banter]
15 Thirsty and Miserable (Black Flag)
16 Agoraphobia
17 Strange Lights

If you email nyctaper for access to this recording, we expect that you will PLEASE SUPPORT Deerhunter, visit their MySpace page, visit the band blog, and purchase their official releases from the Kranky Records site [here].

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Support nyctaper

DISCLAIMER and LEGAL NOTICE is a live music blog that offers a new paradigm of music distribution on the web. The recordings are offered for free on this site as are the music posts, reviews and links to artist sites. All recordings are posted with artist permission or artists with an existing pro-taping policy.

All recordings and original content posted on this site are as live recordings pursuant to 17 U.S.C. Section 106, et. seq. Redistribution of nyctaper recordings without consent of is strictly prohibited. hereby waives all copyright claims to any and all recordings posted on this site to THE PERFORMERS ONLY. If any artist posted on this site requests that recordings be removed, those recordings will be removed forthwith.