The Hold Steady November 6, 2008 Terminal 5 – Flac and MP3 Downloads

November 7, 2008

[photo credit]

The “Rock and Roll Means Well” tour pulled into NYC last night and The Hold Steady began the evening with a high energy set that was not matched by the lackluster energy of the crowd. We spent much of the night peering past texting LED screens and a persistent din of crowd chatter. Despite the good intentions of the two bands, its perhaps not a particularly good touring idea to co-headline two bands who match well in spirit but not in fan-base identity. Nevertheless, Craig Finn’s boundless stage persona managed to propel the band through a set focused on the rock numbers. As he referenced the good mood of the tour in light of Tuesday’s historic events, Finn marched The Hold Steady into the title track from Stay Positive and kept the band at high speed through a set that featured nine of the eleven numbers from the new CD.

We recorded from the rear center of the floor, raised the pole to maximum height, and pointed the hyper-directional microphones upwards towards the stacks. We were successful in avoiding much of the crowd chatter din and captured a very fine recording which actually improves upon the bass-heavy and boomy sound that reached our ears on the floor of the venue. Enjoy!

Drive-By Truckers were also recorded and will be posted in the next day or two.

Direct download of MP3 files (HERE)

Download the Complete show in FLAC [HERE].

The Hold Steady
Terminal 5
New York, NY USA

Digital Master Audience Recording
Recorded from Floor – Dead Center 100 Feet from Stage

Neumann KM-150’s > Monster Cable > Apogee Mini-Me > digital coax > M-Audio Microtrack 24/96 > 24bit 48kHz wav > Soundforge 8.0 (level adjustments, downsample 16/44) > CD Wave 1.75 > Flac Frontend > flac

Recorded and Produced by nyctaper

[total time 1:08:03]
01 Stay Positive
02 Cattle and The Creeping Things
03 Same Kooks
04 Stuck Between Stations
05 Constructive Summer
06 Sequestered in Memphis
07 Your Little Hoodrat Friend
08 Navy Sheets
09 Banging Camp
10 Massive Night
11 Joke About Jamaica
12 You Can Make Him Like You
13 Lord, I’m Discouraged
14 Yeah Sapphire
15 The Swish
16 Chips Ahoy
17 Magazines
18 Slapped Actress

If you email nyctaper for access to this recording, we expect that you will PLEASE SUPPORT The Hold Steady, visit their website, visit their MySpace page, and purchase their official releases from Official Store at The Hold Steady website [HERE].

Tags: , ,

3 Responses to The Hold Steady November 6, 2008 Terminal 5 – Flac and MP3 Downloads

  1. ~Rupe
    November 8, 2008 at 11:23 am

    Many thanks for posting & sharing this — sounds terrific!!

  2. John61
    November 8, 2008 at 11:55 am

    Many thanks – this rocks – I’m hoping you were there for the following night, I understand it was intense

    Cheers for this and for sharing


  3. Seth
    November 8, 2008 at 2:44 pm

    Thanks very much for taping and sharing!

    Best regards,


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Support nyctaper

DISCLAIMER and LEGAL NOTICE is a live music blog that offers a new paradigm of music distribution on the web. The recordings are offered for free on this site as are the music posts, reviews and links to artist sites. All recordings are posted with artist permission or artists with an existing pro-taping policy.

All recordings and original content posted on this site are as live recordings pursuant to 17 U.S.C. Section 106, et. seq. Redistribution of nyctaper recordings without consent of is strictly prohibited. hereby waives all copyright claims to any and all recordings posted on this site to THE PERFORMERS ONLY. If any artist posted on this site requests that recordings be removed, those recordings will be removed forthwith.