Belle and Sebastian: May 5, 2002 – Flac Download + News

February 9, 2009

[photo by Montero Sierra]

As Belle and Sebastian have been fairly dormant over the last two years, this is probably a good time to reach into the archives and pull out this classic and uncirculated recording from 2002. It was announced on Friday that there will likely be new Belle and Sebastian material this year, as the soundtrack for the movie God Help The Girl, with music composed by Stuart Murdoch, will be released this June. The official page for this movie describes is as follows:

The songs were recorded in Glasgow, featuring all the members of Belle and Sebastian and a few guests, and were arranged by Mick Cooke before the orchestral parts were captured at Angel Studios in London. The album features twelve songs, among them reworkings of the Belle and Sebastian songs, ‘Act of the Apostle’ and ‘Funny Little Frog.’

This particular 2002 concert was recorded during a fruitful period in the history of Belle and Sebastian, as the band increased their worldwide popularity, signed to Rough Trade, and released the soundtrack to Storytelling. This concert was recorded by longtime NYC taper “xcxre9” who offered his DAT master to nyctaper for release. It was captured from the first row of the first mezz at Hammerstein and the sound quality is excellent. Enjoy!

This concert will only be offered in flac.

Download the Complete show in FLAC [HERE].

Belle and Sebastian
Hammerstein Ballroom
New York, New York USA

Digital Audience Master
Recorded from 1st row of 1st Balcony

Recording: DPA 4061s > SBM-M1 > Sony D-8 DAT Master
Transfer: DAT Master > Panasonic SV-3800 > digital coaxial > Audigy 2 ZS Platinum > Soundforge* > 16 bit 44.1 wav > CD Wave (tracking) > Flac Frontend  (level 7, align sector boundaries) > flac

Recorded by xcxre9
DAT Extraction and Post-Production by nyctaper 2008-12-22

[total time 1:44:55]
01 Sleep The Clock Around
02 There’s Too Much Love
03 The Magic Of A Kind Word
04 I’m Waking Up To Us
05 If You’re Feeling Sinister
06 Mayfly
07 Consuelo
08 Scooby Driver
09 Don’t Leave The Light On Baby
10 The Model
11 The Loneliness Of A Middle Distance Runner
12 Stayin’ Alive (The Bee Gees)
13 Simple Things
14 The Boy With The Arab Strap
15 You Made Me Forget My Dreams (aborted)
16 The Fox In The Snow
17 Family Tree
18 Dog On Wheels
19 The State I Am In
20 The Wrong Girl
21 Dirty Dream Number Two
22 Legal Man
23 [encore break]
24 Get Me Away from Here I’m Dying

If you email nyctaper for access to this recording, we expect that you will PLEASE SUPPORT Belle and Sebastian, visit their website, and purchase their official releases from the Store at their website [here].

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Support nyctaper

DISCLAIMER and LEGAL NOTICE is a live music blog that offers a new paradigm of music distribution on the web. The recordings are offered for free on this site as are the music posts, reviews and links to artist sites. All recordings are posted with artist permission or artists with an existing pro-taping policy.

All recordings and original content posted on this site are as live recordings pursuant to 17 U.S.C. Section 106, et. seq. Redistribution of nyctaper recordings without consent of is strictly prohibited. hereby waives all copyright claims to any and all recordings posted on this site to THE PERFORMERS ONLY. If any artist posted on this site requests that recordings be removed, those recordings will be removed forthwith.