The Dead: April 24, 2009 Nassau Coliseum – Flac and MP3 Downloads

April 26, 2009

[photo by Jay Blakesberg – courtesy of Jambase]

It was almost exactly fifteen years since we last taped the Grateful Dead at Nassau Coliseum in March of 1994, and more than 30 years since our first Dead show at Nassau in January of 1979. After the death of Jerry Garcia in 1995, all of the various incarnations of this band have always felt somewhat empty and hollow. The 2009 version of the band was fueled initially by a benefit concert for Barack Obama at Penn State University. Apparently moved by the event, this particular 6-piece line-up (four original members, with Warren Haynes and Jeff Chimenti) began this tour in mid April with a series of inspired and extremely well received performances.

With this background, we captured a fine performance by The Dead on Friday night that frankly could stand up to many of the shows we saw in the early 1990’s. Warren is a huge presence — providing world class guitar work and vocals that echo Pigpen, Garcia, and even Brent Mydland. The highlights of the long show included the first set traditional pairing of Lost Sailor / Saint of Circumstance, a sweet three-song acoustic set, and an epic Dark Star.

We recorded from the front center rail on the official taper’s section with the four microphones and the R-44. This is a capture of outstanding depth and soundstage and we are proud of the results. Enjoy!

This Recording is now available for Download in FLAC and MP3 at [HERE].

Stream the Entire Show via

The Dead
Nassau Coliseum
Uniondale, NY USA

Four-Track Digital Master Recording
Recorded from First Row Center of the
Official Taper’s Section

Neumann KM-150s + DPA 4021’s > Edirol R-44 (Oade Concert Mod) > 2x 24bit 48kHz wav files > Soundforge (level adjustments, mixdown, set fades) > CDWave 1.95 (tracking) > Flac Frontend (level 7, align sector boundaries) > flac

Recorded and Produced by
nyctaper 2008-04-25

Set 1
[Total Time 1:11:05]
01 Jack Straw
02 Brown Eyed Women
03 Its All Over Now, Baby Blue
04 Easy Wind
05 Death Don’t Have No Mercy
06 Don’t Ease Me In
07 Lost Sailor
08 Saint of Circumstance

Set 2
[Total Time 22:44]
01 When I Paint My Masterpiece
02 Peggy-O (Fennario)
03 Looks Like Rain
[Total Time 1:22:06]
01 Alabama Getaway
02 Dark Star
03 Drums
04 Space
05 Knockin’ On Heaven’s Door
06 Goin’ Down The Road Feeling Bad
07 [encore break]
08 [donor rap]
09 Touch of Grey

If you email nyctaper for access to this recording, we expect that you will PLEASE SUPPORT The Dead, visit their website, and purchase his official releases from the Dead Net Store [HERE].

4 Responses to The Dead: April 24, 2009 Nassau Coliseum – Flac and MP3 Downloads

  1. B42
    April 26, 2009 at 8:50 pm

    Much thanks for getting this up, was at Worcester last week and it satisfied but left me yearning. The SBDs offered by nugs are sweet but a good aud helps put you back there :)

  2. April 27, 2009 at 12:24 am

    Man, thanks so much for this. I skipped them this time around due to ticket prices (paired with my current unemployment), and am regretting it more and more as I hear great reviews of the tour. At least I’ve got a great recording to listen to!

  3. Michael from South Carolina
    April 29, 2009 at 7:14 pm

    thanks for this NYCTaper….

    Warren is in FINE form here………….

  4. Helena
    May 7, 2009 at 3:00 am

    This show was AMAZING. Listening to your recordings just took me RIGHT BACK to that stair platform; dancing to the beautiful 2nd acoustic set! THANK YOU!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Support nyctaper

DISCLAIMER and LEGAL NOTICE is a live music blog that offers a new paradigm of music distribution on the web. The recordings are offered for free on this site as are the music posts, reviews and links to artist sites. All recordings are posted with artist permission or artists with an existing pro-taping policy.

All recordings and original content posted on this site are as live recordings pursuant to 17 U.S.C. Section 106, et. seq. Redistribution of nyctaper recordings without consent of is strictly prohibited. hereby waives all copyright claims to any and all recordings posted on this site to THE PERFORMERS ONLY. If any artist posted on this site requests that recordings be removed, those recordings will be removed forthwith.