Meat Puppets: June 11, 2009 Mercury Lounge – Flac and MP3 Downloads

June 17, 2009

We’ll admit to being a little worried about the Meat Puppets when we last saw them — an energetic but sloppy performance at Terminal 5 in September. We feared that the sharp and inspired comeback of a band that had been given up for dead a decade earlier had the potential to become derailed again. Thankfully, our fears were not realized. Shortly after their Fall dates, the Meat Puppets returned to the studio and delivered Sewn Together, their most inspired album in fifteen years. They are currently on tour and reviews of the shows have been universally positive.

At Mercury Lounge on Thursday night, the Meat Puppets delivered an outstanding ninety-minute set of old and new material. The highlights included again an extended “Up On the Sun”, a well-played “Rotten Shame” from the new CD, and the raging three-song finale of “Lake of Fire”, “Lost” and “Backwater”.

Acidjack recorded this show from upfront at the Merc with a fine set of cardioid microphones and the sound quality is outstanding. Enjoy!

Download the MP3 and FLAC files and stream the entire show on the Live Music Archive [HERE]

Meat Puppets
Mercury Lounge
New York, NY USA

FOB Digital Master Recording

SP-CMC-8 (AT U-853 Cardiods w/ low sensitivity mod and adapter) > SPSB-8 > Edirol R-09-HR > 24bit 48kHz wav > Audacity (set fades, level boost, downsample) > CD Wave (tracking) > Flac Frontend (level 7, align sector boundaries) > flac

Recorded and Produced by Acidjack
Some post work by nyctaper

[Total Time 1:28:06]
01 Sewn Together
02 Touchdown King
03 Blanket of Weeds
04 The Monkey And The Snake
05 Comin’ Down
06 Oh, Me
07 Plateau
08 I’m A Mindless Idiot
09 Up On The Sun
10 Rotten Shame
11 Station
12 I’m Not You
13 Look At The Rain
14 Smoke
15 Lake of Fire
16 Lost
17 Backwater
18 [feedback/crowd]

If you email nyctaper for access to this recording, we expect that you will PLEASE SUPPORT The Meat Puppets, visit their MySpace page, and purchase their new release Sewn Together directly from their page [HERE].

4 Responses to Meat Puppets: June 11, 2009 Mercury Lounge – Flac and MP3 Downloads

  1. Johnny Fried Chicken Boy
    June 18, 2009 at 2:35 am

    The last time I saw the Meat Puppets was back in ’91, so it was truly a pleasure to see them again and in great form. My memories are hazy but this show could have been better than the one I saw 18 years ago. Thank you so much for taping and posting!

  2. Alexi
    June 22, 2009 at 2:16 pm

    Actually track 07 is playing at my home. Big zanks for this recording!

  3. Mike S
    April 8, 2013 at 7:31 pm

    This sounds great! thx for taping and sharing!

  4. Mike S
    April 8, 2013 at 7:38 pm


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Support nyctaper

DISCLAIMER and LEGAL NOTICE is a live music blog that offers a new paradigm of music distribution on the web. The recordings are offered for free on this site as are the music posts, reviews and links to artist sites. All recordings are posted with artist permission or artists with an existing pro-taping policy.

All recordings and original content posted on this site are as live recordings pursuant to 17 U.S.C. Section 106, et. seq. Redistribution of nyctaper recordings without consent of is strictly prohibited. hereby waives all copyright claims to any and all recordings posted on this site to THE PERFORMERS ONLY. If any artist posted on this site requests that recordings be removed, those recordings will be removed forthwith.