Regina Spektor: June 17, 2009 Beacon Theatre – Flac and MP3 Downloads

June 18, 2009

[thanks Greg for photo]

Its been almost two years since we last saw Regina Spektor live, at Hammerstein Ballroom in 2007. We had a ticket to the McCarren Pool show last summer, but torrential rains kept us away. It was with that level of excitement that we entered the new Beacon Theatre to hear the first-ever live performances of much of Regina’s new CD, Far, due for release next week. As anticipated, the new material is more mature and elaborate — she played with a string section and drums — but still very much maintains the charming attraction of older Regina material. Of the new songs, the pre-released single “Laughing With” shined the brightest. The second half of the set was dedicated to many of Regina’s older and more familiar material — but also included three chestnuts, the infrequently played “Consequence of Sounds”, the b-side “Riot Gear”, and a new song preliminarily called “The Holocaust Deniers”. The latter song sounds like a straightforward rebuke of the title characters “who accuse the dying of lying”.

We recorded this set from a nearly perfect location, a direct line about 30 feet in front of the huge PA stacks on the left side. Our best mobile rig captured a recording of stunning clarity, with two caveats — the volume of the obviously excited crowd had to be reduced significantly in post-production, and during the quiet moments there is an apparent hum/buzz in the left channel which I believe was caused by the air-conditioning duct directly above my head. Under the circumstances, we nevertheless feel this is an excellent capture. Enjoy!

Direct download of MP3 files (HERE)

Direct download of FLAC files [HERE]

Regina Spektor
Beacon Theatre
New York, NY USA

Digital Master Recording
Recorded from Row K, Far Left
30 Feet directly in Front of Left PA Stacks

DPA 4021’s > Marantz PMD-660 (Oade BCM) > 16bit 44.1 wav > Soundforge (set fades, level boost, slight eq) > CDWave 1.95 (tracking) > Flac Frontend (level 7, align sector boundaries) > flac

Recorded and Produced by

[Total Time 1:29:24]
01 Folding Chair
02 Lucky Penny
03 Time Is All Around
04 Eet
05 The Calculation
06 Machine
07 One More Time with Feeling
08 On the Radio
09 Blue Lips
10 Riot Gear
11 Laughing With
12 Bobbing for Apples
13 That Time
14 Apres Moi
15 Human of the Year
16 Poor Little Rich Boy
17 The Holocaust Deniers
18 Consequence of Sounds
19 Man of a Thousand Faces
20 [encore break]
21 Samson
22 Us
23 Fidelity

If you email nyctaper for access to this recording, we expect that you will PLEASE SUPPORT Regina Spektor, visit her website, visit her MySpace page, and purchase/pre-order her new release Far directly from her website [HERE].

8 Responses to Regina Spektor: June 17, 2009 Beacon Theatre – Flac and MP3 Downloads

  1. June 19, 2009 at 2:03 am

    I guess I missed “Riot Gear” when I wrote my setlist, but the tape doesn’t lie right?

  2. Kansas
    June 19, 2009 at 9:28 pm

    AWESOME. Thank you for sharing! Some of us live in places where seeing Regina in concert will just not be happening.

  3. June 20, 2009 at 7:50 am

    Thanks very much for this.

  4. Seth
    June 20, 2009 at 6:34 pm

    Thanks very much Dan – your generosity is always appreciated!

  5. DBNick
    June 22, 2009 at 7:29 pm

    Thanks so much!

  6. June 23, 2009 at 2:25 pm

    THANK YOU SO MUCH!! This is incredible!

  7. Charissa
    July 7, 2009 at 11:34 am

    I’m a bit late, but still: thanks for sharing!

  8. Piero
    March 22, 2014 at 12:06 pm

    i’m extra-late but nevertheless THANKS!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Support nyctaper

DISCLAIMER and LEGAL NOTICE is a live music blog that offers a new paradigm of music distribution on the web. The recordings are offered for free on this site as are the music posts, reviews and links to artist sites. All recordings are posted with artist permission or artists with an existing pro-taping policy.

All recordings and original content posted on this site are as live recordings pursuant to 17 U.S.C. Section 106, et. seq. Redistribution of nyctaper recordings without consent of is strictly prohibited. hereby waives all copyright claims to any and all recordings posted on this site to THE PERFORMERS ONLY. If any artist posted on this site requests that recordings be removed, those recordings will be removed forthwith.