Sonic Youth: November 21, 2009 Terminal 5 – Flac and MP3 Downloads

November 22, 2009

Sonic Youth lcometto
[photo courtesy of l_c_m_tt_]

Acidjack reports:
“The cliche about Sonic Youth as New York’s modern rock “elder statesmen” is hard to avoid. Almost no band remains vital for 30 years – not only continuing to perform music (which many do), but making new music, and new good music. These days a pretty good buzz band can consider themselves lucky if somebody cares 9 months later. But Sonic Youth have defied all logic. They may be the only band that can, in a year in which they appeared on the show “Gossip Girl” and played venues around the country that were as big or bigger than Terminal 5, retain their unquestionable status as the kings of underground cool.

In the end Sonic Youth’s continued dominance is no mystery at all. The music, quite simply, is just that good, and this show drove that home again and again, as the band played almost the entirety of this year’s The Eternal (11 out of the 13 songs) plus several big numbers from their 80s albums (though oddly, almost none of the next-most-recent albums or their 1990s material).

This was my debut outing with my new DPA 4021 microphones, and it was a pretty stressful day thanks to my recorder dying the day before, and Terminal 5 being a usual Saturday “amateur night” environment of drunk people and people who didn’t seem to care much about the band. Thanks to Dan for the loaner deck and Johnny for blocking for me. And of course, to Sonic Youth, Dinosaur Jr. and their management for putting on a top-notch performance and allowing us to record. Enjoy!”

Direct download of MP3 files (HERE)

Download the Complete show in FLAC [HERE].

Sonic Youth
Terminal 5
New York, NY USA

An ACIDJACK master recording

Recorded and produced by acidjack
Hosted at

Equipment: DPA 4021>Marantz PMD660 (Oade Concert Mod) (16/44.1)
Position: 12′ up, on stand, right side of SBD cage, DIN
Mastering: WAV>Audacity (set fades, tracking, amplify channels)>FLAC ( level 8 )

01 Intro
02 No Way
03 Sacred Trickster
04 Calming the Snake
05 Stereo Sanctity
06 Anti-Orgasm
07 Walkin Blue
08 Shadow of A Doubt
09 Antenna
10 crowd
11 Malibu Gas Station
12 crowd
13 Leaky Lifeboat (for Gregory Corso)
14 Poison Arrow
15 crowd
16 Silver Rocket
17 crowd
18 Massage the History
19 crowd
20 The Sprawl
21 Cross the Breeze
22 encore break
23 What We Know
24 White Cross

If you email nyctaper for access to this recording, we expect that you will PLEASE SUPPORT Sonic Youth, visit their website, and purchase their official releases from the Store at their website [here].

9 Responses to Sonic Youth: November 21, 2009 Terminal 5 – Flac and MP3 Downloads

  1. Reuben
    November 22, 2009 at 7:40 pm

    This is an excellent recording to document an excellent evening. Will Dinosaur Jr. be available as well?

  2. November 22, 2009 at 7:45 pm

    Yes, in the next few days.

  3. Sean
    November 22, 2009 at 8:03 pm

    What an incredible night! All three bands did an excellent job. Will Cold Cave’s performance be available on this site?

  4. November 22, 2009 at 8:06 pm

    Not sure about Cold Cave on nyctaper. I still have a recording of theirs from October that I have to mix down and post. Maybe I’ll do the two of them together, we’ll see.

  5. Reuben
    November 22, 2009 at 8:21 pm

    I don’t want to be “that guy,” but they played 11 out of 12 songs from The Eternal, not out of 13.

  6. November 23, 2009 at 1:23 am

    Tracklist of “The Eternal”

    1. Sacred Trickster
    2. Anti-Orgasm
    3. Leaky Lifeboat (for Gregory Corso)
    4. Antenna
    5. What We Know
    6. Calming the Snake
    7. Poison Arrow
    8. Malibu Gas Station
    9. Thunderclap for Bobby Pyn
    10. No Way
    11. Walkin Blue
    12. Massage the History
    13. Burning Shame (which is listed as a “bonus track,” but I think it’s on most U.S. versions…)

    Anyway, hope you enjoyed the recording….

  7. john z
    November 23, 2009 at 1:53 am

    NYC taper,

    you’re the man! keep the gifts coming!!!!

  8. Reuben
    November 23, 2009 at 11:09 am

    “Burning Shame” is actually an itunes exclusive track, which would explain why I don’t have it :-)


    thank you very much for the recording, it was an excellent night.

  9. November 26, 2009 at 2:48 pm

    I am so thankful for this! This is wonderful. Thank you.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Support nyctaper

DISCLAIMER and LEGAL NOTICE is a live music blog that offers a new paradigm of music distribution on the web. The recordings are offered for free on this site as are the music posts, reviews and links to artist sites. All recordings are posted with artist permission or artists with an existing pro-taping policy.

All recordings and original content posted on this site are as live recordings pursuant to 17 U.S.C. Section 106, et. seq. Redistribution of nyctaper recordings without consent of is strictly prohibited. hereby waives all copyright claims to any and all recordings posted on this site to THE PERFORMERS ONLY. If any artist posted on this site requests that recordings be removed, those recordings will be removed forthwith.