Fanfarlo: October 20, 2009 Music Hall – Flac and MP3 Downloads

December 17, 2009

[photo courtesy of Tim Griffin – posted originally at brooklynvegan]

Fanfarlo play NYC again tomorrow night, December 18 at Webster Hall. Tickets are still available.

On the opening night of CMJ 2009, Fanfarlo headlined the Brooklynvegan CMJ show at Music Hall to a packed house. Earlier in the day, we literally struggled with the crowd to get into the main room of Pianos to see Fanfarlo at the Music Slut party. On the heels of their outstanding debut album Reservoir, Fanfarlo quickly became a worthy CMJ “buzz band”. Their music combines traditional folk instruments (violin, mandolin, accordian) with indie-pop and adds a lead trumpet to attain a fairly unique mix of styles. The band members hail from England, Sweden and Belgium. The set from this particular show focused primarily on the album material, and closed the set with an excellent verion of the early single “The Few Outsiders”.

We recorded this set in the same location and with the same equipment as the Antlers recording from the same night, but this set contains more audience chatter. With that caveat, enjoy!

This recording is now available for download in FLAC and MP3 at [HERE].

Music Hall of Williamsburg
Brooklyn, NY USA

Four-Track Digital Master Recording
Recorded from Front of Soundboard Booth

Neumann KM-150s + DPA 4021’s > Edirol R-44 (Oade Concert Mod) > 2x 24bit 48kHz wav files > Soundforge (level adjustments, mixdown, set fades) > CDWave 1.95 (tracking) > Flac Frontend (level 7, align sector boundaries) > flac

Premiere Download offered at
[email protected]

Recorded and Produced
by nyctaper

[Total Time 48:30]
01 Drowning Men
02 I’m A Pilot
03 [banter]
04 Finish Line
05 Harold T. Wilkins
06 [new song]
07 The Walls Are Coming Down
08 Comets
09 Luna
10 [encore break]
11 Ghosts
12 You Are One Of The Few Outsiders Who Really Understands Us

If you email nyctaper for access to this recording, we expect that you will PLEASE SUPPORT Fanfarlo, visit their website, and purchase Reservoir directly from Store at their website [HERE].

3 Responses to Fanfarlo: October 20, 2009 Music Hall – Flac and MP3 Downloads

  1. Stacey
    December 18, 2009 at 9:21 am

    I saw them in Pittsburgh last weekend. I think it sold out here too. Thanks for the recording, looking forward to listening to it!

  2. Stacey
    December 19, 2009 at 11:02 am

    Just listened to the mp3’s. The quality is exceptional! I’m happy to have a recording of that new song — it’s lovely.

  3. emilia
    August 19, 2010 at 5:57 pm


    thanks!!!! =)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Support nyctaper

DISCLAIMER and LEGAL NOTICE is a live music blog that offers a new paradigm of music distribution on the web. The recordings are offered for free on this site as are the music posts, reviews and links to artist sites. All recordings are posted with artist permission or artists with an existing pro-taping policy.

All recordings and original content posted on this site are as live recordings pursuant to 17 U.S.C. Section 106, et. seq. Redistribution of nyctaper recordings without consent of is strictly prohibited. hereby waives all copyright claims to any and all recordings posted on this site to THE PERFORMERS ONLY. If any artist posted on this site requests that recordings be removed, those recordings will be removed forthwith.