J. Tillman: November 16, 2009 Bell House – Flac and MP3 Downloads

December 11, 2009

[photo courtesy of David Wells]

J. Tillman was interviewed by Jarrod Dicker for nyctaper (see above), so we will defer to Jarrod’s excellent interview for the biographical data regarding the artist. On this November Monday night at Bell House, Josh was backed by a band of Pacific Northwestern “best friends”, including brother Zach. The setlist drew almost exclusively from his two 2009 albums Vacilando Territory Blues and Year In The Kingdom. While the quieter numbers focused on Josh’s authentic and almost mystical rich vocal skills, the band numbers highlighted the tight structure of a country-folk unit well versed in the genre and with each other.

We recorded this set with a four channel feed from the audience and soundboard. The sound quality is quite excellent during the band numbers, but almost too quiet during the solo songs. A large enhancement of volume during the solo numbers did bring out some ambient noise from the room, which does not significantly detract from the listening experience. Enjoy!

Direct download of MP3 files (HERE)

Download the Complete show in FLAC [HERE].

J. Tillman
Bell House
Brooklyn, NY USA

Digital Master Recording
Soundboard + Audience Matrix

Soundboard + Neumann KM-150s > Edirol R-44 (Oade Concert Mod) > 2 x 16bit 44.1kHz wav files > Soundforge (level adjustments, mixdown, set fades) > CDWave 1.95 (tracking) > Flac Frontend (level 7, align sector boundaries) > flac

Recorded and Produced by nyctaper

[Total Time 1:35:59]
01 All You See
02 When I Light Your Darkened Door
03 No Occasion
04 Firstborn
05 With Wolves
06 Vacilando Territory
07 [banter – tech problem]
08 Vessels
09 Howling Light
10 Crosswinds
11 Though I Have Wronged You
12 Barter Blues
13 Master’s House
14 [banter]
15 There Is No Good In Me
16 New Imperial Grand Blues
17 [encore break]
18 James Blues
19 The Last Black Sea
20 Year in the Kingdom

If you email nyctaper for access to this recording, we expect that you will PLEASE SUPPORT J. Tillman, visit his MySpace page, and purchase his official releases from the Bella Union Records website [HERE] and the Yer Bird Records website [HERE].

One Response to J. Tillman: November 16, 2009 Bell House – Flac and MP3 Downloads

  1. December 11, 2009 at 11:35 pm

    Incredible session! Thanks for recording and sharing – top notch stuff.

    Just a note that the track #19 is indicated as “The Last Black Sea” is actually “Wild Honey Never Stolen” the new 7″ he released.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Support nyctaper


nyctaper.com is a live music blog that offers a new paradigm of music distribution on the web. The recordings are offered for free on this site as are the music posts, reviews and links to artist sites. All recordings are posted with artist permission or artists with an existing pro-taping policy.

All recordings and original content posted on this site are @nyctaper.com as live recordings pursuant to 17 U.S.C. Section 106, et. seq. Redistribution of nyctaper recordings without consent of nyctaper.com is strictly prohibited.

nyctaper.com hereby waives all copyright claims to any and all recordings posted on this site to THE PERFORMERS ONLY. If any artist posted on this site requests that recordings be removed, those recordings will be removed forthwith.