Woods: March 12, 2010 Music Hall of Williamsburg – Flac and MP3 Downloads

March 15, 2010

[photo courtesy of Frank Siringo]

These days, any attempt to pigeonhole Woods as a “freak folk” band seems trite and wholly inadequate. On Friday night at Music Hall, the unique quartet opened their set with a lengthy psychedelic-style instrumental piece, mixed in a few songs that weren’t folk songs as much as deconstructions of the genre, and ended with two completely divergent covers — Blind Melon’s “No Rain” and Graham Nash’s “Military Madness”. The sheer breadth of the stylistic variations of Woods’ music is not necessarily evident in their albums, the latest of which, At Echo Lake, was announced last week and will be released on May 11. But it is the live Woods which stretches the material to these lengths and Friday’s show was an excellent example. Woods tour continues through the Midwest to SXSW before finishing up through the end of March down South. Woods next plays NYC on May 13 at the Abrons Arts Center.

We recorded this set from the same location as the Real Estate set and the sound is excellent. Enjoy!

Direct download of MP3 files (HERE)

Download the Complete show in FLAC [HERE].

Music Hall of Williamsburg
Brooklyn, NY USA

Four-Track Digital Master Recording
Recorded from Front of Soundboard Booth

Neumann KM-150s + DPA 4021’s > Edirol R-44 (Oade Concert Mod) > 2x 24bit 48kHz wav files > Soundforge (level adjustments, mixdown, set fades) > CDWave 1.95 (tracking) > Flac Frontend (level 7, align sector boundaries) > flac

Recorded and Produced
by nyctaper

[Total Time 1:14:32]
01 Creeps
02 Blood Dries Darker > To Clean
03 [banter]
04 Get Back
05 Rain On
06 Suffering Season
07 Down This Road
08 The Hold
09 The Dark
10 Twisted Tongue
11 I Was Gone
12 Death Rattles
13 [crowd]
14 Keep It On
15 [banter – set up]
16 No Rain (Blind Melon)*
17 [encore break]
18 Military Madness (Graham Nash)*
*with Real Estate

If you email nyctaper for access to this recording, we expect that you will PLEASE SUPPORT Woods, visit their MySpace page, and purchase their official releases from Woodsist Records.

7 Responses to Woods: March 12, 2010 Music Hall of Williamsburg – Flac and MP3 Downloads

  1. March 15, 2010 at 3:19 am

    I have May 11th as the release date for the new Woods album. Is it available digitally somewhere already? If anyone can fill in the blanks of the setlist, it would be much appreciated. Thanks for posting the recording!

  2. March 15, 2010 at 3:26 am

    You’re totally right. It was *announced* last week, not released. Release date is indeed May 11. I’ve edited the post.

  3. eric
    March 15, 2010 at 8:59 am

    I haven’t listened to the recording yet, but I thought they started out with “The Creeps.”

  4. Vo
    March 15, 2010 at 1:04 pm

    I agree with Eric. I think they started out with “The Creeps.”

  5. Vo
    March 15, 2010 at 1:27 pm

    5 To Clean
    8 The Hold
    9 The Hold (Cont.) > Jam
    11 I Was Gone > Jam
    12 Death Rattles

    I might be wrong.

  6. Vo
    March 15, 2010 at 1:28 pm

    4 To Clean

  7. March 16, 2010 at 10:57 am

    Ok, i think i will save this for thenext time I’ll have to argue with Frank (friend of mine) about it! I wasn’t wrong :D

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *



nyctaper.com is a live music blog that offers a new paradigm of music distribution on the web. The recordings are offered for free on this site as are the music posts, reviews and links to artist sites. All recordings are posted with artist permission or artists with an existing pro-taping policy.

All recordings and original content posted on this site are @nyctaper.com as live recordings pursuant to 17 U.S.C. Section 106, et. seq. Redistribution of nyctaper recordings without consent of nyctaper.com is strictly prohibited.

nyctaper.com hereby waives all copyright claims to any and all recordings posted on this site to THE PERFORMERS ONLY. If any artist posted on this site requests that recordings be removed, those recordings will be removed forthwith.