Melvins: June 18, 2010 and May 15, 2009 Webster Hall – FLAC/MP3/Streaming

June 22, 2010

The Melvins
[At the May 2009 Webster Hall show.  This photo courtesy of Ryan Muir]

Melvins have now been at it for more than 25 years.  In that time, they inspired many rock legends in the Seattle/Pacific NW scene, Kurt Cobain and Nirvana among them, and have consistently made vital music that rarely if ever crossed paths with the mainstream.  Originally a trio, in recent years they have come out with an awe-inspiring two-drummer attack featuring original drummer Dale Crover and Coady Willis that only magnifies their sludgy personification of the Seattle sound.  The crowd and performance at both of these fantastic shows from Webster Hall – the earlier being one of their mammoth 25th anniversary shows from last year, the more recent one being a shorter set opening for metal gods Isis, who are on their final run before breaking up – spoke to the authenticity of this act.  For once, I attended a Friday night show where every fan stood at rapt attention as this foursome demolished ears and melted faces, including sharing several new songs from their latest, The Bride Screamed Murder.

Of the May 15, 2009 set, Johnny Fried Chicken Boy had this to say:

“This was one of several “25th anniversary” gigs the Melvins performed in the spring of ‘09 that included the album ‘Houdini‘ played in its entirety.  Technically, Buzz “King Buzzo” Osborne has been fronting the band under that moniker a little longer, but who’s counting?  I hadn’t seen the band since ‘97 and am I glad I pulled the trigger on getting tickets.  It was one of those shows that remind you that you’re alive; the energy was phenomenal and spilled over into the moderate pit that broke out.  Having forgotten how amazing these guys can be in a live setting, it brought back memories of this old man’s youth.  They opened with a short set of material from the ‘Mangled Demos from 1983‘ disc that had their first drummer, Mike Dillard, pounding the skins and current, long-time drummer, Dale Crover, on bass.  Trevor Dunn came out later to handle the low-end duties after Dale switched to the drums.  I’ve been to a lot of concerts but this was definitely in my top three of loudest shows I’d seen and I don’t have the memory or time to scratch my head remembering the other two.  It was so loud my clothes were vibrating, as were the keys and loose change in my pockets.  It was so loud my friend had to go sit down because she was getting nauseous.”

These shows were recorded in very different ways.  I recorded the June 2010 set with the DPA microphones mounted to an articulated arm clamped to the balcony, while Johnny recorded the May 2009 set using a lean and mean mobile rig.

Since some people may ask, please note that we were not permitted to record Isis.  Their management made it very clear that the band does not allow audio taping of any kind, and we respect their wishes.  We wish Isis the best in their final shows and future endeavors.

Direct download of complete June 18, 2010 show in MP3 [HERE] | FLAC [HERE]

Direct download of complete May 15, 2009 show in MP3 [HERE] | FLAC [HERE]

Follow acidjack on twitter

Note: All of the material on this site is offered with artist permission, free to fans, at our expense. The only thing we ask is that you download the material directly from this site, rather than re-posting the direct links or the files on other sites without our permission. Please respect our request.

Webster Hall
New York, NY  USA

An acidjack master recording
Recorded and produced by acidjack for

Equipment: DPA 4021>Edirol R-44 (Oade Concert Mod (24/44.1)
Position: Clamp to left side of SBD cage, extended right, roughly DIN
Mastering: 24bit/44.1kHz WAV>Audacity (set fades, EQ (cut 200Hz by ~2dB, boost frequencies above 10kHz by ~3dB), tracking, amplify/balance channels, downsample to 16bit)>FLAC ( level 8 )

Tracks [Time 1:09:50]
01 Sacrifice
02 Civilized Worm/Black Stooges
03 Pig House
04 Electric Flower
05 Anaconda
06 Black Bock/The Kicking Machine
07 Billy Fish/Lovely Butterflies
08 The Water Glass
09 Evil New War God/Amazon
10 The Talking Horse
11 Hung Bunny/Roman Bird Dog

Webster Hall
New York, NY, USA

Source: Church Audio CA-11 > SP-SPSB-8 > Edirol R-09 (WAV @ 24-bit/48kHz)
Lineage: R-09 > USB > PC > Adobe Audition (adjust levels, downsample, dither, tracking) > WAV (16-bit/44.1kHz) > Trader’s Little Helper (check/fix SBE’s, FLAC conversion) > FLAC ( level 8 )
Recorded and produced by: Johnny Fried Chicken Boy

01 intro
02 Walter
03 Forgotten Principles
04 If You Get Bored
05 Matt-Alec
06 Snake Appeal
07 Run Around
08 The Real You
09 Set Me Straight
10 I Don’t Know
11 Sunshine of Your Love  [Cream] / unknown
12 Second Coming  [Alice Cooper]
13 Ballad of Dwight Fry  [Alice Cooper]
14 It’s Shoved
15 Let Me Roll It  [Paul McCartney & Wings]
16 Suicide in Progress
17 Oven
18 Black Bock
19 Let God Be Your Gardener

[Houdini set – Buzz, Dale, Trevor Dunn on bass]
20 Drum intro > Hag Me
21 Pearl Bomb
22 Hooch
23 Honey Bucket
24 Night Goat
25 Lizzy
26 Joan of Arc
27 Set Me Straight (reprise)
28 Deserted Cities of the Heart  [Cream]
29 Sky Pup
30 Teet
31 Goin’ Blind  [Kiss]
32 Copache
33 Spread Eagle Beagle
34 With Teeth
35 The Bit
36 outro

If you download these recordings from NYCTaper, we expect that you will PLEASE SUPPORT Melvins, visit their website, and buy their records from Ipecac records here.

Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Support nyctaper

DISCLAIMER and LEGAL NOTICE is a live music blog that offers a new paradigm of music distribution on the web. The recordings are offered for free on this site as are the music posts, reviews and links to artist sites. All recordings are posted with artist permission or artists with an existing pro-taping policy.

All recordings and original content posted on this site are as live recordings pursuant to 17 U.S.C. Section 106, et. seq. Redistribution of nyctaper recordings without consent of is strictly prohibited. hereby waives all copyright claims to any and all recordings posted on this site to THE PERFORMERS ONLY. If any artist posted on this site requests that recordings be removed, those recordings will be removed forthwith.