Sharon Van Etten: October 8, 2010 Rock Shop – Flac and MP3 Downloads + Streaming Song

October 13, 2010

[photo courtesy of Amanda Hatfield]

On the night of the release show for her outstanding new CD epic, Sharon Van Etten played a sold out and packed Rock Shop. Sharon has said many times that she suffers from excessive shyness, but on this night, far from being overwhelmed by the intensity of the crowd she was confident, relaxed and having fun. Sharon performed a similar set to her August show at Rock Shop, but added a special mini acoustic set at the end of this special night. Accompanied again by the excellent Cat Martino, Sharon has added a new drummer and new bassist to the band we saw this Summer. The new rhythm section seems to have added some extra muscle to the material, so that new songs such as “Don’t Do It” (streaming below) came across with a heavier rock beat. But it was the four-song solo acoustic songs that closed the set where Sharon seemed to say thank you to her long-time fans. As she was brought back for an encore, the calls for “Damn Right” were acceded and Sharon delivered one of her oldest numbers with an extra edge — a touching acknowledgment of her past as she moves towards a brighter future.

I recorded this set with the Neumanns placed in front of the soundboard cage mixed with a feed from the board. The sound quality is superb. Enjoy!

Stream “Don’t Do It”:

This Recording is now available for Download in FLAC and MP3 and to Stream at [HERE].

Sharon Van Etten
The Rock Shop
Brooklyn, NY USA

Digital Master Recording
Soundboard + Audience Matrix

Soundboard + Neumann KM-150s > Edirol R-44 (Oade Concert Mod) > 2x 24bit 48kHz wav files > Soundforge (level adjustments, mixdown, set fades) > CDWave 1.95 (tracking) > Flac Frontend (level 7, align sector boundaries) > flac

Recorded and Produced by nyctaper

[Total Time 57:43]
01 A Crime
02 Peace Signs
03 Save Yourself
04 Don’t Do It
05 [banter/band intros]
06 One Day
07 [banter]
08 [untitled]
09 Love More
10 [banter]
11 For You
12 Consolation Prize
13 Tell Me I’m Wrong
14 [encore break]
15 Damn Right

If you email nyctaper for access to this recording, we expect that you will PLEASE SUPPORT Sharon Van Etten, visit her website, visit her MySpace page, and purchase her new CD epic from Bada Bing Records [HERE].

2 Responses to Sharon Van Etten: October 8, 2010 Rock Shop – Flac and MP3 Downloads + Streaming Song

  1. c
    November 14, 2011 at 6:35 am

    “tell me i’m wrong” is likely the song titled “i’m wrong” from her forthcoming… ?

  2. Tim
    July 8, 2014 at 11:38 pm

    So great – thanks for recording and posting this.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Support nyctaper

DISCLAIMER and LEGAL NOTICE is a live music blog that offers a new paradigm of music distribution on the web. The recordings are offered for free on this site as are the music posts, reviews and links to artist sites. All recordings are posted with artist permission or artists with an existing pro-taping policy.

All recordings and original content posted on this site are as live recordings pursuant to 17 U.S.C. Section 106, et. seq. Redistribution of nyctaper recordings without consent of is strictly prohibited. hereby waives all copyright claims to any and all recordings posted on this site to THE PERFORMERS ONLY. If any artist posted on this site requests that recordings be removed, those recordings will be removed forthwith.