Dean Wareham: January 13, 2011 Maxwell’s – Flac and MP3 Downloads + Streaming Songs

January 16, 2011

Wareham maxwells
[photo by søvn]

Dean Wareham has been back playing Galaxie 500 material since late last year — the first show was a stealth event at Rock Shop in August. Sadly, we missed that intimate show, but based on the excellent reviews, vowed to make it to the next leg of the tour. We didn’t attend Music Hall in December but chose instead the intimate and excellent Maxwell’s to experience the Galaxie 500 show. We were rewarded with an outstanding set. Dean’s guitar work has always been superb, but on this night it seemed that every song took on that extra edge in the crescendos. The setlist was similar to the other shows that have been played on this tour — i.e. all the classics were played. We’re streaming “Tugboat” and “Fourth of July” below since both were particularly strong versions. Dean and Britta will continue this excellent tour in Europe throughout February [tour dates].

We recorded this set with the DPA microphones placed at the usual front right corner of the soundboard booth and mixed it with an excellent soundboard feed. The sound quality is superb. Enjoy!

Stream “Tugboat”:

Stream “Fourth of July”:

Direct download of complete show in MP3 files (HERE)

Download the Complete show in FLAC [HERE].

Dean Wareham
Hoboken, NJ USA

Digital Master Recording
Four Channel Soundboard + Audience Matrix

Soundboard + DPA 4021s > Edirol R-44 (Oade Concert Mod) > 2x 24bit 48kHz wav files > Soundforge (level adjustments, mixdown, set fades) > CDWave 1.95 (tracking) > Flac Frontend (level 7, align sector boundaries) > flac

Recorded and Produced by
nyctaper and acidjack

[Total Time 1:23:19]
01 Flowers
02 Oblivious
03 Pictures
04 When Will You Come Home
05 Snowstorm
06 Temperature Rising
07 Decomposing Trees
08 Strange
09 Summertime
10 Blue Thunder
11 [banter]
12 Don’t Let Our Youth Go To Waste
13 Tugboat
14 [banter2]
15 Listen The Snow Is Falling [Yoko Ono]
16 Ceremony [New Order]
17 [encore break]
18 Night Nurse
19 Fourth Of July

If you email nyctaper for access to this recording, we expect that you will PLEASE SUPPORT Dean and Britta, visit their website, where you can purchase their official releases at the Shop at their website [HERE].

Tags: , , , , , , ,

10 Responses to Dean Wareham: January 13, 2011 Maxwell’s – Flac and MP3 Downloads + Streaming Songs

  1. Jenell Kesler [Night Nurse]
    January 16, 2011 at 2:26 pm

    I finally got to meet Dan [NYTaper] … he was full of smiles and advise, I could have talked to him for hours … thanks for the great recording.

    Over Hoboken, the sky was cold and black, laced with crystal stars and the lights of New York City shimmering in the background … but much of that may have just been me, and my present state of mind.  Though when Dean filtered in the first few notes from “Flowers,” everything slipped, quivered, and became delightfully seductive around the edges.  I was hearing the music of Galaxie 500 again, and all was right with the world, even though the world seemed to exist as only a distant memory for me, reality being replaced by music, and sonic washes of reverb.  The spotlights were turning into “Flowers,” I could feel my “Temperature Rising,” filled with “Summertime” visions of “Decomposing Trees,” and the “Strange” distant sounds of “Blue Thunder” rolling in my ears … a voice in my head questioned, “When Will You Come Home,” but I was “Oblivios” to it all, lost in the “Ceremony,” lost somewhere in space on a “Tugboat” that was sailing straight into a “Snowstorm.”  The “Night Nurse” was at the helm, I was far beyond controlling anything, though I do remember her turning to me with a broad smile saying, “Listen, The Snow Is Falling.”  I tried to speak, I wanted to say “Don’t Let Our Youth Go To Waste,” but could only touch my fingers to my lips … it was far too late for that now, and perhaps, already done.

  2. January 16, 2011 at 3:37 pm

    The link to the MP3s is actually the link to the .flac versions.

  3. January 16, 2011 at 4:02 pm

    Fixed. Thanks for the pointer.

  4. andrea c
    January 17, 2011 at 2:56 am

    lovely lovely. thank you, listening to these songs will always remind me of this wonderful event.

  5. mk
    January 17, 2011 at 8:42 am

    Wonderful – sounds great.

    Thanks a lot.

  6. ciaoluna
    January 17, 2011 at 9:06 am

    What a treat. Had no idea this was one you were going to capture. It was a special night and Dean’s guitar work was in great form. Britta just nailed ‘listen the snow is falling’. Still blown away by your recording of pavement on night 4. This one is right up for the intimacy of venue and the band’s virtuosity.

    Thank you for the great work you do!

  7. Smintjes
    January 17, 2011 at 10:33 am

    Thank you!

  8. Thisismymusic
    January 18, 2011 at 5:35 pm

    This is great – thanks so much! Looking forward to seeing the Glasgow show next month.

  9. thekingbug
    February 16, 2011 at 2:19 am

    Am currently offshore running through the still waters of the Gulf of Mexico on a survey vessel, just came inside after listening on the ipod with a full moon and some clouds wandering past, and a cool breeze. Wonderful! Thank you so much.. what a great recording.

  10. Phil O.
    January 13, 2021 at 11:11 pm

    10 years ago tonight. I am still so sorry I missed this tour – thank you for this wonderful recording!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Support nyctaper

DISCLAIMER and LEGAL NOTICE is a live music blog that offers a new paradigm of music distribution on the web. The recordings are offered for free on this site as are the music posts, reviews and links to artist sites. All recordings are posted with artist permission or artists with an existing pro-taping policy.

All recordings and original content posted on this site are as live recordings pursuant to 17 U.S.C. Section 106, et. seq. Redistribution of nyctaper recordings without consent of is strictly prohibited. hereby waives all copyright claims to any and all recordings posted on this site to THE PERFORMERS ONLY. If any artist posted on this site requests that recordings be removed, those recordings will be removed forthwith.