North Mississippi Allstars: October 28, 2011 Brooklyn Bowl – FLAC and MP3 Downloads + Streaming Songs

October 31, 2011

After hearing this site’s incredible capture of brothers Luther and Cody Dickinson of the North Mississippi Allstars back in June, I knew I needed to see what this Mississippi blues act was all about for myself.  Brooklyn Bowl – now the obvious heir to Wetlands in terms of this type of programming – was the perfect place for the introduction.  As is the norm for a Friday night, a lot of the drunken suburban crowd was mostly there to party, but those paying more attention were rewarded with some incredible guitar work from Luther, percussion from Cody, and bass from Chris Chew.  The band gave us a veritable education in the blues, mixing in their own favorites with classic covers like Bob Dylan’s “Stuck Inside of Mobile With the Memphis Blues Again”, which appears on their latest record, Keys to the Kingdom.  The record’s title is an homage to the brothers’ father, the blues legend Jim Dickinson, but it could as easily be a reference to their own place in the blues pantheon.  NMAS are the honest heirs of this centuries-old American tradition, and they will no doubt do their best to make the genre as alive, fresh, and relevant as it was a hundred years ago.

The entire nyctaper crew was on-hand for this event with a slew of mics at full height above the crowd.  This particular recording is a combination of AKG large-diaphragm mics to give “air” at the top end and edge to the guitar, combined with Schoeps supercardiods to add the direct sound.  While there is no mistaking that it’s a Friday night crowd, the sound quality of the music is outstanding.  Please help out with any setlist corrections – it was my first time seeing the band live and there were a a few songs I did not recognize or couldn’t figure out.  Enjoy!

Stream “Stuck Inside of Mobile With the Memphis Blues Again [Bob Dylan]”:
[audio: Stuck Inside of Mobile With The Memphis Blues Again.mp3]

Stream “Rollin’ and Tumblin'”
[audio: Drinkin’ Muddy Water.mp3]

This Recording is now available for Download in FLAC and MP3 at [HERE].

North Mississippi Allstars
Brooklyn Bowl
Brooklyn, NY USA

Recorded for by acidjack, hi and lo, nyctaper and Johnny Fried Chicken Boy
Produced by acidjack

AKG C 414 B-XLS (cardiod)>Sound Devices USBpre2 + Schoeps MK41>NBox+ >> Edirol R-44 [Oade Concert Mod]>2x24bit/48kHz WAV>Audition (mixdown)>Audacity (tracking, amplify and balance)>FLAC ( level 8 )

Tracks [Total Time: 1:51:29]
01 Sitting On Top of the World
02 Across the Great Divide
03 Let It Roll
04 Shake What Your Momma Gave You
05 People Get Ready
06 Mean Ol’ Wind Died Down
07 Shake ‘Em On Down
08 [guitar jam]
09 Stuck Inside of Mobile With the Memphis Blues Again [Bob Dylan]
10 Meet Me In the City
11 Po Black Maddie>
12 Drum Solo/jam>
13 Jellyrollin’ All Over Heaven
14 New Orleans Walkin’ Dead
15 Harlem River Blues [Justin Townes Earle]
16 Sugar Hill
17 Teasin’ Brown
18 I’d Love To Be A Hippie
19 Everything I Do Gonna Be Funky (From Now On)
20 Rollin’ and Tumblin’
21 [encore break]
22 Lordy Lord>
23 [unknown?]
24 All Night Long

If you email nyctaper for access to this recording, we expect that you will PLEASE SUPPORT North Mississippi Allstars, visit their website, and purchase Keys to the Kingdom and their other available releases through The Store at their website [HERE].

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Support nyctaper

DISCLAIMER and LEGAL NOTICE is a live music blog that offers a new paradigm of music distribution on the web. The recordings are offered for free on this site as are the music posts, reviews and links to artist sites. All recordings are posted with artist permission or artists with an existing pro-taping policy.

All recordings and original content posted on this site are as live recordings pursuant to 17 U.S.C. Section 106, et. seq. Redistribution of nyctaper recordings without consent of is strictly prohibited. hereby waives all copyright claims to any and all recordings posted on this site to THE PERFORMERS ONLY. If any artist posted on this site requests that recordings be removed, those recordings will be removed forthwith.