Yo La Tengo: December 23, 2011 Maxwell’s – Flac and MP3 Downloads + Streaming Songs

December 26, 2011

[photo courtesy of Bryan Bruchman and brooklynvegan]

A close brush with mortality often offers a rare opportunity for perspective and retrospection. It was twenty-seven years ago that the first Yo La Tengo show took place at Maxwell’s, and Dave Rick was the bass player on that night. For Night 4 of Hanukkah 2011, Dave joined YLT for the entire set. As a result, the setlist dug all the way back to the early YLT, including their very first release, the 7″ single “The River of Water”, along with deep track “Serpentine” from 1987’s New Wave Hot Dogs. This show’s three-song climax also included a terrific version of a rare performance of “Some Kinda Fatigue” that we’re streaming below. And in an apparent acknowledgement of the theme for the night, the set’s finale was an extended and heart-wrenching version of “More Stars Than There Are In Heaven” that highlighted the shortness of life. On this particular night, we certainly enjoyed it while we can.

I recorded this set in the same manner as the previous night and the sound quality is superb. Enjoy!

Stream “Some Kinda Fatigue”:

Stream “More Stars Than There Are In Heaven”:

Direct download of complete show in MP3 files (HERE)

Download the Complete show in FLAC [HERE].

Note: All of the material on this site is offered with artist permission, free to fans, at our expense. The only thing we ask is that you download the material directly from this site, rather than re-posting the direct links or the files on other sites without our permission. Please respect our request.

Yo La Tengo
Hanukkah Night 4
Hoboken, NJ USA

Digital Master Recording
Soundboard + Audience Matrix

Soundboard + Neumann KM-150s > Edirol R-44 (Oade Concert Mod) > 2 x 24bit 48kHz wav files > Soundforge (level adjustments, set fades, downsample) > CDWave 1.95 (tracking) > TLH > flac (320 MP3 and Tagging via Foobar)

Recorded and Produced
by nyctaper

[Total Time 1:29:03]
01 Detouring America With Horns
02 Nothing To Hide
03 Avalon or Someone Very Similar
04 Porpoise Song [Carole King]
05 The River of Water
06 Serpentine [Phil Milstein]
07 Ben Wa Baby [Phil Milstein]
08 Don’t Have To Be So Sad
09 [banter – thanks]
10 Saturday
11 [banter – mix cd]
12 Coloured [Chris Knox]
13 Black Flowers
14 Today Is The Day
15 Some Kinda Fatigue
16 Tom Courtenay
17 More Stars Than There Are In Heaven
18 [encore break]
19 You Don’t Love Me Yet [Roky Erickson]
20 This Ain’t The Summer of Love [Blue Oyster Cult]
21 Crush [Chris Knox]

(Thanks Jesse for the setlist)

If you download this recording from NYCTaper, we expect that you will PLEASE SUPPORT Yo La Tengo, visit their website, and purchase their official releases from the store at their website [HERE].

Tags: , , , , , , ,

18 Responses to Yo La Tengo: December 23, 2011 Maxwell’s – Flac and MP3 Downloads + Streaming Songs

  1. December 26, 2011 at 8:45 pm

    All hail nyctaper & crew for bringing these Hanukkah shows to the far-flung masses! And SO glad that your own recent brush w/ internet-mortality was brief & hopefully temporary. Long may your recordings reign…

  2. neil d
    December 26, 2011 at 10:19 pm

    A huge helping of thanks for NYCtaper, Yo La Tengo, and MySQL backups…

  3. Will
    December 27, 2011 at 1:03 am

    thanks again!

  4. augusts1
    December 27, 2011 at 5:25 pm

    Thanks so much for this. Will be listening to this tonight! Great site too.

  5. ciaoluna
    December 28, 2011 at 4:32 pm

    wow, you guys killed this one. I was on the top ledge by the left speaker by the stage and didn’t realize how great the vocals you captured were. you guys make these great shows a 2-fer, see it live & then relive.

  6. December 28, 2011 at 7:16 pm

    Thanks again. Best downloads of the year, these Hannukah shows.

  7. Tomomi
    December 29, 2011 at 1:29 am


  8. Tomomi
    December 29, 2011 at 1:30 am


  9. December 30, 2011 at 10:53 am

    Big holiday thanks for this great documenting of my favorite band’s annual gift to its fans & listeners!

  10. hb
    December 31, 2011 at 9:00 am

    was yltfan recording any of the shows this year? also, is he going to release the recordings from lat year?

  11. December 31, 2011 at 1:05 pm

    He has no affiliation with this site. You would have to ask him directly.

  12. hb
    December 31, 2011 at 2:53 pm

    I realize that nyctaper. I asked the question since I assumed that you would have seen him at the shows if he was also recording from the soundboard.

  13. December 31, 2011 at 3:37 pm

    Yes, he was there. And again, I have no idea of his intentions regarding his recordings.

  14. yltfan
    January 3, 2012 at 4:02 pm

    Yes, I was there for 7 of the 8 nights, and will be posting my recordings on Dimeadozen, maybe we can put them up here as well. Great shows this year. Thanks to Dan for mic stand assistance, and nice job mixing and posting all these so fast!

    hb–if you help me figure out which shows from last year never made it out, I’ll work on posting those as well. I have a bunch of stuff in the cue, need to work on faster sharing. Feel free to email me at portlandindie at yahoo dot com.

  15. ciaoluna
    January 3, 2012 at 5:47 pm

    What happened to Pussy Galore’s set?

  16. January 3, 2012 at 6:28 pm

    Removed at artist request.

  17. ciaoluna
    January 4, 2012 at 8:36 am

    wow sorry to hear that. that performance was killer..

  18. Vincent
    January 6, 2012 at 7:44 pm

    That’s right Ciaoluna !
    I went 3 nights to Hoboken this year, and that set be the highlight of my own 2012-YLT-festival.

    i’m dreaming now of Condo fucks opening for Pussy Galore @ Glassland…

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *



nyctaper.com is a live music blog that offers a new paradigm of music distribution on the web. The recordings are offered for free on this site as are the music posts, reviews and links to artist sites. All recordings are posted with artist permission or artists with an existing pro-taping policy.

All recordings and original content posted on this site are @nyctaper.com as live recordings pursuant to 17 U.S.C. Section 106, et. seq. Redistribution of nyctaper recordings without consent of nyctaper.com is strictly prohibited.

nyctaper.com hereby waives all copyright claims to any and all recordings posted on this site to THE PERFORMERS ONLY. If any artist posted on this site requests that recordings be removed, those recordings will be removed forthwith.