The War On Drugs: April 8, 2012 Bowery Ballroom – Flac and MP3 Downloads + Streaming Songs

April 12, 2012

[photo by David Andrako]

Its hard to be objective when a band personally dedicates a song to you by name from the stage of Bowery Ballroom, but The War On Drugs show at Bowery was beyond the need for personal puffery. At an hour and forty minutes, and including in the setlist virtually everything the band has recorded, this War On Drugs set was epic. While David Hartley’s bass guitar has always been the backbone of the live band and his work on this night was superb, its hard to fathom the extent of the confidence and maturity that has Adam Granduciel now exhibits. Throughout the show, Adam’s delivery of each song was intense. While the band has reached a level of proficiency that often follows groups that tour extensively, the recent success seems to have propelled their energy to the next level. Opening with the double whammy of “Arms Like Boulders” and “Baby Missiles”, the momentum never let up. Slave Ambient was universally acknowledged as one of the best albums of 2011, and its prominence in the song selection was no surprise. But it was the development of the songs in the live setting that impressed — “Your Love / Animator / Come To the City” is now a twenty-plus minute segue, while “Best Night” (streaming below) is now charged up enough to be the next song that WOD plays on television. The show would not be complete without an inventive cover, and on this night it was from the Scottish indie troubadours The Waterboys, the classic “A Pagan Place” (also streaming below). The War On Drugs will be active on the Festival circuit this Spring and Summer, dates are here.

I recorded this set from our standard balcony location with the Sennheiser 8040s mixed with an outstanding board feed and the sound quality is superb. Enjoy!

Stream “Best Night”:

Stream “A Pagan Place” (Waterboys cover):

This Recording is now available for Download in FLAC and MP3 at [HERE].

War On Drugs
Bowery Ballroom
New York, NY USA

Digital Master Recording
Soundboard + Audience Matrix

Soundboard + Sennheiser 8040 Cardioids > Edirol R-44 (Oade Concert Mod) > 2 x 24bit 48kHz wav files > Soundforge (level adjustments, mixdown, set fades) > CDWave 1.95 (tracking) > TLH > flac (320 MP3 and tagging via Foobar)

Recorded and Produced
by nyctaper 2012-04-11

[Total Time 1:39:35]
01 [introduction]
02 Arms Like Boulders
03 Baby Missiles
04 [banter – quit smoking]
05 Comin’ Through
06 Your Love Is Calling My Name
07 The Animator
08 Come To The City
09 Best Night
10 [banter – Doug Keith]
11 Brothers
12 Taking the Farm
13 I Was There
14 [banter – Mike Scott]
15 A Pagan Place [Waterboys]
16 The History of Plastic
17 [encore break]
18 Black Water Falls
19 [banter – brisket]
20 Buenos Aires Beach
21 Its Your Destiny

If you email nyctaper for access to this recording, we expect that you will PLEASE SUPPORT The War On Drugs, visit their website,  and purchase their new album Slave Ambient from Secretly Canadian Records [HERE].

Tags: , , , , , , , , , ,

8 Responses to The War On Drugs: April 8, 2012 Bowery Ballroom – Flac and MP3 Downloads + Streaming Songs

  1. April 13, 2012 at 12:57 am

    Thanks so much!!! I saw them in Charlottesville VA on 3/8/12 and was completely blown away. Slave Ambient is easily the best album of 2011.

  2. akaton408
    April 13, 2012 at 8:17 am

    Thanks for putting this show up. I saw them in Bloomington, IN and was blown away. I hope the Waterboys tune becomes a staple because it fits what they’re doing so well. Anyway, thanks for all the great shows!!

  3. tttt
    April 13, 2012 at 1:14 pm

    Another thank you. Caught them at the Secretly showcase at SXSW and it was one of the best shows I’ve seen in years, hands down. Incredible band.

  4. April 13, 2012 at 1:35 pm

    Thanks for this! Epic. So good.

  5. Steven
    April 16, 2012 at 4:44 pm

    A case can surely be made that David Hartley is one of the best, if not the best, bass player working in indie rock these days. In fact, Hartley makes that case with his playing almost every night.

  6. April 17, 2012 at 12:30 pm

    Totally agree. Dave is amazing. I’m glad he’s prominent in the mix for this recording.

  7. July 5, 2012 at 8:26 am

    FINALLY got into these here guys here and am BLOWN away… Thank you for the recording as usual, my god man. Your work is appreciated beyond what you could imagine…

  8. Ian L
    August 6, 2012 at 1:23 pm

    Love what I’m hearing from the two streamed tracks, this band are just beyond awesome. Saw them at the beginning of March here in the UK and was blown away by how good they were, can’t wait for them to come back, definitely be seeing them more than once!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Support nyctaper

DISCLAIMER and LEGAL NOTICE is a live music blog that offers a new paradigm of music distribution on the web. The recordings are offered for free on this site as are the music posts, reviews and links to artist sites. All recordings are posted with artist permission or artists with an existing pro-taping policy.

All recordings and original content posted on this site are as live recordings pursuant to 17 U.S.C. Section 106, et. seq. Redistribution of nyctaper recordings without consent of is strictly prohibited. hereby waives all copyright claims to any and all recordings posted on this site to THE PERFORMERS ONLY. If any artist posted on this site requests that recordings be removed, those recordings will be removed forthwith.