Camper Van Beethoven: January 19, 2013 Stage 48 – Flac/MP3/Streaming

January 23, 2013

CVB Keim
[photos by Dean Keim]

Yesterday, Camper Van Beethoven released their eighth album La Costa Perdida, and first since 2004. The album is a strong continuation of the band’s latter-era mature material. That is to say a melodic mix of CVB songwriting abilities and eclectic influences delivered with technical proficiency. The band’s traditional mini winter tour took them to NYC for the fifth consecutive January, but first at the new midtown venue Stage 48, a club similar in layout and vibe to the location of the three previous CVB NYC shows, Highline Ballroom, but with more “uptown” feel. While at last year’s show we got a sneak peek at 3 of the new songs, on Saturday night the band played five of the album’s ten tracks, including the single-quality number “Northern California Girls” that we are streaming below. While technically “opening” the show, these co-headline sets with Cracker (recording coming soon) are virtually full length, so the band played seventy minutes of material including quite a number of classics. Camper will continue to tour on the album with shows in the Southeast in January and the West coast in February.

This was our first trip to Stage 48. We were quite impressed with the sound quality of the room and the superb quality of this recording reflects the excellent system at Stage 48 and the talents of the venue’s FOH Will. I recorded this set with the Sennheiser cards from the soundboard booth, which is located above the floor but below the balcony and mixed it with a fine board feed. Enjoy!

Stream “Northern California Girls”:

This Recording is now available for Download in FLAC and MP3 and to Stream at [HERE].

Note: All of the material on this site is offered with artist permission, free to fans, at our expense. The only thing we ask is that you download the material directly from this site, rather than re-posting the direct links or the files on other sites without our permission. Please respect our request.

CVB2 Keim

Camper Van Beethoven
Stage 48
New York, NY USA

Digital Master Recording
Recorded from Inside of Soundboard Booth

Soundboard + Sennheiser MKH-8040s > Edirol R-44 (Oade Concert Mod) > 24bit 48kHz wav file > Soundforge (level adjustments, EQ, mixdown, set fades) > CDWave 1.95 (tracking) > TLH > flac (320 MP3 and Tagging via Foobar)

Recorded and Produced
by nyctaper

[Total Time 1:09:34]
01 [introduction]
02 Waka
03 Pictures of Matchstick Men
04 Seven Languages
05 Summer Days
06 All Her Favorite Fruit
07 Northern California Girls
08 One Of These Days
09 Too High For the Love In
10 Sad Lovers Waltz
11 Take The Skinheads Bowling
12 You Got To Roll
13 Tania
14 Peaches in the Summertime
15 New Roman Times
16 L’Aguardiente
17 Eye of Fatima Part 1
18 Eye of Fatima Part 2

If you download this recording from NYCTaper, we expect that you will PLEASE SUPPORT Camper Van Beethoven, visit their website, and purchase La Costa Perdida directly from the Store at their website [HERE].

Tags: , , , , , , ,

4 Responses to Camper Van Beethoven: January 19, 2013 Stage 48 – Flac/MP3/Streaming

  1. January 23, 2013 at 9:56 pm

    Hey Man!

    Thanks! I think we chatted one before in relation tio the Butthole Surfers late July 2008. I ran bar at Stone Church, a nice recording on archive. I still have a “4’from Paul” video I need to mix with another.
    ScottB Any Zorn, Saft or Trevor Dunn recordings?

  2. January 27, 2013 at 1:33 pm

    thanks so much for this amazing recording. i just saw cvb in asheville, nc friday night and they were fantastic.

  3. tubro
    February 4, 2013 at 1:43 pm

    dude you are the king. thanks for always including CVB in your travels. their annual MLK weekend show in nyc with Cracker is always a highlight. this is perhaps the most underrated band of their time. (and cracker ain’t no slouch either.) nyctaper is right – please support this band if you like this music. last time they were in town, jonathan segal told me that they’d love to play on the east coast more often but they just can’t afford the travel. their new album deserves your support. thank you.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


DISCLAIMER and LEGAL NOTICE is a live music blog that offers a new paradigm of music distribution on the web. The recordings are offered for free on this site as are the music posts, reviews and links to artist sites. All recordings are posted with artist permission or artists with an existing pro-taping policy.

All recordings and original content posted on this site are as live recordings pursuant to 17 U.S.C. Section 106, et. seq. Redistribution of nyctaper recordings without consent of is strictly prohibited. hereby waives all copyright claims to any and all recordings posted on this site to THE PERFORMERS ONLY. If any artist posted on this site requests that recordings be removed, those recordings will be removed forthwith.