Mac DeMarco: August 31, 2013 Captured Tracks CT5 – Flac/MP3/Streaming

September 8, 2013

mac demarco ct5
[photo by Joe McCabe – courtesy of Hey Reverb]

If he is perhaps the least Captured Tracks-sounding band on the label, Mac DeMarco is certainly one of its most entertaining acts. On the first day of the Captured Tracks Festival (“CT5“) to celebrate the five years that this excellent label has released albums, one of its most successful artists delivered the performance of the day. Mac is certainly talented — his songs are tight and well written and his band is proficient. But the material is enhanced by the performer’s personality, his sense of humor, and his willingness to take chances. As when we saw Mac at Webster in February, one of the highlights of any Mac DeMarco set is when the band lets loose and runs through a semi-tongue in cheek set of classic rock covers. On this night, the improv section did not disappoint and gave us a few belly laughs along the way.

I recorded this set with the Neumann large diaphragm cards mounted high in front of the soundboard cage and mixed with a feed from the board. The sound quality is superb. Enjoy!

Stream “Cooking Up Something Good”:

Download the Complete show [MP3] / [FLAC]

Note: All of the material on this site is offered with artist permission, free to fans, at our expense. The only thing we ask is that you download the material directly from this site, rather than re-posting the direct links or the files on other sites without our permission. Please respect our request.

Mac DeMarco
Captured Tracks CT5 Festival
The Well
Brooklyn, NY USA

Digital Master Recording
Soundboard + Audience Matrix

Soundboard + Neumann TLM-102s > Edirol R-44 (Oade Concert Mod) > 2x 24bit 48kHz wav files > Soundforge (level adjustments, mixdown, downsample set fades) > CDWave 1.95 (tracking) > TLH > flac (320 MP3 and Tagging via Foobar)

Recorded and Produced
by nyctaper

[Total Time 45:44]
01 Cooking Up Something Good
02 The Stars Keep On Calling My Name
03 Rock and Roll Nightclub
04 Ode To Viceroy
05 Annie
06 Freaking Out the Neighborhood
07 [banter – tuning]
08 Baby’s Wearing Blue Jeans
09 I’m A Man
10 She’s Really All I Need
11 Takin Care of Business [BTO]
12 Blackbird [Beatles]
13 Schism [Tool]
14 Break Stuff [Limp Bizkit]
15 Cocaine [JJ Cale]
16 [aborted song – banter]
17 Still Together

If you download this recording from NYCTaper, we expect that you will PLEASE SUPPORT Mac DeMarco, visit his artist page at Captured Tracks, and purchase his debut album 2 from Captured Tracks [HERE].

Tags: , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


DISCLAIMER and LEGAL NOTICE is a live music blog that offers a new paradigm of music distribution on the web. The recordings are offered for free on this site as are the music posts, reviews and links to artist sites. All recordings are posted with artist permission or artists with an existing pro-taping policy.

All recordings and original content posted on this site are as live recordings pursuant to 17 U.S.C. Section 106, et. seq. Redistribution of nyctaper recordings without consent of is strictly prohibited. hereby waives all copyright claims to any and all recordings posted on this site to THE PERFORMERS ONLY. If any artist posted on this site requests that recordings be removed, those recordings will be removed forthwith.