Hurray For The Riff Raff: November 4, 2013 Mercury Lounge – Flac/MP3/Streaming

November 12, 2013

[still from this video]

Its been a really exciting couple of years for Hurray For The Riff Raff, and we’ve been lucky to follow along with their progress. From their two superb shows at Mercury in 2012, through a series of television appearances and big tour support slots, the band’s profile continues to grow. We were happy to learn recently that HFTRR signed to ATO Records, and their excellent batch of new songs will see a release in February of 2014 as a new album Small Town Heroes. At the tail end of a full US tour with Spirit Family Reunion, HFTRR added a semi-secret early show at Mercury Lounge last Monday. The set featured a healthy dose of the new album, as had their show we captured at the Knitting Factory in August. We are streaming “Little Black Star” from their superb 2012 release Look Out Mama, a performance that featured multiple guests including their tour mates. Hurray For The Riff Raff will return to NYC on April 3 for a show at Lincoln Center as part of their American Songbook series.

I recorded this set with the Sennheiser set up in front of the soundboard booth and mixed with a excellent board feed from Mercury’s head sound engineer Kevin. The quality is superb. Enjoy!

Stream “Little Black Star”:

Download the Complete Show [MP3] / [FLAC]

Note: All of the material on this site is offered with artist permission, free to fans, at our expense. The only thing we ask is that you download the material directly from this site, rather than re-posting the direct links or the files on other sites without our permission. Please respect our request.

Hurray For The Riff Raff
Mercury Lounge
New York, NY USA

Digital Master Recording
Soundboard + Audience Matrix

Soundboard + Sennheiser MKH-8040s > Edirol R-44 (Oade Concert Mod) > 2 x 24bit 48kHz wav files > Soundforge (level adjustments, set fades, downsample) > CDWave 1.95 > (tracking) > TLH > flac (320 MP3 and Tagging via Foobar)

Recorded and Produced
by nyctaper

[Total Time 1:00:47]
01 New SF Bay Blues
02 Blue Ridge Mountain
03 Instrumental
04 Look Out Mama
05 Slow Walk
06 I Know Its Wrong
07 Ode to John and Yoko
08 The Body Electric
09 Crash on the Highway
10 Lake of Fire
11 St. Roch Blues
12 Small Town Heroes
13 The End of the Line
14 Little Black Star
15 [encore break]
16 Be My Baby [Ronettes]

If you Download this recording from nyctaper, we expect that you will PLEASE SUPPORT Hurray For The Riff Raff, visit their website, and purchase Look Out Mama from the Euclid Records website [HERE].

Tags: , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Support nyctaper

DISCLAIMER and LEGAL NOTICE is a live music blog that offers a new paradigm of music distribution on the web. The recordings are offered for free on this site as are the music posts, reviews and links to artist sites. All recordings are posted with artist permission or artists with an existing pro-taping policy.

All recordings and original content posted on this site are as live recordings pursuant to 17 U.S.C. Section 106, et. seq. Redistribution of nyctaper recordings without consent of is strictly prohibited. hereby waives all copyright claims to any and all recordings posted on this site to THE PERFORMERS ONLY. If any artist posted on this site requests that recordings be removed, those recordings will be removed forthwith.