Sloan: June 29, 2015 Rough Trade – Flac/MP3/Streaming

July 8, 2015

[photos by Ellen Qbertplaya]

Sloan has to be the most democratic working band around these days. For the band’s last album, the four members of the quartet each had a single side of a double album dedicated to that member’s songs. But Commonwealth is not a novelty record — its an album that purposefully accentuates the strengths of Sloan with each performer given the chance to shine. The first side is dedicated to the Laurel Canyon-ish sweet country soul of Jay Ferguson, side two is the power pop of Chris Murphy, the third side is Patrick Pentland’s straightforward rock and the final side is one track, Andrew Scott’s opus “Forty-Eight Portraits”. At Rough Trade last Monday, Sloan opened with Andrew’s track and it set the tone for the evening as the band passed the lead vocals democratically among the members and while the setlist was heavy on Commonwealth material, it also was culled from a variety of the band’s eleven albums. For the Fall tour, the band had utilized the two-set format to play Commonwealth in the first set and selected classics in the second. For this tour, the sets are more mixed and the result was that the sold-out crowd realized quickly that the Commonwealth material holds up to the best of the band’s catalog. We’re partial to Jay’s contributions, and we are streaming the first side track “Three Sisters” below, along with Chris’s “Carried Away”, which is the second single from the album.

I recorded this set with the Schoeps cards mounted inside of the soundboard booth and mixed with an outstanding feed provided by the band’s FOH Mike. The result is a superb recording. Enjoy!

Download the Complete Show [MP3] / [FLAC]

Stream “Three Sisters”:

Stream “Carried Away”:

Note: All of the material on this site is offered with artist permission, free to fans, at our expense. The only thing we ask is that you download the material directly from this site, rather than re-posting the direct links or the files on other sites without our permission. Please respect our request.

Rough Trade
Brooklyn NY

Digital Master Recording
Soundboard + Audience Matrix

Soundboard [Engineer Mike] + Schoeps CCM4u Cardioids > Sound Devices 744t > 2 x 24bit 48kHz wavs > Soundforge (post-production) > CDWave 1.95 (tracking) > TLH > flac (320 MP3 and tagging via Foobar)

Recorded and Produced by nyctaper

Set 1
[Total Time 51:02]
01 Forty-Eight Portraits
02 [banter – new record]
03 Keep Swinging
04 Unkind
05 Thirteen (Under a Bad Sign)
06 You’ve Got a Lot On Your Mind
07 Three Sisters
08 [banter – new box set]
09 I Hate My Generation
10 Carried Away
11 [banter – Rush]
12 Follow The Leader
13 Coax Me

Set 2
[Total Time 1:03:37]
14 If It Feels Good Do It
15 C’mon C’mon
16 [banter – keeping up with Rush]
17 Fading Into Obscurity
18 Worried Now
19 Who Taught To Live Like That
20 Ready For You
21 The N.S.
22 Love Is All Around
23 On The Horizon
24 Someone I Can Be True With
25 Ill Placed Trust
26 Cleopatra
27 The Other Man
28 Reach Out
29 [encore break]
30 The Rest of My Life
31 Five Hundred Up

If you download this recording from NYCTaper, we expect that you will PLEASE SUPPORT Sloan, visit their website, and purchase their official releases, including Commonwealth, from the Store at their site [HERE] or from the Yep Roc Records website [HERE].

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

5 Responses to Sloan: June 29, 2015 Rough Trade – Flac/MP3/Streaming

  1. Qbertplaya
    July 8, 2015 at 11:22 am

    I really love “Three Sisters” — a highlight off of Commonwealth for me.

  2. July 8, 2015 at 8:13 pm

    Thanks for posting this, absolutely worth visiting sloan’s website
    I wish the “Hit & Run” E.P wasn’t only an online purchase, I would love to have it on CD.
    Great set!

  3. Matthew B
    July 9, 2015 at 12:01 am

    We were right near the front for this fantastic show (the fourth time we’ve seen Sloan), and this recording sounds better than it did from the audience. Incredibly clean and yet captures the excitement. Many thanks for posting!

  4. Manny
    July 9, 2015 at 6:02 pm

    Great show guys! Love Forty Eight Portraits and Three Sisters off of the new album. So glad I caught this show.

  5. joedick
    July 16, 2015 at 9:58 pm

    Thanks for posting this! Whoa, I think this is the first show I’ve heard without Money City Maniacs since Navy Blues came out. Seems like they’re cycling some of the singles in and out of the lineup. Which is great, Sloan shows were starting to get predictable: tracks from the new album with the usual hits and crowd pleasers interspersed.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Support nyctaper

DISCLAIMER and LEGAL NOTICE is a live music blog that offers a new paradigm of music distribution on the web. The recordings are offered for free on this site as are the music posts, reviews and links to artist sites. All recordings are posted with artist permission or artists with an existing pro-taping policy.

All recordings and original content posted on this site are as live recordings pursuant to 17 U.S.C. Section 106, et. seq. Redistribution of nyctaper recordings without consent of is strictly prohibited. hereby waives all copyright claims to any and all recordings posted on this site to THE PERFORMERS ONLY. If any artist posted on this site requests that recordings be removed, those recordings will be removed forthwith.